19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Don McGlashan - Gig Review: Don McGlashan @ Totara St, Mount Maunganui - 20/09/2018

23 Sep 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Don McGlashan has a voice which is instantly recognisable to many Kiwis, formerly from bands such as The Mutton Birds, Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn and The Bellbirds among others. He is a talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer who has now gone solo and is wowing crowds up and down the country with his Free Flight tour.


It was a Thursday night in Tauranga, yet he managed to pack out Totara St, both levels. There were rows of chairs across the entire venue, doing away with the dance floor. This was a good indication that the people who came to see him play were serious about his music and were there to listen and listen they did, at one point he even had to tell the crowd that it was ok to move to go to the bar. No one seemed to want to miss a moment of his performance.

Don was supported by Arthur Ahbez, who delighted us with lyrically beautiful and poetic lyrics. Folk music incorporating acoustic guitars and harmonica and a delightful and impressive vocal range. Occasionally through his set I was reminded of Neil Young. Although there were a few murmurings from the crowd as he played, they seemed to admire his talent and he received a rousing round of appreciation at the end. His voice is uniquely different, his songwriting impressive. The Moisturiser song went down a treat with the audience.

After a short interval, Don hit the stage with no preamble except for a "how's it going?" to the audience. He launched straight into it with that voice which was so familiar to me, that it was almost surreal sitting in a front row at Totora St listening to him play live.

Hold On To Your Loneliness, the second song of his set cemented what a brilliant story teller he is. He informed the crowd that he was going to “play a bunch of songs he felt like doing” but then asked the audience to call out requests which he proceeded to honour throughout the night. This was the first indication of how crowd participation is an integral part of his show.

McGlashan is a master of the loop pedal and Bad Blood highlighted this when he had the audience hum a few lines. It actually sounded brilliant played back and added another depth to the song. Looking around I could see people were rather impressed. He recorded the audience several times that night to incorporate into his set. A true charismatic performer who includes his audience not just play to them. His sense of humour and wit added to his impressive stage presence. For one man, he sure filled up the stage with the sound of a full-blown band.

It was around five songs in when he produced the French Horn. So, what we had was the incredible sound of brass added in the mix. It was nothing short of brilliant. Next came the keyboard.

I would also like at stage to point out that it was probably the cleanest sound I have ever heard at Totara St. Crisp and clear, big ups to the sound tech on the night.

Song For Sue is a song only a few weeks old, McGlashan wrote it for a friend who passed away. It was touching and heartfelt, a beautiful tribute to someone close to his heart, you could see and feel the emotion when he performed this for us.

He then moved onto a Mutton Bird classic In My Room, and people started singing along. The faint cries of Anchor Me rang out across the room. He assured the audience it was coming, we just didn't know when.

There was more recording of the audience's vocals when he played The Heater, a song I had not heard before about Frank and his talking heater. I suspect whoever Frank was, was perhaps taking an illegal substance, I have so many questions surrounding Frank and his heater.

Lucky Stars, I will Not Let You Down and While You Sleep came next. More exceptional stories delivered beautifully.

Impressive recording and playback of the French Horn created a song of many layers and a full sound in a rendition of A Thing Well Made by The Mutton Birds. The crowd is now crying out for Dominion Road and Anchor Me.

At this point of the evening Don mentions he has tea towels for merch with ducks on them. I have never come across that before, but sure makes for an original talking point.

Along The Boundary is a song about a song he had in his head when he was five years old. The lyrics had a youthful sense of innocence.

We were getting to the tail end of the evening and still no Anchor Me but Pulled Along By Love got the audience going and I am pretty sure everyone was singing. I was so mesmerized watching him that I almost forgot to sing, all the while trying to store information in my memory bank to recall later, so when Dominion Road came next I sang along to the whole thing. That was the final song in his set. Hang on a minute didn't you forget something Mr McGlashan?

We all know that there is always an encore, and after a minute of composing himself off stage, Don returned and proceeded to ask the crowd what they wanted him to sing. There were many different songs thrown at him and cries stating the obvious one. However, he chose to sing a song called White Valiant. It was great, but it was not my all-time favourite Kiwi song, it wasn't the song that I have happily played over and over again through various stages of my life. And then the first chords of Anchor Me rang out into the audience. Full fathom five. Someday I'll lie. Singing songs that come. From dead men's tongues.

Everybody was singing, we all knew the words to such a New Zealand music classic. I think my eyes actually welled up at the sense of occasion and beauty of the moment. Don McGlashan delivered a faultless rendition on the keyboard, offering a perfect finish to a wonderful evening of music.

This was a performance I was glad not to have missed, the night from start to finish was wonderfully entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable. I definitely give this a five-tea towel rating.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Don McGlashan

Don McGlashan is one of New Zealand’s best known and highly regarded songwriters.

Don was a member of Philip Dadson’s From Scratch music/performance art group from 1979-86. The group performed worldwide and Don helped record three albums while a member.

In 1980, with guitarist Mark Bell and bassist Tim Mahon, he formed Auckland band Blam Blam Blam. His song Don't Fight It, Marsha, It’s Bigger Than Both of Us was named 'Song of the Year' in the 1982 New Zealand Recording Industry Awards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Don McGlashan

Releases

Lucky Stars
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Marvellous Year
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Warm Hand
Year: 2006
Type: Album
An Angel At My Table OST
Year: 1991
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem