14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings

04 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it. If you are reading this then hopefully you are here to find some music, some inspiration, someone to connect to beyond the usual day to day that we all get fed via anti social media.

Are you hooked? Read further.

Those who are still listening then let’s take flight,

Innocence, that is what I feel when I listen to Baby Bird, it’s a dawning of realisation, realising that maybe things aren’t always going to play out the way you want them to. That’s my interpretation and I can’t emphasise this enough. The reason I love Plum Green is she writes music that allows us all to translate it in our own way. Killer opening track.

I Hope You Die - is so P.J. Harvey it makes me crack a twisted smile (more about P.J. Harvey later). The tribal drums with those bitter and twisted lyrics underpinned with a crackling guitar just makes me want to see this song played live and maybe email this track to anyone whoever seriously pissed me off

Cannibal - wow the start is almost a copy of The Verve's Lucky Man. Then Cannibal morphs into something darker. Something slow and brooding. The vocals are right in the pocket of less is more. The understated almost white noise guitars add to the brooding atmosphere and at this stage I am completely under the water, sinking into the sonics.

I am rescued, pulled up head soaked and listening to anything that can get me home. Fountain is a blast (and a P.J. Harvey cover) it doesn’t seep in as immediately as other tracks on this album but is refreshing and perfectly placed.

Then we get The Roses, a caustic, acoustic awakening that will connect with anyone who has ever hurt or hurt someone.

The end is near and Funeral Song takes us further down life’s helter skelter. The chorus is almost uplifting, although the melancholy overpowers. Sadness is the overpowering emotion when listening to this song. Let me wallow.

Then just when we think it is all over, Kind Beast gives a glimmer of light. Some hope, a feeling that everything will be alright no matter what life throws at you.

Plum Green, you took me on a journey. It’s one I will never forget and let’s hope more people want to stray from the straight and narrow and make that journey with us too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Plum Green

Born in a squat in Brixton, growing up in New Zealand and presently residing in Melbourne, Australia, Plum Green combines elements of folk, grunge, goth, and post-rock with her dark lyrical prose. With a focus on crafting intimate live shows her performances are striking and uplifting. Plum's musical releases have been described as a collection of dark textures with lyricism containing intriguing subject matter. Described as luscious, dark and deeply literate, Plum Green's music and lyrics have always had this mix of youthful wisdom, naïve worldliness, a corrupt innocent, which makes them heady and intriguing. Plum has released three EP's – Plum Green, The Red, Karma and the album Rushes.

Plum and her band recently finished recording a full-length album at the all-analogue Sound Recordings studio in Castlemaine. They have released the first single from this album Baby Bird, and named the album Sound Recordings after the studio they recorded in. Baby Bird is available now as a digital single, as well as a 7” record which includes the b-side Little Black Pain on Bandcamp. Sound Recordings will be released in February 2019 on a variety of digital formats on the internet. Physical sales (CDs) of Sound Recordings will be released in New Zealand in February with two performances in the major New Zealand cities of Wellington and Auckland. Plum and the band also have plans for a second European tour in 2020.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Plum Green

Releases

Sound Recordings
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Karma
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Rushes
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Live Acoustic
Year: 2011
Type: EP
The Red
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem