16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take

20 Sep 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .

Rodney Fisher has been around for a while through various incarnations, the alternative pop-rock phase of Goodshirt through to the alt-folk music of his solo career and now Indie-groove, slacker-pop. Once I had cemented in my mind what slacker-pop is (much research leading me to some very interesting indie bands), I got my helping of mixed vege. It was a tasty surprise.

You may feel like you have been transported back to early 2002 when Goodshirt was in fine form and The Feelers gave us Communicate. Take Take Take has a sentimental sound about it. Described as “bumbling fuzzy guitars” a dirty grungy sound which gives you goose bumps and adds serious depth and warmth to the track. Brother Murray Fisher (Goodshirt, Voom) also helped with production to create a dynamic sound.

Vocals from Rodney transported me back to Sophie. Like a long-lost friend, I hadn’t heard from in a while. Familiar but not the same.

The video was filmed entirely by Fisher, a whimsical DIY clip involving ducks and dragons. Interesting angles and selfie style shots with some creative editing make for interesting and entertaining viewing. The video is a reflection of the song which is about struggling with your identity and rebelling against what you feel people want you to be. It has the Indie look and feel about it, which makes it all work. The more you watch the visuals for Take Take Take, the more it makes sense. Somehow it wouldn’t have been the same had it been a polished all “song and dance” production. It is real and raw and made me feel connected to the song. I also love ducks and dragons.

It is a fun music video with a serious message. To quote “brings to the surface the playful surreality of the everyday mundane”. This is a vivacious track with distorted guitar and an alternative pop sound surrounding meaningful lyrics. Mixed Vege is indeed delicious.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mixed Vege

The latest venture from Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mixed Vege

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mixed Vege.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem