23 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Same Name Confusion - Single Review: My Plastic Baby

13 Sep 2018 // A review by Alex Moulton

My Plastic Baby is an incredibly preppy track from Same Name Confusion. An incredibly upbeat song, with an 80’s pop-rock vibe. With multiple vocal styles in the track, the contrasting methods create an almost punk style of melody.

A straightforward track, with some modest fast-strummed rhythm guitar, enjoyable melodic harmonies on the lead, and some nominal hi-hat drum arrangements. Almost working entirely on the treble side of the musical spectrum, My Plastic Baby lacks any volume, but in its place is a positive fun-loving vibe that will translate incredibly well to the live performances.

Lyrically speaking, the topic has a Flight of The Conchords feel to it, discussing why anyone would have a real baby, as opposed to a plastic baby that involves no care or attention. Quirky and unique in content, My Plastic Baby is playful and injects humour effectively to create a catchy track.


Review written by Alex Moulton

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Same Name Confusion

My 2018 begun with a post-uni move from Christchurch to Wellington. A fresh faced (and music mad) marketing graduate, I had no idea that SNC were planning to make the exact same migration. By February I found myself flatting in the room next door to Luke and Andrej and by March I was introducing myself as their media & marketing manager. I'm actually being paid on a commission basis ($1 per Facebook like) so if you haven't already, help a dreamer out.

Living in such close proximity to the band has it's pros and cons;
On one hand band practice twice a week means I know all the lyrics to every song, plus I get to hear new material before anyone else (be jealous). Then on the other hand, I do find myself in some discomfort when the boys have creative disagreements late at night, which can be heard through the paper-thin walls.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Same Name Confusion

Releases

There are no releases to display for Same Name Confusion.

Other Reviews By Alex Moulton

Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Seek A New Day
20 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
The latest offering from New Plymouth five-piece Laconic Zephyr, Seek A New Day, is an oddly mixed track.The track is a slow builder that doesn't quite pay off in the long run.
Read More...
Lookin Up - Single Review: Don't
20 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Don't is the latest release from Auckland punk 3-piece Lookin Up, and it is gritty and heavily distorted. Starting with a riff that is heavily reminiscent to vibe of KoRN's Right Now, Don't emerges into a surprisingly melodic track despite the heaviness.
Read More...
Strangely Arousing - Single Review: Ladeda
20 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Ladeda is the latest single from Strangely Arousing due for release on September 28th and is a tranquil piece; cruising and comfortable. Right from the start of the track the vocals are the focal point, with lead singer Lukas Wharekura pulling off a variety of sounds; initially having the gritty crooning vocal styling of Rod Stewart before transitioning through a John Mayer sound, until finding his tone for the remainder of the track in something reminiscent of the style of Arctic Monkeys vocalist, Alex Turner.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Altitude, Hamilton
14 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Two hours before the doors officially opened, fans were lining up outside of Hamilton’s Altitude Bar. Some already waiting for the 8pm doors opening, but most there for the VIP experience; getting into the venue early and receiving VIP lanyards, posters and a meet and greet with the band.
Read More...
Pacific Heights - Album Review: A Lost Light
13 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
A Lost Light is the Pacific Heights album I have been intrigued about ever since I reviewing The Greystone; a single that I described as having “a relaxing, tranquil tone that makes the body want to move gracefully and simultaneously sink into a mass of blankets”. As such, The Greystone is the opening track, which leaves the remainder of the album as exciting, unknown territory.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Just For The Night
13 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Just For The Night is the first single to be released in the lead up to the release of Kong Fooey’s second album Feel The Love. Well and truly moving away from the soul and hip-hop specific themes of his debut album, Final Destination, producer Jason Peters has maintained a level of funk while exploring a more pop-infused electronic style of music.
Read More...
Tommie - Single Review: Better
12 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Better is first single from electronic pop artist Tommie, a teaser of what to expect from the forthcoming debut EP Bleach. Providing a simple beat and repeated instrumental riffs, Better places all focus on the vocals on Tommie.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fables @ The Wine Cellar, Auckland
11 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Stepping through the door of Auckland’s Wine Cellar, I was caught off-guard. Gone was the empty floor space and in its place were several rows of seats, already nearly full with what looks like a number of friends and family.
Read More...
View All Articles By Alex Moulton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem