25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Superette - Single Review: Pretty Picture

16 Nov 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

It’s been a long time between drinks for fans of Superette and Dave Mulcahy’s exceptional songwriting.

However, a thirst quencher is being poured in the form of the release of the song Pretty Picture.

Pretty Picture comes from a reissue of Superette’s phenomenal Tiger LP which was released in November 2018 on Flying Nun.

Pretty Picture was previously an unreleased demo track from the Tiger sessions. It’s such a strong song, I can’t think why it wasn't included on the original album. 

In the days since being sent this song I re-listened to the rest of the LP as it was, and this song, in my opinion, is way stronger than at least two of the songs which made the cut. The song is easily as strong as the singles which lit up the student radio network at the time. Unless the B-net's programme directors are all cloth-eared retro 80's or trap loving millennials Pretty Picture should re launch the band and take up residency on their playlists.

Fans of Mulcahy’s writing and the original Tiger LP will be totally stoked to learn the reissue will feature more as yet unreleased tracks.

As for Pretty Picture, it’s easy to hear that it clearly belongs to the Tiger sessions, from the song’s structure to the production values. It is very guitar driven, with a palm-muted guitar intro that drives the song up to the pre-chorus, when the palm is released and the over driven guitar cadences well. The multi-tracked vocals also add to the signature sound of the Tiger sessions.

I still can’t understand why Pretty Picture was left off the original recording, but it definitely makes the reissue worth purchasing.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Superette

Superette formed in 1993 with David Mulcahy leaving the JPS Experience for a new pursuit. Together with drummer Greta Anderson and bass guitarist Ben Howe Superette was born.

Ben and Greta have also performed under the guise of Ben & Greta.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Superette

Releases

Tiger (Reissue)
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Tiger
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Rosepig
Year: 1995
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field
11 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019
14 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015. While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room.
Read More...
Alae - Single Review: Help You Now
10 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alae have released their new single Help You Now. It’s the first track to be issued since the release of the Henry St album last year.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem