23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Social Shun - Album Review: Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins

24 Sep 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins: An experiment-like review for an experimental album.

Observations

Muffins: Warm. Fluffy. Sweet.

Hate: Cold, black, and infinite.

Hypothesis

Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins is a void of nothingness.

The positive and negative attributes of each pole will cancel each other out.

Findings

Somewhere Between Hate and Muffins is chaos. Grime and chaos. Part scuddy drum n bass from the old school of thought, you know, before Darude ruined “techno” forever by becoming Pop. Part Found-Art. Somewhere between music and harsh noise.

But I was prepared for that. I’ve fallen down this rabbit hole before. I’ve submerged myself in a bathtub and entered the mind of the beast, so to properly dissect Songs for Sea Lions. I’ve traipsed through the Garden of Sweden. I’ve mourned Harambe, the Big Gorilla.

To the enlightened observer, Social Shun is either a genius auteur, or a raving lunatic. His latest work either the ramblings of a madman, or a magnum opus from a higher level of human intellect. Perhaps it is somewhere in between. A baked good with a boot print.

To the majority, the Spotify generation who gave their freedom away for a monthly subscription, this album is going to be an unlistenable mess. But they can’t hear that beneath the distortion, there is structure, effort and thought. Their mainstream has conditioned them not to listen.

I’ve seen the real Social Shun, or at least a mirage of the man. Because I’ve been there. They’re just an artist with a day job, someone that wants their songs to be heard. Held back by the bouncer-like gatekeepers of stardom because their artistic vision doesn’t fit into the Capitalistic model of the arts.

Since they’re excluded from that exclusive society, they continue doing what they do, without the “coaching” of the creative criticism that comes with listenership. No one can teach you how to be more mainstream if no one is listening, right? And if no one is listening, why bother reaching for the unattainable model of perfection? Why not just do what feels good?

It’s hard not to make a personal record when you’re potentially only making it for yourself as escapism from the mundane, yet SBH&M feels like a more personal album. Perhaps it’s because this time it isn’t made for the consumption of ocean wildlife. Perhaps it’s the choice of Found-Art segues – the literal ramblings of a madman discussing rebates, the child reciting rhyme, Social Shun describing their creative process over a filthy beat, begging to be heard.

I heard you, big guy. Here’s your creative criticism. Keep doing it. Continue the experiment. You represent the ground level of musicianship. Unrefined, but also untainted by the industry. You may never get famous, but you’re doing your own thing, and others aren’t always going to understand. But it was never for them, was it? If it were, I’d be hearing Pop music out of you, and then I wouldn’t be listening.

2/5 stars from the industry. 5/5 stars from me, for not being part of it, and not giving me the same recycled rubbish to review.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Social Shun

Social Shun became official after releasing tracks on Reverbnation in 2011 but He has been mucking round with music software and instruments for nine years.

Social Shun is a solo project and was made to release pain, stress, anger, boredom and frustration of day to day living in a positive creative way. The straight forward approach to music and lyrics is key, Promoting honesty and freedom of speech in a raw, direct, in your face fashion. Not shackled to one Genre Social Shun infuses many different aspects and vibes of music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Social Shun

Releases

Songs For Sea Lions
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Big Gorilla
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Garden Of Sweden
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem