21 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Estère - Single/Video Review: Tokoloshe with Raiza Biza

27 Sep 2018 // A review by Shade

In Zulu mythology, a Tokoloshe is a dwarf-like water sprite. It is considered a mischievous and evil spirit that is called upon by malevolent people to cause trouble for others.

Estère's new track Tokoloshe, featuring Raiza Biza, articulates this perfectly.

With a heart thumping beat that surrounds you completely and is reminiscent of what you may feel during a moment of fear, Tokoloshe grabs at your throat, pounds in your head and tugs on your senses, while the video urges you to watch it until the very end creating a very real need to see every little detail.

Tokoloshe is compelling, intense and convincing. There's elements of panic and terror, yet moments of calm and restraint and it somehow all fits together faultlessly. Estere and Raiza Biza do more than just complement each other - their musical styles collide together precisely, giving Tokoloshe a polished and impeccable sound.

The video was created by 19-year-old New Zealand videographer, Connor Pritchard, and it's a superb and very effective piece of work, delivering a rich portrayal which supplements the music further. It enhances the audience's involvement with the song, giving it a deeper and more profound meaning. The fractured camera glitches and flashes of light add the ideal elements to the video, proving that even the simplest of effects can provide the greatest effect.

There is one thing that this song is guaranteed to make you do, and that is to go and check out Estère and Raiza Biza's other music, and before you know it, you'll be a fan too.


Review written by Lisa Jones

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Estère

Estère is a girl with an MPC she calls Lola. She produces all her own songs with Lola, mostly at home in her pyjamas. Estère plays/records a mixture of bass, synth, drums, guitar, vocal harmonies, keyboard, whistles, claps, kazoo, desk tapping and anything else that might take her fancy then layers her production with pulsating rhythms and evocative melodies that adhere to the genre of Electric Blue Witch hop.

Since obtaining Lola in March 2012, Estère has played a large variety of live performances in cities and festivals through-out New Zealand, Australia, South Korea and Europe. These include Jeonju International Sori Festival, Ulsan World Music Festival, Aarhus International Music Festival and Melbourne Let Them Eat Cake.

Over the last year Estère has also opened for a variety of international artists, including Erykah Badu, Morcheeba, Baths, Ikonika and KT Tunstall. In April 2014 Estère released her debut self produced album via band camp. Most of Estère's songs, including Culture Clash, Cruel Charlie, I Spy, Thoughts, Patchwork Solider, Reptilian Journey and Flash Light (feat Oddisee) have received extensive radio play on stations through-out New Zealand and have featured on various international blogs including Afro Punk, Disco Naiveté and Portals.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Estère

Releases

My Design, On Other's Lives
Year: 2018
Type: Album
My Design, Part 1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
New Species
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Estère
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Shade

Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?
29 Jul 2019 // by Shade
There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Lost On You
19 Mar 2019 // by Shade
Some songs are simply infectious. Lost On You by Dead Favours is unquestionably one of those songs - play it enough times, and it will take up permanent residency in your mind.
Read More...
Arrays - Album Review: Wreck
13 Sep 2018 // by Shade
Wreck is the debut album from talented multi-instrumentalist JP Carroll and follows on from his 2017 EP Motives. Being released under JP's solo heavy rock project Arrays, the title Wreck says so much, yet it says so little.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Aio
27 Jul 2018 // by Shade
Aio - to be at Peace. Aio is what we strive for in our own minds, Aio is what nature is calling for and Aio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ San Fran, Wellington - 9/06/2018
14 Jun 2018 // by Shade
I have a bucket list of must-see bands, and right at the top of that list are Auckland Rockers Coridian. I'd heard so many good things about their live performances including; "Dity jumps around the stage with such energy and enthusiasm that it seems to be infectious" (here) and "Mike Raven was fizzing with energy as he carved through his set"(here), and, given what I do here at muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem