12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise

18 Nov 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while. Some of you might remember Grant from his days as vocalist for The Audio Justice although he is now based in Tokyo.

The opening track When I’m With You grabbed me enough to pique my interest with its slightly 60’s psychedelic twist on the classic pop/rock vibe. It has a great melody and driving chorus, easily the standout track on first listen.

The Lasts The Longest Now show’s Grant’s talent as a songwriter. His vocal has a rough edge to it and fits the classic rock vibe perfectly. Whilst there is a retro feel to some of the songs on here overall this doesn’t sound dated and luckily whilst Grant is clearly a good guitarist he leaves the fret wankery to a minimum.

Find it Somewhere Else Tonight is where we begin to tread water a little. Things start off OK but overall the track feels a little long and some of the lyrics get a little cliché.

Luckily there is depth to this collection of songs and just when I was in danger of switching off, the melancholy ballad Love Stretches Further Each Day follows. It is a beautiful piece of music that gets under your skin complimented with vocals that sit perfectly

Heavy Clouds could easily go on one of Paul McCartney's latest albums. It ups the tempo and mood and is perfect listening on a sunny Sunday morning.

We then move into a bit of M.O.R. territory and whilst Own True Self and A Storm In Paradise are OK I do feel this is where we suffer bit of solo artist syndrome. Everything on this album fits, fits well, compliments itself. Sometimes it feels a little too controlled. A bit more friction and experimentation could take this album to a whole other level.

See Her Tired Eyes is a blast of a song to end with and reminiscent of early Ocean Colour Scene.

I find myself wanting to hear these songs live with a full band at full tilt. I am not sure if that is going to be happening but if it does then I think that is where we could see their full potential.

Overall, if you like your music on the classic side of indie, the pop side of rock with a Beatlesque vibe and a ‘mod’ern twist then you can’t go wrong with a bit of Grant Duncan.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Grant Duncan

Grant Duncan is a singer-songwriter based in Tokyo, Japan. His NZ/UK origins have certainly influenced his musical direction as the classic grooves of UK pop rock including The Kinks, The Kooks, The Beatles and the Stone Roses are often apparent in his song-writing. Grant writes melodic indie pop-styled tracks and his lyrics are often energizing and thought-provoking.

Grant is also the frontman for Tokyo-based indie pop combo Pavement Candy which perform regularly around the Tokyo live arena and he was also previously the songwriter/bassist and vocalist for NZ rock band The Audio Justice who were finalists in the NZ 2013 Battle of the Bands competition.

Grant wrote and produced a full length album Alliance which was released on Spotify and Amazon on March 25 2018. His follow-up Early Morning Rise will be released on November 1 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grant Duncan

Releases

Early Morning Rise
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem