21 Jan 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018

18 Sep 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys. It also helped that Gaz Coombes had a great and instantly recognisable voice as well as some awesome sideburns.

Gaz Coombes has recently become the soundtrack to my Sunday mornings. He no longer provides the heady blasts of Caught By The Fuzz but like many artists who continue to be relevant, his latest offerings show a more developed and considered approach to songwriting.

The mellower vibe kind of reminds me what Radiohead might sound like now had they not mutated into rampant keyboard fiddlers. Tonight, I doubt we are going to get the guitar melting sonics of Richard III but let’s see how the musical backdrop to my Sunday morning translates into this intimate NZ performance.

First up though it is Samuel Flynn Scott from The Phoenix Foundation kicking off proceedings. His set of lounge room friendly introspective well-crafted folk-tinged tales set a chilled-out vibe that makes this smallish venue feel even more intimate.

It's a hypnotic performance for those in the audience who do connect, and we are treated to music that is as beautiful in its simplicity as it is poignant in its lyrics.

The venue is packed as Gaz Coombes enters the stage. He gets straight down to business and as soon as those vocals start to soar the crowd is hooked.

He is surrounded by multiple guitars, loops a keyboard and a sampler which he has named Veronica. In between songs taken from his solo albums we are given stories about their creation. Apparently, he takes Veronica around his house recording noises then plays along just to see what comes out.

It’s an insight into his creativity. In their heyday, Supergrass avoided moving to London and carried on creating in their own space. Gaz has taken that process one step further as a solo artist and hearing these songs played live reminds me why everyone should go to gigs.

The songs transform with the passion in his voice, the energy of their deliverance. There are multiple guitar changes, but the performance is faultless and never boring. He seems completely at ease and each song takes you further into his world.

One over-enthusiastic Supergrass fan who gives multiple in between shout-outs for Supergrass songs is rebutted with “someone buy this man a Supergrass greatest hits album” and another fan sums up the night perfectly when she shouts “Gaz you are sooooo good” which gathers a huge round of applause.

Many gigs can be a bit forgettable. This isn’t one. There are moments where I am lost in the songs, the voice. During the encore we are treated to early Supergrass hits Moving and the aforementioned Caught By The Fuzz but for me, the 60 mins that went before was the highlight of the night.

This performance has given these songs new meaning for me. My Sunday mornings will never be the same again. They will be linked to memories of this night.

Thank you, Mr Coombes you are very, very good.


Review written by Paul Goddard
Photos courtesy of Ambient Light (Photographer: Megs Moss) 





 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Gig Review: Idles with Miss June @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/01/2019
21 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I first came across Idles around 6 months ago. A good friend of mine in the UK posted something on Facebook along the lines of “I have come late to the Idles party but fucking hell....
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: The Journey
13 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Wow, where did this beauty come from?Just 66 likes on Ben Ruegg’s Facebook page and little all else to go on.
Read More...
EP Review: Investigator
13 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I love those old Seventies cops showsThe ones like 'Starsky and Hutch' or 'The Sweeney', and more recently the retro loving politically incorrect 'Life on Mars'. The thing with these shows is they are more memorable for the banter and chemistry between the players than any actual cases or crimes being solved.
Read More...
EP Review: Gravel Pit
03 Jan 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Speed...... the faster you go, the harder the hit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Twenty One Pilots @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 21/12/2018
22 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
The last time Twenty One Pilots came to Auckland I wasn’t sure what to expect. Although I enjoyed their music it wasn’t something, I was rushing out to buy.
Read More...
Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem