22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Racing - Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018

16 Nov 2018 // A review by Tony McDonald

Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in! Dual are funnily enough a duo Psychedelic Dance band from Auckland and are opening for Racing. And they are LOUD!

The singer has amazing vocals and the effects pedal he uses adds amazing atmospheric reverb, echo, etc… that really adds an eeriness to the sound. The vocal lines are all extremely catchy and you feel like you can sing along after the first chorus. The third member of the band is a shiny Macbook and it plays a frickin awesome part! The guitarists sound is quite low key but really adds to the overall sound brilliantly. This raw guitar mixed in with drum and bass is awesome.

The second song started and sounded like a modern-day Jesus Jones. Another great dance band from the past with guitars thrown in. The third song, Love On Your Own, sounded like Hard-Fi, which is another band I love. Other musical influences were Muse and definitely Kula Shaker. “Wipe your tears away” a classic U2 line from Sunday Bloody Sunday rang out for the last song, sung exactly the same as the Irish band. Fantastic.

The crowd at first seemed appreciative of the music without getting up to dance. Just needed one drunk loose punter to set the house on fire. And they did. After a few more songs the dancefloor was full, mission accomplished. Guitar rave over except for the incredibly loud ringing effects at the end. Clever, funny but bloody annoying!

Next up were Racing.

Before I start, I have to admit I already love this band and will be heading to 'Beers at the Basin' in Wellington on Saturday 1st December where Racing will be headlining. Don’t miss that!

Back to Moon, the crowd moved forwards closer to the stage as Racing rang out the first note. The dance floor filled up very quickly and the first chorus hit. It was obvious that people were here to see Racing. Unfortunately for me they were not as powerful as Dual in terms of loudness and energy, and I am not sure Dual were the right choice for an opening band. You can certainly tell it's a real drummer and not a drum machine which is great, just lacked the BOOM! Maybe Moon needs a new kick mic!

I'm already very familiar with their songs, being a big fan so I won't comment on individual tracks. Just head to Spotify to listen to them!

Racing are a rock band fused with a dreamy haze which I love. I have just come back from Desert Daze which is a 3-day music festival in America and Racing would have fit right in with the likes of King Gizard and the Lizard Wizard.

The catchy tunes once again had the audience dancing and singing along. I haven’t seen Moon this packed out in a long time.

The bass riffs drive the beat forwards and on the tune Drugs and Affection it really got the guys jumping. I sound like a broken record after my Dual comments, but Drugs and Affection is a cross between U2/Echo & the Bunnymen and Hard-Fi. What a great combo.

The singer, Ed, has an amazing ability to scream which sounds fantastic, so high pitched and then goes to amazing lows, what a range.

An amazing 4 piece from Auckland that I am sure will be touring the world soon and topping charts certainly nationwide. And good luck to them.


Photos courtesy of Nichole June Productions

 

About Racing

Racing is a Rock and Roll band from Auckland. Hypnotic groove-based rock and roll with touches of English big beat.

Described as "the thoughts of a crocodile in flood season," Auckland based Racing is a Hypno Rock band, featuring Edward Knowles, Sven Pettersen, Izaak Houston and Daniel Barrett. Their first, self titled, self produced EP was released in June 2015 and was met with immediate critical acclaim, showcasing a sound that is mesmeric and ominous.

Known for their ferocious live show, Racing made their festival debut at Rhythm and Vines in 2016.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Racing

Releases

Real Dancing
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Bass
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Racing
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem