21 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me

29 Oct 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?

Underneath the surface though there is a lot more going on. The mind games and power plays that lead to self-doubt, fear and loathing and ultimately sometimes hate.

This new single from Missy is a perfect mirror of such a relationship. We are courted with its Gregorian chants and trip beats and on the surface it’s a simple song that would sound great on any radio station playlist. One that is easy to fall in love with no matter what genre of music you are into. Missy, AKA Abigail Knudson, has crossover appeal with an angelic voice that is a sweet juxtaposition with the songs often repeated question of "who needs love" and the message "I want you to hate me".

Musically it's a tune built on layers almost as complex as the relationship that it is describing. It doesn't jolt or jar but there is a lot going on. Boundaries are being pushed along a groove and melody that is as uplifting as it is dark. Much has been written about Missy’s classically trained background and self-taught production skills and it is easy to hear why she is in demand as a unique talent both as performer and producer.

The video too is simple and effective with two people whose movements while lying on a bed constantly show us that fine line between love and hate, dependency and independence. It is a great concept that doesn't distract from the song like many videos can.

I like that Missy has chosen to deliver this song at just over 3 mins. Often artists much like people in a relationship lose the message they are trying to get across by adding too much. We can all over complicate things and end up missing the point. In the case of Hate Me, less is certainly more.

Hate Me is a song that instantly takes you in. It is the music that gets under your skin first and then that vocal. Whilst it is easy to listen to it soon becomes apparent it is confronting at the same time. Complex, questioning and ultimately touching on something we all experience.

There is plenty to love about Hate Me and about Missy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Missy

Missy is a New Zealand producer, singer and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Missy

Releases

Strange
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem