12 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Jiveniles - EP Review: Boss X Rough Edges

22 Oct 2018 // A review by Bridie Thomson

Wellington based alternative rock band, The Jiveniles are fresh on the scene. A three-piece band with influences tugging in every direction, however, they manage to bring that together to create their own sound. Boss X Rough Edges is their first EP and a look into what this group has to offer.

I love live music, especially with bands and straight from the first track Boss I can tell that they are made for it that live experience. The instrumentals are packed with talent, groove and the will to head bop. Stunning vocals are just the cherry on top.

There’s something about the keys and drums coming in at the start of Boss that really made my waking up on a Sunday a little easier. The guitar was just the flavour that the song needed to build into a break for the first subtle flow of vocals.

The lyrics of both of these tracks touch on something deeper that’s on a lot of our minds, especially anyone in their 20’s. We’re searching through tackling our own darker thoughts, becoming bosses of our own minds.

This EP is a delightful welcome to the band and I know they’re going to continue to impress with every chance they’re given.

The Jiveniles EP is now available on Spotify and Apple Music.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Bridie Thomson

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by Bridie Thomson
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bridie Thomson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem