23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me

29 Oct 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?

Underneath the surface though there is a lot more going on. The mind games and power plays that lead to self-doubt, fear and loathing and ultimately sometimes hate.

This new single from Missy is a perfect mirror of such a relationship. We are courted with its Gregorian chants and trip beats and on the surface it’s a simple song that would sound great on any radio station playlist. One that is easy to fall in love with no matter what genre of music you are into. Missy, AKA Abigail Knudson, has crossover appeal with an angelic voice that is a sweet juxtaposition with the songs often repeated question of "who needs love" and the message "I want you to hate me".

Musically it's a tune built on layers almost as complex as the relationship that it is describing. It doesn't jolt or jar but there is a lot going on. Boundaries are being pushed along a groove and melody that is as uplifting as it is dark. Much has been written about Missy’s classically trained background and self-taught production skills and it is easy to hear why she is in demand as a unique talent both as performer and producer.

The video too is simple and effective with two people whose movements while lying on a bed constantly show us that fine line between love and hate, dependency and independence. It is a great concept that doesn't distract from the song like many videos can.

I like that Missy has chosen to deliver this song at just over 3 mins. Often artists much like people in a relationship lose the message they are trying to get across by adding too much. We can all over complicate things and end up missing the point. In the case of Hate Me, less is certainly more.

Hate Me is a song that instantly takes you in. It is the music that gets under your skin first and then that vocal. Whilst it is easy to listen to it soon becomes apparent it is confronting at the same time. Complex, questioning and ultimately touching on something we all experience.

There is plenty to love about Hate Me and about Missy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Missy.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem