19 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise

18 Nov 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while. Some of you might remember Grant from his days as vocalist for The Audio Justice although he is now based in Tokyo.

The opening track When I’m With You grabbed me enough to pique my interest with its slightly 60’s psychedelic twist on the classic pop/rock vibe. It has a great melody and driving chorus, easily the standout track on first listen.

The Lasts The Longest Now show’s Grant’s talent as a songwriter. His vocal has a rough edge to it and fits the classic rock vibe perfectly. Whilst there is a retro feel to some of the songs on here overall this doesn’t sound dated and luckily whilst Grant is clearly a good guitarist he leaves the fret wankery to a minimum.

Find it Somewhere Else Tonight is where we begin to tread water a little. Things start off OK but overall the track feels a little long and some of the lyrics get a little cliché.

Luckily there is depth to this collection of songs and just when I was in danger of switching off, the melancholy ballad Love Stretches Further Each Day follows. It is a beautiful piece of music that gets under your skin complimented with vocals that sit perfectly

Heavy Clouds could easily go on one of Paul McCartney's latest albums. It ups the tempo and mood and is perfect listening on a sunny Sunday morning.

We then move into a bit of M.O.R. territory and whilst Own True Self and A Storm In Paradise are OK I do feel this is where we suffer bit of solo artist syndrome. Everything on this album fits, fits well, compliments itself. Sometimes it feels a little too controlled. A bit more friction and experimentation could take this album to a whole other level.

See Her Tired Eyes is a blast of a song to end with and reminiscent of early Ocean Colour Scene.

I find myself wanting to hear these songs live with a full band at full tilt. I am not sure if that is going to be happening but if it does then I think that is where we could see their full potential.

Overall, if you like your music on the classic side of indie, the pop side of rock with a Beatlesque vibe and a ‘mod’ern twist then you can’t go wrong with a bit of Grant Duncan.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Grant Duncan

Grant Duncan is a singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan. His NZ/UK origins have certainly influenced his musical direction as the classic grooves of UK pop rock including The Kinks, The Kooks, The Beatles and the Stone Roses are often apparent in his song-writing. Grant writes melodic indie pop-styled tracks and his lyrics are often energizing and thought-provoking.

Grant is also the frontman for Tokyo-based indie pop combo Pavement Candy which perform regularly around the Tokyo live arena and he was also previously the songwriter/bassist and vocalist for NZ rock band The Audio Justice who were finalists in the NZ 2013 Battle of the Bands competition.

Grant wrote and produced a full length album Alliance which was released on Spotify and Amazon on March 25 2018. His follow-up Early Morning Rise will be released on November 1 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Duncan

Releases

Radiant Sublime
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Early Morning Rise
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • MY BAD
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem