22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart

11 Nov 2018 // A review by Jessie Armstrong

The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point? Anxiety Club also pay homage to their hometown of Wellington in this song and the wind blew still in the Wellington hills, it only happens now and then” - if you’ve ever spent any time in our capital city, you’ll understand that all too well.

The second track is also the title track of the EP Black Heart. The overall feel on this track is one of sadness, it reminds me of the feeling you have when you have to make a decision whether to end a relationship or not because you're experiencing doubt “do I have a black heart baby I’ve been thinking of someone else, it’s no reflection on you it’s just something I do.”

Another track worth mentioning is I Give In, with lyrics like leaving all the ghosts behind. Couldn’t find a way to die”. In my personal opinion, this track is perhaps the one with the darkest lyrical content and, in no way, should that be considered a bad thing. I feel that if you’re someone who has gone through mental illness you’ll find some comfort in this track as it could help you to understand that while you may feel alone there are people out there who understand and feel the same way you do.

Black Heart as a whole is a beautiful EP and does a wonderful job of getting the listener to think and understand what could possibly be going through in their own lives, it truly is incredible and I strongly urge to go and purchase this EP at https://anxietyclubmusic.bandcamp.com. Go and see Anxiety Club live if you can, I can only imagine how amazing it would be to hear any one of these songs live.

 

About Anxiety Club

Wellington band Anxiety Club have been performing their alt-country/indie-influenced “feel-good anthems of heartache and despair” around Aotearoa since 2016. Over that time they have played stages big and small, released a series of singles and EPs to much acclaim, made numerous appearances on radio, and won fans wherever they were heard.

The band originally bonded over a common love for alt-country, adding their own unique twist of indie alt-pop pop and grunge, with electronic influences. They made their mark with the singles Be Still and I Don’t Want Anyone (But You), alongside a series of triumphant shows, including their sold-out debut at The Wine Cellar in Auckland. They’ve also chalked up acclaimed performances at numerous New Zealand festivals and events, from Coastella and New Plymouth’s TSB Festival of Lights, to playing at Gardens Magic in Wellington.

In October 2018 Anxiety Club continued their winning streak with the release of their first studio-recorded EP Black Heart.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Anxiety Club

Releases

Black Heart
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Live EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

EP Review: Goodspace
16 Oct 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland, there isn’t a lot of information online about the lo-fi, indie rock band that calls themselves Goodspace, aside from the fact that it is made up of band members Jeff on vocals and guitar, Lloyd on vocals and bass and Nick on drums. I could see that their lack of an online presence could play into their favour, because it means in order to get to know them you would need to listen to their interviews or go to their shows (smart move), and therefore get to know them on a more personal level.
Read More...
Jarni Blair - EP Review: Sparkle In My Eye
10 Sep 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Originally hailing from Dunedin Jarni Blair is currently residing in Auckland while trying to further a musical career that started from a young age. Having played in bands throughout his high school career Jarni made the decision (in his last year) to try his hands at a solo career that appears to be drawing a loyal following.
Read More...
Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem