24 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take

20 Sep 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .

Rodney Fisher has been around for a while through various incarnations, the alternative pop-rock phase of Goodshirt through to the alt-folk music of his solo career and now Indie-groove, slacker-pop. Once I had cemented in my mind what slacker-pop is (much research leading me to some very interesting indie bands), I got my helping of mixed vege. It was a tasty surprise.

You may feel like you have been transported back to early 2002 when Goodshirt was in fine form and The Feelers gave us Communicate. Take Take Take has a sentimental sound about it. Described as “bumbling fuzzy guitars” a dirty grungy sound which gives you goose bumps and adds serious depth and warmth to the track. Brother Murray Fisher (Goodshirt, Voom) also helped with production to create a dynamic sound.

Vocals from Rodney transported me back to Sophie. Like a long-lost friend, I hadn’t heard from in a while. Familiar but not the same.

The video was filmed entirely by Fisher, a whimsical DIY clip involving ducks and dragons. Interesting angles and selfie style shots with some creative editing make for interesting and entertaining viewing. The video is a reflection of the song which is about struggling with your identity and rebelling against what you feel people want you to be. It has the Indie look and feel about it, which makes it all work. The more you watch the visuals for Take Take Take, the more it makes sense. Somehow it wouldn’t have been the same had it been a polished all “song and dance” production. It is real and raw and made me feel connected to the song. I also love ducks and dragons.

It is a fun music video with a serious message. To quote “brings to the surface the playful surreality of the everyday mundane”. This is a vivacious track with distorted guitar and an alternative pop sound surrounding meaningful lyrics. Mixed Vege is indeed delicious.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mixed Vege

The latest venture from Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mixed Vege

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mixed Vege.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem