27 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mixed Vege - Single/Video Review: Take Take Take

20 Sep 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mixed Vege is an Auckland based band fronted by Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher. They have just released their debut single Take Take Take .

Rodney Fisher has been around for a while through various incarnations, the alternative pop-rock phase of Goodshirt through to the alt-folk music of his solo career and now Indie-groove, slacker-pop. Once I had cemented in my mind what slacker-pop is (much research leading me to some very interesting indie bands), I got my helping of mixed vege. It was a tasty surprise.

You may feel like you have been transported back to early 2002 when Goodshirt was in fine form and The Feelers gave us Communicate. Take Take Take has a sentimental sound about it. Described as “bumbling fuzzy guitars” a dirty grungy sound which gives you goose bumps and adds serious depth and warmth to the track. Brother Murray Fisher (Goodshirt, Voom) also helped with production to create a dynamic sound.

Vocals from Rodney transported me back to Sophie. Like a long-lost friend, I hadn’t heard from in a while. Familiar but not the same.

The video was filmed entirely by Fisher, a whimsical DIY clip involving ducks and dragons. Interesting angles and selfie style shots with some creative editing make for interesting and entertaining viewing. The video is a reflection of the song which is about struggling with your identity and rebelling against what you feel people want you to be. It has the Indie look and feel about it, which makes it all work. The more you watch the visuals for Take Take Take, the more it makes sense. Somehow it wouldn’t have been the same had it been a polished all “song and dance” production. It is real and raw and made me feel connected to the song. I also love ducks and dragons.

It is a fun music video with a serious message. To quote “brings to the surface the playful surreality of the everyday mundane”. This is a vivacious track with distorted guitar and an alternative pop sound surrounding meaningful lyrics. Mixed Vege is indeed delicious.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mixed Vege

The latest venture from Goodshirt’s Rodney Fisher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mixed Vege

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mixed Vege.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem