23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me

29 Oct 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?

Underneath the surface though there is a lot more going on. The mind games and power plays that lead to self-doubt, fear and loathing and ultimately sometimes hate.

This new single from Missy is a perfect mirror of such a relationship. We are courted with its Gregorian chants and trip beats and on the surface it’s a simple song that would sound great on any radio station playlist. One that is easy to fall in love with no matter what genre of music you are into. Missy, AKA Abigail Knudson, has crossover appeal with an angelic voice that is a sweet juxtaposition with the songs often repeated question of "who needs love" and the message "I want you to hate me".

Musically it's a tune built on layers almost as complex as the relationship that it is describing. It doesn't jolt or jar but there is a lot going on. Boundaries are being pushed along a groove and melody that is as uplifting as it is dark. Much has been written about Missy’s classically trained background and self-taught production skills and it is easy to hear why she is in demand as a unique talent both as performer and producer.

The video too is simple and effective with two people whose movements while lying on a bed constantly show us that fine line between love and hate, dependency and independence. It is a great concept that doesn't distract from the song like many videos can.

I like that Missy has chosen to deliver this song at just over 3 mins. Often artists much like people in a relationship lose the message they are trying to get across by adding too much. We can all over complicate things and end up missing the point. In the case of Hate Me, less is certainly more.

Hate Me is a song that instantly takes you in. It is the music that gets under your skin first and then that vocal. Whilst it is easy to listen to it soon becomes apparent it is confronting at the same time. Complex, questioning and ultimately touching on something we all experience.

There is plenty to love about Hate Me and about Missy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Missy.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Florence and The Machine @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/01/2019
31 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I caught the tail end of Yellow Days set at Laneway so was pleased to see a full performance at Auckland's Spark Arena tonight. The sunlight was replaced by stage light and the first thing that comes across is that mellow, baritone of a voice.
Read More...
Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival 2019 @ Albert Park, Auckland - 28/01/2019
29 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
The grey cloudy humid wet morning opened up into blue skies as I walked up the hill to Albert Park. Thanks to non-existent Auckland transport I did miss seeing Miss June (pictured).
Read More...
Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem