17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Bob Dylan @ Horncastle Arena, Christchurch - 28/08/2018

29 Aug 2018 // A review by Jacquie Walters

“Expectation is the mother of crisis” as my father is fond of saying. Perhaps no performer visiting New Zealand of late has had the weight of expectation more firmly foisted upon him than Bob Dylan.

My father is a contemporary of Dylan and first saw his hero perform at Madison Square Garden in New York in the 1970's, so I couldn’t wait to hear what he thought of the now 77-year-old singer-songwriter four decades on. “Fascinating”, he said, as we both sat shedding a tear listening as our personal favourite Don’t Think Twice was revisited, repolished, and delivered to the attentive and appreciative crowd at Christchurch’s Horncastle Arena.

Dylan’s Christchurch concert was a triumph. We knew we were in for something special from the opening acoustic guitar intro which began the event without fanfare. What followed was a polished two-hour long set featuring plenty of Dylan’s most well-known tracks, such as Tangled Up In Blue and Ballad of a Thin Man – all of them reimagined and reinvented.

It took the audience a little while to recognise their favourites at times, but the act of requiring all of us to pay attention and listen anew breathed life into the material in a way I couldn’t previously have imagined. I genuinely felt like I was hearing Blowin' In the Wind for the first time.

Bob Dylan sat and stood at the piano to play for the majority of the concert, allowing the audience to see his wry smile as he delivered lines such as “I used to care but things have changed” from his 2006 Academy Award winning song Things Have Changed. We were then back in 1964 for a very cool version of It Ain’t Me Babe, spoken at times with a gravelly purr and informed by decades of experience of the ebb and flow of relationships. Alternating mellow and rockier numbers Dylan and the band had fun with tracks such as Highway 61, Dylan adopting a legs spread pose standing at the piano.

Accompanied by a band of very accomplished musicians, Dylan gave the Christchurch audience his energy and commitment as he launched into song after song at a cracking pace. He was very much the band leader guiding transitions with the whole group looking every inch the part - the band in matching black jackets with gold trim and Dylan sporting a sparkling silver jacket.

Simple Twist of Fate was a particular highlight, beautiful and poignant and featuring a touch of harmonica from Dylan. Trying To Get To Heaven also packed a punch with plenty of pathos behind the delivery of lines such as “when you think you’ve lost everything and you find out you can always lose a little more.” Make You Feel My Love was stunning and delivered with great heart, but in a second Dylan could take the audience from a moment of such poignancy into a number such as Love Sick with no trace of irony.

Bob Dylan seemed to be enjoying himself, particularly during numbers such as How Does It Feel, smiling at the audience and taking a spot behind a microphone mid-stage on occasion to allow himself the occasional moment, hand on hip, to accept the audience’s applause.

It didn’t matter that Dylan didn’t speak between songs, the entire performance was a conversation and an invitation to explore the familiar and the new with arguably the most influential singer-songwriter of our time.

At the end of the encore the audience was on their feet to applaud an absolute masterclass of a live performance. If you came with expectations it probably confounded them. Nevertheless, this was a fascinating, entertaining and endlessly surprising evening. This was a Bob Dylan concert to remember for all the right reasons.


Review written by Jacquie Walters

 

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Al Fraser - Album Review: Toitu Te Puoro
18 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Toitu Te Puoro by Al Fraser is a beautiful creation from beginning to end. It’s exquisitely presented in a well-designed CD case with accompanying booklet, which is important given the narrative it contains about Fraser’s journey with taonga puoro and its photographs and descriptions of the instruments made and played by him.
Read More...
The Flaming Mudcats - Album Review: Cut Loose
09 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
The Flaming Mudcats' Cut Loose celebrates the band's tenth anniversary in fine style. This is a solid, rocking blues album from a well-established and well-loved kiwi act.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - Album Review: Fly
29 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Tui Mamaki's album Fly is an ancestral crie du coeur inspired by her time spent living in Bulgaria. Tui was born in France and raised in Aotearoa/New Zealand and there is a certain global transcendence to her music.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Single/Video Review: I Got The Lonely
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Mel Parsons has a gift for writing great hooks - and her latest single I Got The Lonely is an excellent example of that gift in action. I Got The Lonely is a well-executed, clean, and radio-friendly teaser for Parsons' full-length album due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Albi and The Wolves - Single Review: It Ain't Easy
08 Oct 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
It Ain't Easy is a 'rollicking good time' of a single from Tui Award-winning group Albi and the Wolves. Tight-as-a-drum vocal harmonies pack a punch from the very outset and the perfect pacing of this track as a whole maintains the listener's interest throughout.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pink @ Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin - 01/09/2018
02 Sep 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Pink took Dunedin to heaven tonight, figuratively and literally, with a stellar performance featuring acrobatics, mesmerising dance, theatre, and powerhouse vocals. The crowd came ready for a good time and when Pink took to the stage slightly after 9pm she declared her intention (following a tongue in cheek fanfare on solo recorder) with Get The Party Started, the star herself swinging from a giant chandelier in a black sequined one-piece suit and singing while hanging upside down.
Read More...
Gig Review: Holly Arrowsmith @ Fairfield House, Nelson - 22/08/2018
23 Aug 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
A pure voice is hard to find. Such a voice underpinned by a soul that reaches out to mesmerise and enchant an audience is even rarer.
Read More...
Tami Neilson - Album review: Sassafrass!
01 Jun 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Tami Neilson's latest outing Sassafrass! is the album you didn't realise you desperately needed until you heard it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem