27 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Craig Payne - Single Review: Just Like Yesterday

01 Oct 2018 // A review by Jessie Armstrong
There is nothing bad that I can say about Just Like Yesterday, the new single from Christchurch Rock musician Craig Payne - the lyrics are incredibly catchy, and the backing track is light and makes me think of road trips in Summer while listening to this.

I know Summer is little while away but with lines like “the times we had, it’s just like yesterday” I’m picking this to be my Summer song, I simply love how well the music and lyrics flow together and I believe it speaks volumes about Craig's experience as a musician. Another part I love about this single in particular is the opening itself, instantaneously I’m reminded of I Started A Joke by The Bee Gees and the comparison is nothing short of a compliment.

In a little under four minutes in length, it’s incredibly easy to just keep this song on repeat and singalong, in fact I challenge you not to. Craig Payne is definitely an artist I’m going to keep an eye on and I suggest you do the same.

Go check Just Like Yesterday out for yourself on Soundcloud.


Review written by Jessie Armstrong
 

Releases

One Night Stand
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Good News
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Black Heart
11 Nov 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
The opening track from Anxiety Club's new EP is titled Holes In My Skin, and within an instant I was in love with it and felt a connection from the first line “when the lights went out I said to myself I will never be here again”. Who among us hasn’t felt like that at some point?
Read More...
Oyawa - EP Review: The Mary Anning EP
31 Jul 2018 // by Jessie Armstrong
Oyawa is a three-piece indie/alternative band hailing from Auckland, although the members come from all over, and is made up of the collective efforts of Brett Garrity, Miles Gillett and Nikki Ngatai.  Formed in late 2011, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of Oyawa and after listening to this EP I’ll be keeping an eye out for their upcoming shows - I suggest you do the same.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem