14 Nov 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018

18 Sep 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys. It also helped that Gaz Coombes had a great and instantly recognisable voice as well as some awesome sideburns.

Gaz Coombes has recently become the soundtrack to my Sunday mornings. He no longer provides the heady blasts of Caught By The Fuzz but like many artists who continue to be relevant, his latest offerings show a more developed and considered approach to songwriting.

The mellower vibe kind of reminds me what Radiohead might sound like now had they not mutated into rampant keyboard fiddlers. Tonight, I doubt we are going to get the guitar melting sonics of Richard III but let’s see how the musical backdrop to my Sunday morning translates into this intimate NZ performance.

First up though it is Samuel Flynn Scott from The Phoenix Foundation kicking off proceedings. His set of lounge room friendly introspective well-crafted folk-tinged tales set a chilled-out vibe that makes this smallish venue feel even more intimate.

It's a hypnotic performance for those in the audience who do connect, and we are treated to music that is as beautiful in its simplicity as it is poignant in its lyrics.

The venue is packed as Gaz Coombes enters the stage. He gets straight down to business and as soon as those vocals start to soar the crowd is hooked.

He is surrounded by multiple guitars, loops a keyboard and a sampler which he has named Veronica. In between songs taken from his solo albums we are given stories about their creation. Apparently, he takes Veronica around his house recording noises then plays along just to see what comes out.

It’s an insight into his creativity. In their heyday, Supergrass avoided moving to London and carried on creating in their own space. Gaz has taken that process one step further as a solo artist and hearing these songs played live reminds me why everyone should go to gigs.

The songs transform with the passion in his voice, the energy of their deliverance. There are multiple guitar changes, but the performance is faultless and never boring. He seems completely at ease and each song takes you further into his world.

One over-enthusiastic Supergrass fan who gives multiple in between shout-outs for Supergrass songs is rebutted with “someone buy this man a Supergrass greatest hits album” and another fan sums up the night perfectly when she shouts “Gaz you are sooooo good” which gathers a huge round of applause.

Many gigs can be a bit forgettable. This isn’t one. There are moments where I am lost in the songs, the voice. During the encore we are treated to early Supergrass hits Moving and the aforementioned Caught By The Fuzz but for me, the 60 mins that went before was the highlight of the night.

This performance has given these songs new meaning for me. My Sunday mornings will never be the same again. They will be linked to memories of this night.

Thank you, Mr Coombes you are very, very good.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photos courtesy of Ambient Light (Photographer: Megs Moss) 





 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018
29 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected.
Read More...
EP Review: Ghost Who Walks
21 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
This debut EP from Wellington’s Ghost Who Walks comes hot on the electro-plasmic coat tails of the latest single released, Walking Talking Blues. Vertigo is the opener here and is a blues 'n' funk-tinged blast with more than a hint of soul that will get you dancing.
Read More...
Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Paul Goddard
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Paul Goddard
My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign?
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem