20 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise

18 Nov 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while. Some of you might remember Grant from his days as vocalist for The Audio Justice although he is now based in Tokyo.

The opening track When I’m With You grabbed me enough to pique my interest with its slightly 60’s psychedelic twist on the classic pop/rock vibe. It has a great melody and driving chorus, easily the standout track on first listen.

The Lasts The Longest Now show’s Grant’s talent as a songwriter. His vocal has a rough edge to it and fits the classic rock vibe perfectly. Whilst there is a retro feel to some of the songs on here overall this doesn’t sound dated and luckily whilst Grant is clearly a good guitarist he leaves the fret wankery to a minimum.

Find it Somewhere Else Tonight is where we begin to tread water a little. Things start off OK but overall the track feels a little long and some of the lyrics get a little cliché.

Luckily there is depth to this collection of songs and just when I was in danger of switching off, the melancholy ballad Love Stretches Further Each Day follows. It is a beautiful piece of music that gets under your skin complimented with vocals that sit perfectly

Heavy Clouds could easily go on one of Paul McCartney's latest albums. It ups the tempo and mood and is perfect listening on a sunny Sunday morning.

We then move into a bit of M.O.R. territory and whilst Own True Self and A Storm In Paradise are OK I do feel this is where we suffer bit of solo artist syndrome. Everything on this album fits, fits well, compliments itself. Sometimes it feels a little too controlled. A bit more friction and experimentation could take this album to a whole other level.

See Her Tired Eyes is a blast of a song to end with and reminiscent of early Ocean Colour Scene.

I find myself wanting to hear these songs live with a full band at full tilt. I am not sure if that is going to be happening but if it does then I think that is where we could see their full potential.

Overall, if you like your music on the classic side of indie, the pop side of rock with a Beatlesque vibe and a ‘mod’ern twist then you can’t go wrong with a bit of Grant Duncan.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Grant Duncan

Grant Duncan is a singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan. His NZ/UK origins have certainly influenced his musical direction as the classic grooves of UK pop rock including The Kinks, The Kooks, The Beatles and the Stone Roses are often apparent in his song-writing. Grant writes melodic indie pop-styled tracks and his lyrics are often energizing and thought-provoking.

Grant is also the frontman for Tokyo-based indie pop combo Pavement Candy which perform regularly around the Tokyo live arena and he was also previously the songwriter/bassist and vocalist for NZ rock band The Audio Justice who were finalists in the NZ 2013 Battle of the Bands competition.

Grant wrote and produced a full length album Alliance which was released on Spotify and Amazon on March 25 2018. His follow-up Early Morning Rise will be released on November 1 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Duncan

Releases

Radiant Sublime
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Journey To The High Road
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Early Morning Rise
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem