27 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take

20 Sep 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .

Rodney Fisher has been around for a while through various incarnations, the alternative pop-rock phase of Goodshirt through to the alt-folk music of his solo career and now Indie-groove, slacker-pop. Once I had cemented in my mind what slacker-pop is (much research leading me to some very interesting indie bands), I got my helping of mixed vege. It was a tasty surprise.

You may feel like you have been transported back to early 2002 when Goodshirt was in fine form and The Feelers gave us Communicate. Take Take Take has a sentimental sound about it. Described as “bumbling fuzzy guitars” a dirty grungy sound which gives you goose bumps and adds serious depth and warmth to the track. Brother Murray Fisher (Goodshirt, Voom) also helped with production to create a dynamic sound.

Vocals from Rodney transported me back to Sophie. Like a long-lost friend, I hadn’t heard from in a while. Familiar but not the same.

The video was filmed entirely by Fisher, a whimsical DIY clip involving ducks and dragons. Interesting angles and selfie style shots with some creative editing make for interesting and entertaining viewing. The video is a reflection of the song which is about struggling with your identity and rebelling against what you feel people want you to be. It has the Indie look and feel about it, which makes it all work. The more you watch the visuals for Take Take Take, the more it makes sense. Somehow it wouldn’t have been the same had it been a polished all “song and dance” production. It is real and raw and made me feel connected to the song. I also love ducks and dragons.

It is a fun music video with a serious message. To quote “brings to the surface the playful surreality of the everyday mundane”. This is a vivacious track with distorted guitar and an alternative pop sound surrounding meaningful lyrics. Mixed Vege is indeed delicious.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mixed Vege

The latest venture from Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mixed Vege

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mixed Vege.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem