14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

DEAF - EP Review: The DEAF EP

31 Oct 2018 // A review by Bridie Thomson

If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf. A 5-piece band from Wellington who recently opened for the 40-year reunion tour of Bauhaus with Peter Murphy and David J.

This EP eases you in with some ambient successions. Welcomed by the atmospheric like bass lines and synth of Perfect Blue, which brings us into the second song on the EP, Shards. Shards was released as a single earlier this year along with Truancy.

This band doesn’t feel brand new to me. If someone were to play this EP in passing and tell me they were a more unknown band from the original peak of post-punk in the 70’s/80’s I would believe it. Deaf successfully bring this homage to the original emo greats into 2018 with a sound they mould perfectly in to. Their image is solidified by black and white photography and I have to note towards the name Deaf being a great name for a band in general. This band’s journey of greatness is only just beginning.

We are delivered into the final two songs of the EP, Slav Defence and Dead End which build you up for the packed punches, ringing guitars and the thought of a live show that would go absolutely mental for these great songs.

I am a huge fan of the vocals on Dead End, and not to mention this whole EP but I will give that song special mention. There’s diversity throughout the EP but guitarist and vocalist, Luke Kavanagh, knows the sound he wants to bring to every song.

I wholeheartedly look forward to hearing more from this band and only hope I can catch them live sometime very soon. You can catch Deaf at one of Eyegums' free Wednesday shows at San Fran on the 21st of November. Their new self-titled EP is available for purchase and to stream on Bandcamp and Soundcloud.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About DEAF

DEAF are a five piece postpunk/dreampop band from Wellington New Zealand formed 2018.

DEAF Will release their debut EP The DEAF EP on All Hallow's Eve featuring bnet favorites Truancy and Shards.

Supported Peter Murphy and David J Of Bauhaus on October 18th 2018 at Meow.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for DEAF

Releases

There are no releases to display for DEAF.

Other Reviews By Bridie Thomson

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
Pale Flag - Single/Video Review: In The Moment
30 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Pale Flag is a 5-piece metal from Auckland, New Zealand. While they are both young and very new on the scene they bring us promise for great things with their first single In This Moment.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bridie Thomson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem