20 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Investigator - Single Review: Livin' In A Magazine

12 Oct 2018 // A review by eidirbs

This one is definitely for any retro, old school rock fans. Adrian Drew, better known as Investigator brings us his first single Livin’ in a Magazine, as he prepares for the release of his 5 track EP this December. Adrian left his career in commercial radio and has spent the past couple of years focusing on his one true love: music.

This song is a catchy one, within the first few seconds my foot was tapping. This song has the same influences as the music I grew up listening to. This track could fit right in to the playlist for a Sunday drive with my Dad, windows down and singing along at the top of our lungs.

Adrian’s vocals are powerful and harmonise perfectly with the classic, old school guitar riffs. The drumming is simple but with addition of synth like keyboard it transforms the song in to something mesmerising and full bodied. The song builds up through the verses to its shredding guitar solos that create a nostalgic archway between chorus and verse.

Although I couldn’t note every lyric word for word, what I did hear is that the words pay homage to a rockstars take on a fling with his lover, letting her know she can do as she pleases because he’s a busy, social guy too. A very rockstar-esque topic.

This song provides the perfect taste of the talent Adrian is bringing to the plate. With my foot still tapping and this tune repeating itself in my head for the rest of the day I’m certain we’re due for a full-on retro rock fest, beginning to end.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Investigator

Investigator is the nom de plume of Adrian Drew, a singer/songwriter who has his roots dug deep in retro rock.

Turning his back on a successful career in commercial radio to pursue his first love, music, Adrian's transformation into Investigator had begun.

The past couple of years have been spent playing private functions, bars and wineries to hone his craft and test original ideas. With a unique voice and often arresting lyrics he has recently been in the studio to complete a 5 track EP, due out in December 2018.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Investigator

Releases

Livin' In A Magazine
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By eidirbs

Album Review: Congress of Animals
11 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Congress of Animals is a New Zealand supergroup bringing together wide branch of talent and friendship, mainly hailing from Wellington. The group mainly consists of Age Pryor (Founder of Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra), Nigel Collins (Actor, Playwright, Flight of the Conchords), Justin 'Firefly' Clarke (Fly My Pretties, Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra, music teacher), Ben Lemi (TrinityRoots), Bret McKenzie (Flight of the Conchords) and Deanne Krieg (Singer, Songwriter).
Read More...
Deadringer - Single/Video Review: Braindead
06 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
Deadringer is yet another band that makes me miss Wellington. The consistent influx of young people making great music and keeping the scene active is always great to see.
Read More...
French For Rabbits - Single Review: Highest Hill
05 Dec 2018 // by eidirbs
"You took my high, higher than the highest hill and then you took me low, lower than I’ve ever felt." French for Rabbits are a two-piece dream-pop band from Wellington.
Read More...
Racing - Album Review: Real Dancing
13 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Racing might as well be noted right now as an ode to everything great about the New Zealand indie music scene. With Ed Knowles and Sven Pettersen from indie rock greats, The Checks, Daniel Barrett of Sherpa and Izaak Houston of Space Creeps they are destined to create a fusion that pleases every sense of your mind, body and power upon listening.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - Double Single Review: 'Skeletons' and 'Numbers'
12 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
Sea Mouse are a Wellington trio perfecting the finely tuned blend of blues and rock. They create an audio experience that will leave listeners ears ringing for days thanks to your absolute desire to turn these songs all the way up.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Goodbye Car
03 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"You ran over my heart, I said goodbye to that car" Investigator’s solo frontman, Adrian Drew is back again this month with another new single, building up for his five track EP due for release in December of this year. The raw vocals and classic rock sound of Investigators music pay homage to the Route 66 lifestyle.
Read More...
Kaela - Single Review: Set Me Free
02 Nov 2018 // by eidirbs
"I stir within your clarity, I know you're not the one for me."Kaela is the alias of the indie-pop newcomer, Leah Navanua.
Read More...
EP Review: The DEAF EP
31 Oct 2018 // by eidirbs
If you’re feeling reminiscent of the times you let your Joy Division and New Order records be the only thing in your rotation, just wishing there were more great post-punk bands in your life then look no further. Of course, if you’re as big of a fan you’ve probably already heard of Deaf.
Read More...
View All Articles By eidirbs

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem