13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'

12 Nov 2018 // A review by Bridie Thomson

Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up. Fan reviews prove that they already have a passionate following and know how to get bodies moving. This is no surprise upon the first listen of their two new singles that come at you with impactful vocals and catchy lyrics complimented by some really great talent instrumentally.

The first song of the release, Skeletons has a specific moment that really stood out to me. Which can be hard to find in a song as long as 5 minutes. Distorted vocals give me a Rocky Horror Picture Show style, delving into theremin-like background noises that really build the impact and strength of this vocal styling. There’s no denying I love a song that goes crazy with the build-up, absolutely amping you for its burst of power and this is one of them. Even with the beginning of the song only just giving you a small taste of what’s to offer from this group.

Numbers shows more of the bands creative process with the song being built from a sample of footsteps and a digging shovel that create the initial percussion line for the song. Licks of what can only be described as ‘face melting’ support this catchy tune. It’s an absolutely classic rock song with just some extra touches of the band's own style and flair that create something exciting and genuinely interesting to listen to.

As a first-time listener of Sea Mouse, it wasn’t only their band name that intrigued me but their sound too. You can also find out more about this electronic blast of blues rock on Facebook, Bandcamp, Spotify and most other social media/ music streaming services.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sea Mouse

Sea Mouse is the latest project of renowned Wellington singer/ songwriter Seamus Johnson, who is no stranger to the Wellington live circuit, having supported international bands such as Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Helmet, The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Jack Broadbent and performing in bands Elston Gun, Paperscissors and solo for the last 10 years.

Johnson's self-titled debut, recorded over the later half of 2016 with master producer Toby Lloyd at Park Road Post Production, encompasses his Delta blues origins, alongside his electrified, hard hitting energetic live performances.  

Channeling the thunder and swagger of Jack White & Led Zeppelin and the lyrical subjects akin to Douglas Adams and Alexei Sayle, Sea Mouse is the reincarnation of the primitive, visceral electric blues that you’ve been missing out on.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sea Mouse

Releases

Sea Mouse
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Bridie Thomson

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
Pale Flag - Single/Video Review: In The Moment
30 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Pale Flag is a 5-piece metal from Auckland, New Zealand. While they are both young and very new on the scene they bring us promise for great things with their first single In This Moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bridie Thomson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem