18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Same Name Confusion - Single Review: My Plastic Baby

13 Sep 2018 // A review by butch181

My Plastic Baby is an incredibly preppy track from Same Name Confusion. An incredibly upbeat song, with an 80’s pop-rock vibe. With multiple vocal styles in the track, the contrasting methods create an almost punk style of melody.

A straightforward track, with some modest fast-strummed rhythm guitar, enjoyable melodic harmonies on the lead, and some nominal hi-hat drum arrangements. Almost working entirely on the treble side of the musical spectrum, My Plastic Baby lacks any volume, but in its place is a positive fun-loving vibe that will translate incredibly well to the live performances.

Lyrically speaking, the topic has a Flight of The Conchords feel to it, discussing why anyone would have a real baby, as opposed to a plastic baby that involves no care or attention. Quirky and unique in content, My Plastic Baby is playful and injects humour effectively to create a catchy track.


Review written by Alex Moulton

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Same Name Confusion

My 2018 begun with a post-uni move from Christchurch to Wellington. A fresh faced (and music mad) marketing graduate, I had no idea that SNC were planning to make the exact same migration. By February I found myself flatting in the room next door to Luke and Andrej and by March I was introducing myself as their media & marketing manager. I'm actually being paid on a commission basis ($1 per Facebook like) so if you haven't already, help a dreamer out.

Living in such close proximity to the band has it's pros and cons;
On one hand band practice twice a week means I know all the lyrics to every song, plus I get to hear new material before anyone else (be jealous). Then on the other hand, I do find myself in some discomfort when the boys have creative disagreements late at night, which can be heard through the paper-thin walls.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Same Name Confusion

Releases

There are no releases to display for Same Name Confusion.

Other Reviews By butch181

Paper Cranes - Album Review: Voices
19 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Due for release January 18, 2019, Voices is the second full-length album from Indie Folk duo Paper Cranes. While comprised of ten tracks, the album has a short overall runtime of just over 35 minutes.
Read More...
This Pale Fire - Single Review: Float Out
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Float Out is about the process of letting things go, moving forward, learning from your past experiences, growing as a result. As such, the track has an intrinsically emotional weight to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Miller Yule Live
17 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Miller Yule Live is a good length EP, consisting of seven tracks with a total runtime of over 30 minutes. Performing a setlist that is mostly sourced from his 2016 EP Shoot Me In The Heart (reviewed here), Miller Yule has also added in his single Diamonds (released in November 2017 and reviewed here), a stripped down adaptation of Six60's Don't Give It Up, and a new track to spice it up further.
Read More...
Mako Road - EP Review: Local Safari
10 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Local Safari is the latest release from Christchurch Indie group Mako Road The four-piece provide a very laid-back and relaxed (albeit short) EP as we enter the prime summer road tripping season.The EP begins with its titular track Local Safari, with some pleasant keys and a generally unhurried pace, controlled by a simple hi hat and snare drum combo.
Read More...
Kerretta - Single Review: Chroma Queens
10 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Chroma Queens is the first single from upcoming LP release Exiscens (due for release on December 14), which is the first release from Auckland experimental rock act Kerretta for over four years. The band are comprised of bass player William Waters; drummer H.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ghost Who Walks @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/11/2018
06 Dec 2018 // by butch181
Cheers and squeals are let out around Auckland’s Anthology Lounge as The Rubics take to the stage. The six-piece group have been working on making a name for themselves as the groove-makers of the Auckland scene, and from the sound of the audience, they know exactly what they are in for.
Read More...
Gig Review: 2Cellos @The Civic, Auckland - 3/12/2018
04 Dec 2018 // by butch181
People were abuzz as they filed into The Civic to get to their seats. Many eyes were enjoying the venue itself as one of Auckland’s last remaining atmospheric theatres, with its soft-top design that floats above the auditorium, with stars and clouds that recreate the Southern Hemisphere sky-scape.
Read More...
Lisa Crawley - Single/Video Review: Baby It's Fine
30 Nov 2018 // by butch181
Lisa Crawley’s latest single Baby It’s Fine is a delightfully unhurried and soulful pop track. Starting with a slow strum of the guitar and an almost acoustic vibe to the bass, there is a slow melancholic edge to the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem