20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me

29 Oct 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?

Underneath the surface though there is a lot more going on. The mind games and power plays that lead to self-doubt, fear and loathing and ultimately sometimes hate.

This new single from Missy is a perfect mirror of such a relationship. We are courted with its Gregorian chants and trip beats and on the surface it’s a simple song that would sound great on any radio station playlist. One that is easy to fall in love with no matter what genre of music you are into. Missy, AKA Abigail Knudson, has crossover appeal with an angelic voice that is a sweet juxtaposition with the songs often repeated question of "who needs love" and the message "I want you to hate me".

Musically it's a tune built on layers almost as complex as the relationship that it is describing. It doesn't jolt or jar but there is a lot going on. Boundaries are being pushed along a groove and melody that is as uplifting as it is dark. Much has been written about Missy’s classically trained background and self-taught production skills and it is easy to hear why she is in demand as a unique talent both as performer and producer.

The video too is simple and effective with two people whose movements while lying on a bed constantly show us that fine line between love and hate, dependency and independence. It is a great concept that doesn't distract from the song like many videos can.

I like that Missy has chosen to deliver this song at just over 3 mins. Often artists much like people in a relationship lose the message they are trying to get across by adding too much. We can all over complicate things and end up missing the point. In the case of Hate Me, less is certainly more.

Hate Me is a song that instantly takes you in. It is the music that gets under your skin first and then that vocal. Whilst it is easy to listen to it soon becomes apparent it is confronting at the same time. Complex, questioning and ultimately touching on something we all experience.

There is plenty to love about Hate Me and about Missy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Missy.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem