22 Oct 2019

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Superturtle - Album Review: Student Flat Reunion

31 Oct 2018 // A review by butch181

Student Flat Reunion is the fourth album from Superturtle. With the exception of frontman Darren McShane, the group has had a revolving door of musicians associated with them since the band’s inception. As such, their sound has been categorised in a number of ways; from alt-pop to rock and funk-soul.

The release boasts a catalogue of 19 tracks, running just short of an hour. This does mean that Vinyl LP edition is missing the final six tracks (which are only available on physical CD and digital copy only). With track lengths varying between one and a half to three and a half minutes, the tracks are short and punchy, with a pop-punk flair to many of the more compact tracks; such as That's What You're Looking For and Who Put The Knives On.

McShane’s vocals are rather distinctive and hark back to the 70’s and 80’s where unique voices and singing styles were sought after, and necessary to stand out in a music scene dominated with very similar rock formulas. With an almost forceful, staccato vocal style (reminiscent of Fred Schneider’s vocals in The B-52’s Love Shack), the vocal melody takes on an almost percussive role.

The initial tracks on the album have a very cohesive vibe, with a fast-pace and strong beat, each track is infused with latent energy, and an almost nostalgic twang with the prominence of the keys in the cover of A Flock of Seagulls track, It’s Not Me Talking. The 70’s and 80’s ambiance is present with influences from the likes of David Bowie, Blondie, and Talking Heads very clear in the styling of each track.

As the album progresses, however, the tone begins to shift as the group begin to experiment with other genres and vocal styles; whether the Russian styling of Hit The Floor, the smooth commercial pop-rock vibe of La Da De Da (which brings back memories of the Anchor Milk ads of old. I’m talking Nature by The Mutton Birds), or the distorted heavy rock sound of That's What You're Looking For.

Student Flat Reunion brings back the days of old, before every track had to be a popular single. Each track does stand on its own, but as a whole the album takes on another dimension, making use of intermissions and placing hidden tracks to break up album. With 19 tracks, there is a veritable plethora of styles on display. While I initially thought the twin riff from the opening track Changing Lanes to be jarring, as you listen through the album, everything starts to fit together and as you uncover different sides of their style, you gain a greater appreciation of their musical abilities and adaptability, moving between genres with easy.

A surprisingly tight album, that has a sense of familiarity and a very clean edge.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )

About Superturtle

Superturtle's debut release in August 2008 was heralded by an inaugral live performance featuring special guests Chris Knox and The Nothing. Four songs made Kiwi FM's top 10 over the following year, with video play on C4, Juice TV, Triangle and CueTV, and In Flight on Air New Zealand. The single All Our Friends featured on Jim Mora's National Radio show Best Song Ever Written on May 11th 2012. The album received four star reviews in The Waikato Times and The Groove Guide.


The second album About The Sun was preceded by the Valley Town EP and Sad Sack single and was released June 7th 2010 on Sarang Bang Records and Ode Records. It received extensive play on Christchurch bnet station RDU and Kiwi FM.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Superturtle


Beat Manifesto
Year: 2013
Type: LP
About The Sun
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Valley Town
Year: 2009
Type: EP
To The Rescue
Year: 2008
Type: Album

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Sevendust w/ City of Souls @ Powerstation, Auckland - 23/04/2019
24 Apr 2019 // by butch181
A decidedly reserved Tuesday night in Auckland and people were quietly piling into the Powerstation and grabbing some drinks at the bar. The upper balcony area was closed, so the fans were amassing downstairs around the inner perimeter of the venue.
Sonic Altar - Album Review: Under A Dying Sun
27 Mar 2019 // by butch181
In this digital age, it’s not often that you get a full length record anymore. Everything is short and sweet just to get content out there before fans forget your band even exists.
Levi Lights On Project - Single Review: Mirror Man
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
Levi is a musical amalgamation that would in most cases be categorised as folk, thanks to the groups' uncommon mix of instruments consisting of a saxophone, cello, and cajón, and a lack of a drum kit or electric instruments. That being said, Mirror Man has something unique.
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Little Mouse
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
Little Mouse is the first single from Bad Alien, the upcoming sophomore album of three-piece alt-rock act The Gemini Effect. With some nice consistent snare work, the track jumps right off the bat with a great organic sense of rhythm that has you bobbing your head and tapping your foot along with the beat, accentuated by some gritty power chords.
Mermaidens - Single Review: You Maintain The Stain
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
The latest release from Wellington trio Mermaidens is a straight up middle finger to the powers that control the world and throws away the mainstream formula of verse/chorus patterns, instead, forming a self-righteous maelstrom of sonic environments.  With no warning given, You Maintain The Stain gets straight into cold, apathetic vocals alongside a pluggy bassline, until the guitar jumps in with an uncomfortable level of discord that sows the seeds of uneasiness in the pit of your stomach as if every instrument is performing a different song.
Paper Cranes - Album Review: Voices
19 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Due for release January 18, 2019, Voices is the second full-length album from Indie Folk duo Paper Cranes. While comprised of ten tracks, the album has a short overall runtime of just over 35 minutes.
This Pale Fire - Single Review: Float Out
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Float Out is about the process of letting things go, moving forward, learning from your past experiences, growing as a result. As such, the track has an intrinsically emotional weight to it.
EP Review: Miller Yule Live
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Miller Yule Live is a good length EP, consisting of seven tracks with a total runtime of over 30 minutes. Performing a setlist that is mostly sourced from his 2016 EP Shoot Me In The Heart (reviewed here), Miller Yule has also added in his single Diamonds (released in November 2017 and reviewed here), a stripped down adaptation of Six60's Don't Give It Up, and a new track to spice it up further.
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Tones And I
    Post Malone
    Travis Scott
    Maroon 5
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
    Harry Styles
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem