20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Spawts - Single Review: Blue Light Devil

22 Oct 2018 // A review by eidirbs

Spawts is a duo from Auckland. We last heard them collaborating in 2017 on an EP with Two Cartoons who join them to create a four-piece at most live shows. In 2016 they released their first EP which pathed the way for not only an album named Big Fresh Corner, Milky Way but a steady pathway for themselves in the New Zealand indie rock music scene.

There’s a distinct sound that I love about this band and a lot of similar bands like this in New Zealand. It brings you a refurbished take on the Sonic Youth grittiness, sounding just like the house shows in Dunedin that my tutors would always talk about being at. Not much has changed in the musical culture of New Zealand since the 70’s as far as alternative rock bands go. Bodies will still gather in someone's home until you get kicked out by noise control. That’s however, part of the fun. I believe Spawts are no different and hearing them at house shows and garage turned venues would fulfil the experience you get with this sound. Garage rock will never die.

It’s easy to put Blue Light Devil on repeat, your head will continue bopping well after the song has ended. Vocals, drums, bass and guitar all encourage the best harmonious flow from each component.

This song needs to be loud. Louder than just my laptop speakers can go. It’s a fiery new single and I 100% believe it’s an indicator for what I hope is an exciting 2019 for the band.

Spawts and their brand new single Blue Light Devil are available for listening on Spotify, Soundcloud and Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Spawts

SPAWTS is an alternative garage band based out of Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Spawts

Releases

There are no releases to display for Spawts.

Other Reviews By eidirbs

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by eidirbs
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
View All Articles By eidirbs

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem