23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Racing - Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018

02 Dec 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.

So I move onto the next act and go one step further and google Dual band and get a lot of shite about wireless networks etc and don’t even get me started on a google search of Starrr or Starr band or even Starr band Auckland, nothing , nada ,niltch....so with phone firmly back in the pocket I buy a beer and let the music do the talking.

It’s a decent turn out at Galatos as Dual get into their thing. A duo (who would have guessed it?) They have an immediate energy and a sound that could fill any venue. They blast off and don’t ever let up. It's pop with a twist and spark and the singer (fuck knows who he is? thanks google) has a great voice even when soaked in echo and reverb.

Their sound is fresh and reminds me of the first time I saw Pop Will Eat Itself (now there is a good band name that you should google), Dual have that something that can’t be learned or bought. That kind of effortless cool that so many bands try too hard to emulate.

Things are moving along at a decent pace and the crowd are getting into it as the energy is filtering through and then things slow a little as the samples and loops are stripped away to just guitar and vocals. I don’t know what the song is called but it gave me goosebumps and elevated Dual to a whole other level and puts them in pole position.

As they finish I get the sense they are carving their own path and that is intoxicating like watching a band that you know people are going to be talking a lot about in the future.

Starr potentially have the worst band name ever, but one song in and I am hooked. It’s a self-assured statement of intent that flows over a warmed up crowd who are wanting to dance.

Things carry on in a similar vein and then about 3 songs in I find I am drifting into space. It's all feeling a bit samey, a little less shiny and I need a pit stop. This Starr is getting a little dimmer. I find myself looking round the crowd, the venue, the ceiling. Thinking about how good Dual were and in my mind they are ahead.

Nothing wrong with what Starr do, but even this morning putting this together I can’t remember one song or any particular stand out moment. Following Dual was going to be difficult. For me Starr’s songs started to blend into one and I think I would have noticed them more had they opened the gig.

So here we go, Racing race, no sorry, walk onto the stage and are greeted by an audience keen to move. If Only is the opener and the place goes nuts. Ed’s sparkly jacket acts like a mirror ball as the band and crowd instantly connect.

Tonight is confirmation that NZ has some real fucking talent. Musicians that are playing for themselves and not aiming for just 5 minutes of The Edge or The Rock exposure off the Gulf of Hauraki whilst sipping on a Mai FM cocktail.

This is a band that manages to take all its influences, put them in a blender and come out with something completely different.

This is indie music for people who don’t like indie, disco for people who have never heard of Heatwave. This is music that connects on all levels to all ages and all genres. Music you feel.

The songs tonight lose the sheen of production we hear on the recordings and we get to see a band that clearly loves playing live. Even Ed’s dad dancing is engaging. Given the band members previous history it is no surprise they know how to keep an audience engaged.

There is a nod to many musical genres and psychedelic leanings throughout most of the songs but something more primitive is underneath it all. It permeates and penetrates. This is primal music fired through a defence screen of pop sensibility.

To break this review down to a song by song analysis is pointless. Every song tonight is a part of the bigger picture. The set builds in all the right places and things just get better as the band up the gears.

It sucks you in because we all like something new and shiny but what holds us is the soul, the rhythm. That is what I can feel tonight and see in all the people here moving as one as each wave of music flows over them.

The place is swimming.

The whole set is a highlight. Not one dull moment. This band are special, you need to see them now because pretty soon I am guessing they will be spending most of their time overseas playing places much bigger than Galatos.

Tonight the race was won the minute Racing took the stage.

Game Over.


Photos by Matthew O'neill / Shifty Jesus Photography

 

About Racing

Racing is a Rock and Roll band from Auckland. Hypnotic groove-based rock and roll with touches of English big beat.

Described as "the thoughts of a crocodile in flood season," Auckland based Racing is a Hypno Rock band, featuring Edward Knowles, Sven Pettersen, Izaak Houston and Daniel Barrett. Their first, self titled, self produced EP was released in June 2015 and was met with immediate critical acclaim, showcasing a sound that is mesmeric and ominous.

Known for their ferocious live show, Racing made their festival debut at Rhythm and Vines in 2016.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Racing

Releases

Real Dancing
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Bass
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Racing
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem