13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free

02 Nov 2018 // A review by Bridie Thomson

"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."

Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua. Originally going by her birth name she’s played acoustic sets for years, including a special feature at Parachute Festival. It’s this November the 16th where she will release her very first single, Set Me Free under her stage name for the world to hear. The single was recorded at Big Pop Studios in Auckland, a studio that is backed by successful New Zealand musicians (Chris Van Der Geer and Joost Langeveld) and their showreel extending through commercial media, film and New Zealand music classics.

If this song doesn’t end up on the radio and get absolutely blasted I would be surprised. Kaela’s vocals are incredible and are definitely what makes this song stand out among a lot of other pop songs. Raw vocal strength and stunning high notes give Set Me Free a boost into another dimension, where the listener could be floating on a cloud, bathing in a pool of sunshine and you’d absolutely believe it until the last bar.

The beat is a classic example of what people want to hear in pop now. Floating and gentle production that supports Kaela’s vocals rounding the song into an indie-pop masterpiece fit for mainstream and fit for my heart. Forever. Seriously I loved this song.

The single cover is simple, and the colours reflect the essence of this song. The entire imagery of Kaela so far is a soft, warm, dreamy and gives off the right vibe for indie-pop decadence.

Kaela’s newest single will be on Spotify November 16th. Watch out for this girl because I think she will skyrocket into popularity as soon as the song hits airwaves.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Bridie Thomson

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
Pale Flag - Single/Video Review: In The Moment
30 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Pale Flag is a 5-piece metal from Auckland, New Zealand. While they are both young and very new on the scene they bring us promise for great things with their first single In This Moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bridie Thomson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem