20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Racing - Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018

16 Nov 2018 // A review by Tony McDonald

Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in! Dual are funnily enough a duo Psychedelic Dance band from Auckland and are opening for Racing. And they are LOUD!

The singer has amazing vocals and the effects pedal he uses adds amazing atmospheric reverb, echo, etc… that really adds an eeriness to the sound. The vocal lines are all extremely catchy and you feel like you can sing along after the first chorus. The third member of the band is a shiny Macbook and it plays a frickin awesome part! The guitarists sound is quite low key but really adds to the overall sound brilliantly. This raw guitar mixed in with drum and bass is awesome.

The second song started and sounded like a modern-day Jesus Jones. Another great dance band from the past with guitars thrown in. The third song, Love On Your Own, sounded like Hard-Fi, which is another band I love. Other musical influences were Muse and definitely Kula Shaker. “Wipe your tears away” a classic U2 line from Sunday Bloody Sunday rang out for the last song, sung exactly the same as the Irish band. Fantastic.

The crowd at first seemed appreciative of the music without getting up to dance. Just needed one drunk loose punter to set the house on fire. And they did. After a few more songs the dancefloor was full, mission accomplished. Guitar rave over except for the incredibly loud ringing effects at the end. Clever, funny but bloody annoying!

Next up were Racing.

Before I start, I have to admit I already love this band and will be heading to 'Beers at the Basin' in Wellington on Saturday 1st December where Racing will be headlining. Don’t miss that!

Back to Moon, the crowd moved forwards closer to the stage as Racing rang out the first note. The dance floor filled up very quickly and the first chorus hit. It was obvious that people were here to see Racing. Unfortunately for me they were not as powerful as Dual in terms of loudness and energy, and I am not sure Dual were the right choice for an opening band. You can certainly tell it's a real drummer and not a drum machine which is great, just lacked the BOOM! Maybe Moon needs a new kick mic!

I'm already very familiar with their songs, being a big fan so I won't comment on individual tracks. Just head to Spotify to listen to them!

Racing are a rock band fused with a dreamy haze which I love. I have just come back from Desert Daze which is a 3-day music festival in America and Racing would have fit right in with the likes of King Gizard and the Lizard Wizard.

The catchy tunes once again had the audience dancing and singing along. I haven’t seen Moon this packed out in a long time.

The bass riffs drive the beat forwards and on the tune Drugs and Affection it really got the guys jumping. I sound like a broken record after my Dual comments, but Drugs and Affection is a cross between U2/Echo & the Bunnymen and Hard-Fi. What a great combo.

The singer, Ed, has an amazing ability to scream which sounds fantastic, so high pitched and then goes to amazing lows, what a range.

An amazing 4 piece from Auckland that I am sure will be touring the world soon and topping charts certainly nationwide. And good luck to them.


Photos courtesy of Nichole June Productions

 

About Racing

Racing is a Rock and Roll band from Auckland. Hypnotic groove-based rock and roll with touches of English big beat.

Described as "the thoughts of a crocodile in flood season," Auckland based Racing is a Hypno Rock band, featuring Edward Knowles, Sven Pettersen, Izaak Houston and Daniel Barrett. Their first, self titled, self produced EP was released in June 2015 and was met with immediate critical acclaim, showcasing a sound that is mesmeric and ominous.

Known for their ferocious live show, Racing made their festival debut at Rhythm and Vines in 2016.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Racing

Releases

Real Dancing
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Bass
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Racing
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80’s retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit
26 Jun 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome.
Read More...
Unknown - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by Tony McDonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by Tony McDonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem