15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Superette - Single Review: Pretty Picture

16 Nov 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

It’s been a long time between drinks for fans of Superette and Dave Mulcahy’s exceptional songwriting.

However, a thirst quencher is being poured in the form of the release of the song Pretty Picture.

Pretty Picture comes from a reissue of Superette’s phenomenal Tiger LP which was released in November 2018 on Flying Nun.

Pretty Picture was previously an unreleased demo track from the Tiger sessions. It’s such a strong song, I can’t think why it wasn't included on the original album. 

In the days since being sent this song I re-listened to the rest of the LP as it was, and this song, in my opinion, is way stronger than at least two of the songs which made the cut. The song is easily as strong as the singles which lit up the student radio network at the time. Unless the B-net's programme directors are all cloth-eared retro 80's or trap loving millennials Pretty Picture should re launch the band and take up residency on their playlists.

Fans of Mulcahy’s writing and the original Tiger LP will be totally stoked to learn the reissue will feature more as yet unreleased tracks.

As for Pretty Picture, it’s easy to hear that it clearly belongs to the Tiger sessions, from the song’s structure to the production values. It is very guitar driven, with a palm-muted guitar intro that drives the song up to the pre-chorus, when the palm is released and the over driven guitar cadences well. The multi-tracked vocals also add to the signature sound of the Tiger sessions.

I still can’t understand why Pretty Picture was left off the original recording, but it definitely makes the reissue worth purchasing.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Superette

Superette formed in 1993 with David Mulcahy leaving the JPS Experience for a new pursuit. Together with drummer Greta Anderson and bass guitarist Ben Howe Superette was born.

Ben and Greta have also performed under the guise of Ben & Greta.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Superette

Releases

Tiger (Reissue)
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Tiger
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Rosepig
Year: 1995
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Bartells - Single/Video Review: Extraordinary Girl
06 Dec 2018 // by Darryl Baser
There’s something pretty cool about the whole DIY ethic, from the early Flying Nun years, and now with many artists producing their own material. Sam Bartells, who creates music under his last name, has just released the single Extraordinary Girl with an accompanying self-filmed video.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Album Review: Time Flies
27 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
Up until this month 4-piece Northland band Tempist Fujit had released the No More Time EP and a single titled Midnight Train. This month the team of Lisa Walters (vocals, guitar), Douglas Gordon (guitar, backing vocals), Harlen Keepa (bass) and Chris Butler (drums) have finally released their first full length album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tom Cunliffe & Emily Fairlight @ The Cook, Dunedin - 10/11/2018
23 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
The Cook is home to a few music fans, with a few still standing or swaying from the city's craft beer festival, which had people imbibing from mid-morning. Tom Cunliffe opens up the evening's performance with the fantastic song Came My Way.
Read More...
VTMNK - Single Review: Red Wine
20 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
VTMNK ('Vitamin K') are a Dunedin duo, Latham Hunt on guitars and Veronika Bell (VK) on vocals. The pair came together spontaneously at one of Dunedin’s many open mic nights and have been performing regularly in Dunedin with a foray to Christchurch earlier in 2018.
Read More...
Jaggers x Lines - Album Review: Burn Cycle
05 Oct 2018 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin EDM (Electric Dance Music) duo Jaggers X Lines have been putting in the mahi (work) over a few years; headlining their own shows and playing support slots to some credible touring acts including looping wunderkind Tash Sultana. The pairing of Eliana Gray and Morgan Smilie describe themselves as ‘alt-pop weirdos’, and it’s a fitting description.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Single Review: Voices of One
27 Sep 2018 // by Darryl Baser
The new single from Auckland indie cult band Hallelujah Picassos, Voices of One, seemed to come from out of the blue. The flip side is a Picassos' tune that anyone who listened to the student radio network in the mid to late 1990's will know that Black Spade Picasso Core was a favourite for many - possibly due to the profanity in the chorus…or maybe that was just me.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Chills @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 21/09/2018
22 Sep 2018 // by Darryl Baser
As I sit here listening to Snow Bound, re-writing this from notes in bed the morning after the gig, while I sip black coffee and eat chocolate and ginger biscuits, I feel life is good. And more importantly, this LP and tour really could be perfect for relaunching The Chills globally.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bailterspace with Wax Chattels @ The Cook, Dunedin - 15/09/2018
16 Sep 2018 // by Darryl Baser
Wax Chattels: wow, speed and precision. Their first two songs are at a breakneck pace; damn, what a band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem