28 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car

03 Nov 2018 // A review by eidirbs

"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car"

Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.

Mellowing things down ever so slightly with this new single proves the diversity Adrian can bring to this genre. Goodbye Car is an ode to saying farewell to man's love, his life, his car. With full drums and rocking guitar complimenting the distinct vocals, we are painted a picture of driving with the top down, fast through the longest strip of road you can find with absolutely no cares in the world. This car is your baby, your pride and joy and she’s about to go on a long road trip without you. While at first listen to this song may just seem about his car it becomes evident it delves deeper into his love or lust ending with his lover.

With December fast approaching this new single has already charted on Google Play’s Top Rock Songs at #3, sitting comfortably in front of AC/DC’s Thunderstruck. That just proves this classic sound is just what rock listeners are wanting to hear.

This single can be played on all streaming sites with merchandise soon to be available through investigatormusic.com. Make sure to keep track of all things Investigator on his Instagram, Facebook or website. It won’t be long before the album is in our sights.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Investigator

Investigator is the nom de plume of Adrian Drew, a singer/songwriter who has his roots dug deep in retro rock.

Turning his back on a successful career in commercial radio to pursue his first love, music, Adrian's transformation into Investigator had begun.

The past couple of years have been spent playing private functions, bars and wineries to hone his craft and test original ideas. With a unique voice and often arresting lyrics he has recently been in the studio to complete a 5 track EP, due out in December 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Livin' In A Magazine
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By eidirbs

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by eidirbs
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
Pale Flag - Single/Video Review: In The Moment
30 Oct 2018 // by eidirbs
Pale Flag is a 5-piece metal from Auckland, New Zealand. While they are both young and very new on the scene they bring us promise for great things with their first single In This Moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By eidirbs

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • EARFQUAKE
    Tyler, The Creator
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem