20 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018

18 Sep 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys. It also helped that Gaz Coombes had a great and instantly recognisable voice as well as some awesome sideburns.

Gaz Coombes has recently become the soundtrack to my Sunday mornings. He no longer provides the heady blasts of Caught By The Fuzz but like many artists who continue to be relevant, his latest offerings show a more developed and considered approach to songwriting.

The mellower vibe kind of reminds me what Radiohead might sound like now had they not mutated into rampant keyboard fiddlers. Tonight, I doubt we are going to get the guitar melting sonics of Richard III but let’s see how the musical backdrop to my Sunday morning translates into this intimate NZ performance.

First up though it is Samuel Flynn Scott from The Phoenix Foundation kicking off proceedings. His set of lounge room friendly introspective well-crafted folk-tinged tales set a chilled-out vibe that makes this smallish venue feel even more intimate.

It's a hypnotic performance for those in the audience who do connect, and we are treated to music that is as beautiful in its simplicity as it is poignant in its lyrics.

The venue is packed as Gaz Coombes enters the stage. He gets straight down to business and as soon as those vocals start to soar the crowd is hooked.

He is surrounded by multiple guitars, loops a keyboard and a sampler which he has named Veronica. In between songs taken from his solo albums we are given stories about their creation. Apparently, he takes Veronica around his house recording noises then plays along just to see what comes out.

It’s an insight into his creativity. In their heyday, Supergrass avoided moving to London and carried on creating in their own space. Gaz has taken that process one step further as a solo artist and hearing these songs played live reminds me why everyone should go to gigs.

The songs transform with the passion in his voice, the energy of their deliverance. There are multiple guitar changes, but the performance is faultless and never boring. He seems completely at ease and each song takes you further into his world.

One over-enthusiastic Supergrass fan who gives multiple in between shout-outs for Supergrass songs is rebutted with “someone buy this man a Supergrass greatest hits album” and another fan sums up the night perfectly when she shouts “Gaz you are sooooo good” which gathers a huge round of applause.

Many gigs can be a bit forgettable. This isn’t one. There are moments where I am lost in the songs, the voice. During the encore we are treated to early Supergrass hits Moving and the aforementioned Caught By The Fuzz but for me, the 60 mins that went before was the highlight of the night.

This performance has given these songs new meaning for me. My Sunday mornings will never be the same again. They will be linked to memories of this night.

Thank you, Mr Coombes you are very, very good.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photos courtesy of Ambient Light (Photographer: Megs Moss) 





 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem