13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pale Flag - Single/Video Review: In The Moment

30 Oct 2018 // A review by Bridie Thomson

Pale Flag is a 5-piece metal from Auckland, New Zealand. While they are both young and very new on the scene they bring us promise for great things with their first single In This Moment.

My roots have always personally lied in the hardcore scene, so this review was both nostalgic and an insight for me of the ever-growing Metal community that New Zealand has.

The song starts with a softer, more melodic riff to introduce you to the video. Showing the band in stillness as they await their beginning which comes in full force with some impressive vocals. The softer rhythm continues underneath while the song impacts which I think gives a great demonstration of the diversity within this band's abilities. There’s no lack of flow in this song and it’s structured in a way so that each instrument has its own flourishing moment.

The story of this video begins immediately, following one man as he walks through a suburban town with a shifting presence following behind him. After a while he stops, almost defeated and conflicted by the proximity of the figure. What I take from the video is a darker voice in the back of your mind. Unable to escape the tortures of your own thoughts and feeling captive to an unknown being. It’s at the breakdown where we see what could be our man's demise but not until he swiftly turns to face the figure in black, chasing after the tortured thoughts and finding they will not fight back in the end. It is only a conjuring of his mind.

I’m reminded of early Parkway Drive and my personal favourite New Zealand metal band: Antagonist A.D. With this band on the rise and a lot of passion for their craft I believe they can reach the same status as these bands. Continuing to bring new ideas, new faces and new music into this scene is important. The metal community gave to me what I’m sure these boys are given too. A sense of belonging and a sense of release through music.

Catch Pale Flag play at Whammy Bar in Auckland, opening for Scorn of Creation on November the 1st.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pale Flag

Pale Flag is a Metal band from Auckland formed in 2018. Having only been together for a very short time, the band has already opened for several notable local and international acts.

Known for their high energy live show, Pale Flag plays hard hitting music aimed to get the crowd moshing.

Their debut single & music video for the track In This Moment is available now on all major digital platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pale Flag

Releases

There are no releases to display for Pale Flag.

Other Reviews By Bridie Thomson

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bridie Thomson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem