15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza

27 Sep 2018 // A review by Shade

In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.

Estère's new track Tokoloshe, featuring Raiza Biza, articulates this perfectly.

With a heart thumping beat that surrounds you completely and is reminiscent of what you may feel during a moment of fear, Tokoloshe grabs at your throat, pounds in your head and tugs on your senses, while the video urges you to watch it until the very end creating a very real need to see every little detail.

Tokoloshe is compelling, intense and convincing. There's elements of panic and terror, yet moments of calm and restraint and it somehow all fits together faultlessly. Estere and Raiza Biza do more than just complement each other - their musical styles collide together precisely, giving Tokoloshe a polished and impeccable sound.

The video was created by 19-year-old New Zealand videographer, Connor Pritchard, and it's a superb and very effective piece of work, delivering a rich portrayal which supplements the music further. It enhances the audience's involvement with the song, giving it a deeper and more profound meaning. The fractured camera glitches and flashes of light add the ideal elements to the video, proving that even the simplest of effects can provide the greatest effect.

There is one thing that this song is guaranteed to make you do, and that is to go and check out Estère and Raiza Biza's other music, and before you know it, you'll be a fan too.


Review written by Lisa Jones

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Estère

Estère is a girl with an MPC she calls Lola. She produces all her own songs with Lola, mostly at home in her pyjamas. Estère plays/records a mixture of bass, synth, drums, guitar, vocal harmonies, keyboard, whistles, claps, kazoo, desk tapping and anything else that might take her fancy then layers her production with pulsating rhythms and evocative melodies that adhere to the genre of Electric Blue Witch hop.

Since obtaining Lola in March 2012, Estère has played a large variety of live performances in cities and festivals through-out New Zealand, Australia, South Korea and Europe. These include Jeonju International Sori Festival, Ulsan World Music Festival, Aarhus International Music Festival and Melbourne Let Them Eat Cake.

Over the last year Estère has also opened for a variety of international artists, including Erykah Badu, Morcheeba, Baths, Ikonika and KT Tunstall. In April 2014 Estère released her debut self produced album via band camp. Most of Estère's songs, including Culture Clash, Cruel Charlie, I Spy, Thoughts, Patchwork Solider, Reptilian Journey and Flash Light (feat Oddisee) have received extensive radio play on stations through-out New Zealand and have featured on various international blogs including Afro Punk, Disco Naiveté and Portals.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Estère

Releases

My Design, On Other's Lives
Year: 2018
Type: Album
My Design, Part 1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
New Species
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Estère
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018
14 Jun 2018 // by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: 'U Say'
17 Sep 2017 // by Shade
When we think of Kiwi Hard Rock bands that have shaped our musical landscape over the past 3 decades, survived devastating real life storms, re-united us with graphic memories of the same shaky ground we’ve all stood on before, and been there since the dawn of 1980’s Kiwi Hard Rock… one name does not escape. Knightshade.
Read More...
Gig Review: Wallace @ Meow, Wellington - 11/06/17
24 Jul 2017 // by Shade
With a much deprived passion for a live music experience and pushed on by a resemblance of the gigs poster to a singer of the same genre I was at Meow on Sunday night for Wallace. Unaware of the company I'd share the night with, equally anticipating hip hop heads or those on the jazz fest circuit  (it was mainly the latter), contemplating my week if I had not gone along is an existence I know I would have been poorer for.
Read More...
Cybiont Reviews
29 Aug 2010 // by Shade
Angels & Demons2010Musical Bricolage as Metaphor“You see things; and you say, 'Why?' But I dream things that never were; and I say, 'Why not?
Read More...
Eqwanox @ The Royal, PN - 12 June 2010
28 Jun 2010 // by Shade
I had the absolute pleasure of being invited along to see Eqwanox perform live at The Royal in Palmerston North on 12 June 2010, and I was more than impressed with the Waikato boys tight and epic performance. Not only were their songs inspirational, with lyrics that many of us could relate to, but what I saw that night was so compelling and memorable, I find myself wanting to tell the world about them.
Read More...
Mercury Crowe - Set Your Mind To Fly Album Review
08 Jun 2009 // by Shade
Mercury Crowe are a straight-ahead rock band. They are straight ahead, though, not in that their songs lack inventiveness or freshness, but in the sense that they clearly just want to write good tunes.
Read More...
CD Single – These Four Walls
23 Sep 2008 // by Shade
It’s hard to review a CD single as there are only a couple of songs to make your judgement on. With an album you have the luxury to get a real sense of the band and the direction that want to take you on.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem