19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Emma G - Single/Video Review: Superhero

08 Oct 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

I have loved Emma G from the moment I first reviewed her single King For A Day in 2017. She has a powerful voice which has the ability to transcend between genres effortlessly. A strong “unapologetically outspoken” Kiwi now based in Washington DC, who is not afraid to push boundaries and break down barriers. Refreshing and bold and extremely connected to her fans, this lady is certainly finding her voice in her new homeland as she rediscovers her American heritage. Emma’s third studio release Superhero is an inspiring and powerful track about a contentious issue and is sparking not only conversations but from the looks of things, a fair bit of controversy as well.

I am going to rip straight into it. This could be rather polarising to some, emotional to others and it may spark a fierce debate for many. It is a brave move to write a song and add thought provoking images to such a political and challenging subject. As quoted by Emma “I do not pretend to understand racism as much as someone who was born and bred in the United States, however I’ve had the privilege to talk to many people about the topic since moving to Washington DC. This song specifically, was inspired by a conversation I had at Epic Tattoo Parlour in Montrose, Colorado”.

Emma delivers a strong and beautiful message through her lyrics, encouraging people to “choose love, compassion, and humanity over racism, bigotry and conflict”. Emma G is not afraid to speak up for what she believes in.

Her vocals have been described as a combination of Adele, Pink, Tracy Chapman and Alanis Morrissette. I don’t think that description is far wrong, it is certainly soulful. Refreshing and unique, the kind of voice that is memorable.

Overall sound on this track is rather upbeat and has been described as “radio friendly”. Recorded by Baltimore based producer Flightboy Music.

The music video which compliments Superhero is much like the song its self; it is not sugar coating the topic of racism. There are images of protests and rallies, real people involved in hurtful circumstances. A stark reminder that there is “increased racial conflict” in certain political environments. The video also features our lovely Emma, all the while looking her sparkling lively self, taking a no-nonsense approach to the subject at hand. As always her charismatic presence shines through.

“When the angels open their eyes. How their hearts break to realize. All of the mistakes we’ve made, at what price?. Where’s our superhero tonight?”

For me this is another stunning piece of work by Emma G. But I will encourage you to take a listen and make up your own minds.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Emma G

A combination of Adele and Pink, with Tracy Chapman as Godmother; Emma G describes her sound as soul pop-rock.

Musician, singer, songwriter, Emma G's sultry tones are punctuated with a gutsy quality that hammers home her messages of empowerment, love and respect.

After releasing eight singles, and successfully charting a number 10 album on the New Zealand Top 40 with her band, Static Era; Emma G moved to Washington DC from Auckland, New Zealand to pursue a solo career in music in November 2015. Working full time as a street performer, she also plays in various clubs, bars and community events throughout the city - and often far beyond. In the last year, she has played The Whitehouse, The Kennedy Center, The National Cherry Blossom-, and Smithsonian Folklife festivals, The Atlas Performing Arts Theater, toured California twice (including iconic music venues The Mint and The Viper Room), released two solo acoustic EP's, her debut studio single King for a Day, been featured three times on Fox5, in Washingtonian Magazine's "Best of DC" edition, and had some radio play.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emma G

Releases

Taking Flight
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem