20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yoko-Zuna - Album review: Voyager

20 Oct 2018 // A review by eidirbs

Yoko-Zuna is an electronica and hip-hop fusion made up of four immensely talented and experienced musicians. Their sound is supported by a diverse range of backgrounds from each member, including the addition of jazz school training which becomes evident in a number of their songs. Yoko-Zuna provides a fresh, compelling sound that the New Zealand electronic scene hasn’t necessarily heard before.

Yoko-Zuna’s
first album, This Place Here was released in 2015 and now in 2018 their sound has not only developed but has made me excited for the future of this band.

I’m not a new fan of Yoko-Zuna, as they’ve worked with some of my personal favourite New Zealand artists such as Randa, Bailey Wiley and more recently, JessB.

This album brings a string of features with a stand out for me being from SWIDT, an Onehunga rap collective. I hoped rapper Raiza Biza would collaborate with the group sometime soon and they surely provided with Peace of Mind, bringing Bailey Wiley in to perfect the song.

Several of the songs have been released throughout this year as build up to the album, each with dynamic videos accompanying. Every video aid’s the dynamic element of not only the songs but the representation of the group themselves. Finding the place of these releases within the album gives almost a feeling of discovering the songs for the first time all over again. I hit the repeat button with no hesitation.

I can’t emphasise enough the pure energy and excitement the prologue of this album gives me. The scene is set and although that is completely up to the listener it moulds the tone of the album into itself and gives you a taste of what’s to come.

The middle of the album has harder hitting songs with a more industrial sound. Television lays down the basis for all my childhood video games, launching you into a space quest of adventurous proportions. Although Television and Voltron are parted by the sweet interlude and intro of Nortlov it’s an intentional placement for the songs, with the harmony flowing into a more drum n bass like tribute that Voltron holds.

The Midterlude brings us back down to prepare for a tasty feature on Find a Way from Ladi6. Her voice couldn’t be more welcomed on this song and this album. It was a pleasant surprise to hear her vocals flooding through the track and is most definitely a stand out moment for me on the album.

Another stand out track for me is one of their more recent single releases Energy featuring JessB and Bobandii. This was the song that had me most charged for the album and I may be biased with the featuring of JessB and I’m excited to see her doing more and more impressive tracks over the course of 2018. Bobandii’s voice adds a different component to the track and a unique flair that not so surprisingly works well on a whole.

The journey to the end of this album really begins to mellow out, the diversity of this group continues to be proven with each song. As the album rounds up my guess for a crowd favourite will be Minority as I know everyone loves a bit of orchestra, groove and beautiful voice like Noah Slee’s to bring things back down to Earth.

We revisit the prologue, rounding up the feel for the album and not letting you forget the impact of this perfectly sculptured experience.

This album may very well be a highlight of 2018 for me and while I never slept on their earlier releases I’m now going to be paying ten times more attention to the group.

Voyager is due for release on November 16, 2018.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Yoko-Zuna

Formed out of the ashes from one of Auckland’s most musically-creative hubs, Yoko-Zuna have established themselves as one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand. With their combination of unique electronic and hip-hop compositions, and a live show which is rarely bettered, Yoko-Zuna is an act with talent to burn.

With the release of their debut album, This Place Here, in 2015, Yoko-Zuna announced themselves to the greater music scene with an album showcasing a sound which hasn’t been previously seen in NZ – sub-electronic frequencies, melodic moments, and immense bass-synth-fuelled drops. The album combined Yoko-Zuna’s unique instrumental sound with some of the country’s most talented vocalists including David Dallas, Bailey Wiley and Team Dynamite, and in turn created a huge queue of willing collaborators.

Not willing to rest on their laurels, May 2016 saw Yoko-Zuna release the Luminols EP, 5 tracks which not only continues to fulfil the promise of their amazing live shows, but also show new depth and versatility to the band’s song-writing abilities. Featuring some of NZ’s biggest vocalists in P Digsss, Laughton Kora and Tom Scott, along with the fresh talents of Lukan Raisey, Heavy and Larzranda, the EP shows a band infusing the genres of electronic/hip-hop with their own inimitable sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yoko-Zuna

Releases

Voyager
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Luminols
Year: 2016
Type: EP
This Place Here
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By eidirbs

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by eidirbs
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
View All Articles By eidirbs

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem