22 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Same Name Confusion - Single Review: My Plastic Baby

13 Sep 2018 // A review by butch181

My Plastic Baby is an incredibly preppy track from Same Name Confusion. An incredibly upbeat song, with an 80’s pop-rock vibe. With multiple vocal styles in the track, the contrasting methods create an almost punk style of melody.

A straightforward track, with some modest fast-strummed rhythm guitar, enjoyable melodic harmonies on the lead, and some nominal hi-hat drum arrangements. Almost working entirely on the treble side of the musical spectrum, My Plastic Baby lacks any volume, but in its place is a positive fun-loving vibe that will translate incredibly well to the live performances.

Lyrically speaking, the topic has a Flight of The Conchords feel to it, discussing why anyone would have a real baby, as opposed to a plastic baby that involves no care or attention. Quirky and unique in content, My Plastic Baby is playful and injects humour effectively to create a catchy track.


Review written by Alex Moulton

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Same Name Confusion

My 2018 begun with a post-uni move from Christchurch to Wellington. A fresh faced (and music mad) marketing graduate, I had no idea that SNC were planning to make the exact same migration. By February I found myself flatting in the room next door to Luke and Andrej and by March I was introducing myself as their media & marketing manager. I'm actually being paid on a commission basis ($1 per Facebook like) so if you haven't already, help a dreamer out.

Living in such close proximity to the band has it's pros and cons;
On one hand band practice twice a week means I know all the lyrics to every song, plus I get to hear new material before anyone else (be jealous). Then on the other hand, I do find myself in some discomfort when the boys have creative disagreements late at night, which can be heard through the paper-thin walls.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Same Name Confusion

Releases

There are no releases to display for Same Name Confusion.

Other Reviews By butch181

Sonic Altar - Album Review: Under A Dying Sun
27 Mar 2019 // by butch181
In this digital age, it’s not often that you get a full length record anymore. Everything is short and sweet just to get content out there before fans forget your band even exists.
Read More...
Levi Sesega - Single Review: Mirror Man
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
Levi is a musical amalgamation that would in most cases be categorised as folk, thanks to the groups' uncommon mix of instruments consisting of a saxophone, cello, and cajón, and a lack of a drum kit or electric instruments. That being said, Mirror Man has something unique.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Little Mouse
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
Little Mouse is the first single from Bad Alien, the upcoming sophomore album of three-piece alt-rock act The Gemini Effect. With some nice consistent snare work, the track jumps right off the bat with a great organic sense of rhythm that has you bobbing your head and tapping your foot along with the beat, accentuated by some gritty power chords.
Read More...
Mermaidens - Single Review: You Maintain The Stain
17 Mar 2019 // by butch181
The latest release from Wellington trio Mermaidens is a straight up middle finger to the powers that control the world and throws away the mainstream formula of verse/chorus patterns, instead, forming a self-righteous maelstrom of sonic environments.  With no warning given, You Maintain The Stain gets straight into cold, apathetic vocals alongside a pluggy bassline, until the guitar jumps in with an uncomfortable level of discord that sows the seeds of uneasiness in the pit of your stomach as if every instrument is performing a different song.
Read More...
Paper Cranes - Album Review: Voices
19 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Due for release January 18, 2019, Voices is the second full-length album from Indie Folk duo Paper Cranes. While comprised of ten tracks, the album has a short overall runtime of just over 35 minutes.
Read More...
This Pale Fire - Single Review: Float Out
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Float Out is about the process of letting things go, moving forward, learning from your past experiences, growing as a result. As such, the track has an intrinsically emotional weight to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Miller Yule Live
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Miller Yule Live is a good length EP, consisting of seven tracks with a total runtime of over 30 minutes. Performing a setlist that is mostly sourced from his 2016 EP Shoot Me In The Heart (reviewed here), Miller Yule has also added in his single Diamonds (released in November 2017 and reviewed here), a stripped down adaptation of Six60's Don't Give It Up, and a new track to spice it up further.
Read More...
Mako Road - EP Review: Local Safari
10 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Local Safari is the latest release from Christchurch Indie group Mako Road The four-piece provide a very laid-back and relaxed (albeit short) EP as we enter the prime summer road tripping season.The EP begins with its titular track Local Safari, with some pleasant keys and a generally unhurried pace, controlled by a simple hi hat and snare drum combo.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem