25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Bob Dylan @ Horncastle Arena, Christchurch - 28/08/2018

29 Aug 2018 // A review by Jacquie Walters

“Expectation is the mother of crisis” as my father is fond of saying. Perhaps no performer visiting New Zealand of late has had the weight of expectation more firmly foisted upon him than Bob Dylan.

My father is a contemporary of Dylan and first saw his hero perform at Madison Square Garden in New York in the 1970's, so I couldn’t wait to hear what he thought of the now 77-year-old singer-songwriter four decades on. “Fascinating”, he said, as we both sat shedding a tear listening as our personal favourite Don’t Think Twice was revisited, repolished, and delivered to the attentive and appreciative crowd at Christchurch’s Horncastle Arena.

Dylan’s Christchurch concert was a triumph. We knew we were in for something special from the opening acoustic guitar intro which began the event without fanfare. What followed was a polished two-hour long set featuring plenty of Dylan’s most well-known tracks, such as Tangled Up In Blue and Ballad of a Thin Man – all of them reimagined and reinvented.

It took the audience a little while to recognise their favourites at times, but the act of requiring all of us to pay attention and listen anew breathed life into the material in a way I couldn’t previously have imagined. I genuinely felt like I was hearing Blowin' In the Wind for the first time.

Bob Dylan sat and stood at the piano to play for the majority of the concert, allowing the audience to see his wry smile as he delivered lines such as “I used to care but things have changed” from his 2006 Academy Award winning song Things Have Changed. We were then back in 1964 for a very cool version of It Ain’t Me Babe, spoken at times with a gravelly purr and informed by decades of experience of the ebb and flow of relationships. Alternating mellow and rockier numbers Dylan and the band had fun with tracks such as Highway 61, Dylan adopting a legs spread pose standing at the piano.

Accompanied by a band of very accomplished musicians, Dylan gave the Christchurch audience his energy and commitment as he launched into song after song at a cracking pace. He was very much the band leader guiding transitions with the whole group looking every inch the part - the band in matching black jackets with gold trim and Dylan sporting a sparkling silver jacket.

Simple Twist of Fate was a particular highlight, beautiful and poignant and featuring a touch of harmonica from Dylan. Trying To Get To Heaven also packed a punch with plenty of pathos behind the delivery of lines such as “when you think you’ve lost everything and you find out you can always lose a little more.” Make You Feel My Love was stunning and delivered with great heart, but in a second Dylan could take the audience from a moment of such poignancy into a number such as Love Sick with no trace of irony.

Bob Dylan seemed to be enjoying himself, particularly during numbers such as How Does It Feel, smiling at the audience and taking a spot behind a microphone mid-stage on occasion to allow himself the occasional moment, hand on hip, to accept the audience’s applause.

It didn’t matter that Dylan didn’t speak between songs, the entire performance was a conversation and an invitation to explore the familiar and the new with arguably the most influential singer-songwriter of our time.

At the end of the encore the audience was on their feet to applaud an absolute masterclass of a live performance. If you came with expectations it probably confounded them. Nevertheless, this was a fascinating, entertaining and endlessly surprising evening. This was a Bob Dylan concert to remember for all the right reasons.


Review written by Jacquie Walters

 

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Emily Rice - EP Review: Dusk
24 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Emily Rice’s EP Dusk is a gentle, beautiful excursion into the world of lovers everywhere. Rice has a voice like warm honey, reminiscent of Bic Runga and Amiria Grenell.
Read More...
Myele Manzanza - Album Review: A Love Requited
19 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A Love Requited is the third album from drummer and composer Myele Manzanza. Having shared many concert bills with Myele’s Dad, well know percussionist Sam Manzanza, I approached Myele’s album with a high level of interest.
Read More...
Claudia Jardine - EP Review: North
03 Jun 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
North is a literal breath of fresh air from Claudia Jardine, and it's very ably assisted by producer, multi-instrumentalist, and backing vocalist Taavi Paomets.The title track North leads the charge, setting the expectation of clear yet lush production values for the five-track offering from Jardine.
Read More...
Gig Review: Graeme James @ The Boathouse, Nelson - 17/05/2019
17 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Every once in a while you happen to have the very good fortune to attend a truly remarkable concert. Graeme James' gig at The Boathouse in Nelson was one such event.
Read More...
Andrew Masseurs - Single/Video Review: Everyone Wants To Be Your Love
12 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Everyone Wants To Be Your Love is the second single from Andrew Masseurs' album Traveller In The Sky, and it's another on-form offering from this talented artist. Masseurs' voice is powerful and rich, and his vocal sound is stunning in the chorus in particular, reaching towards the epic heights of Bono or Keane in the final third of the track.
Read More...
Beth Danelle - Single Review: Hold On
12 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Beth Danelle's new single Hold On is a balanced and well-produced pop track. It has a good hook in the chorus and it will appeal to anyone who is feeling out of sync with their current life situation.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sophie Mashlan @ Room Twenty5, Nelson - 11/05/2019
12 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Sophie Mashlan wowed the room last night at Room Twenty5, an intimate house concert venue near Nelson. Her talent was immediately evident with her rich, resonant voice commanding attention, complemented beautifully by her accomplished finger-style guitar playing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Caroline Easther and The Cinnamon Girls @ Fairfield House, Nelson - 3/05/2019
04 May 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Caroline Easther seems like a completely lovely person which must have made last night’s experience at Fairfield House all the more difficult for her. Despite her best efforts to push through, with the support of her band The Cinnamon Girls (Alan Galloway, Hamish Graham and Murray Costello), her voice was just not playing the game.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem