18 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Bob Dylan @ Horncastle Arena, Christchurch - 28/08/2018

29 Aug 2018 // A review by Jacquie Walters

“Expectation is the mother of crisis” as my father is fond of saying. Perhaps no performer visiting New Zealand of late has had the weight of expectation more firmly foisted upon him than Bob Dylan.

My father is a contemporary of Dylan and first saw his hero perform at Madison Square Garden in New York in the 1970's, so I couldn’t wait to hear what he thought of the now 77-year-old singer-songwriter four decades on. “Fascinating”, he said, as we both sat shedding a tear listening as our personal favourite Don’t Think Twice was revisited, repolished, and delivered to the attentive and appreciative crowd at Christchurch’s Horncastle Arena.

Dylan’s Christchurch concert was a triumph. We knew we were in for something special from the opening acoustic guitar intro which began the event without fanfare. What followed was a polished two-hour long set featuring plenty of Dylan’s most well-known tracks, such as Tangled Up In Blue and Ballad of a Thin Man – all of them reimagined and reinvented.

It took the audience a little while to recognise their favourites at times, but the act of requiring all of us to pay attention and listen anew breathed life into the material in a way I couldn’t previously have imagined. I genuinely felt like I was hearing Blowin' In the Wind for the first time.

Bob Dylan sat and stood at the piano to play for the majority of the concert, allowing the audience to see his wry smile as he delivered lines such as “I used to care but things have changed” from his 2006 Academy Award winning song Things Have Changed. We were then back in 1964 for a very cool version of It Ain’t Me Babe, spoken at times with a gravelly purr and informed by decades of experience of the ebb and flow of relationships. Alternating mellow and rockier numbers Dylan and the band had fun with tracks such as Highway 61, Dylan adopting a legs spread pose standing at the piano.

Accompanied by a band of very accomplished musicians, Dylan gave the Christchurch audience his energy and commitment as he launched into song after song at a cracking pace. He was very much the band leader guiding transitions with the whole group looking every inch the part - the band in matching black jackets with gold trim and Dylan sporting a sparkling silver jacket.

Simple Twist of Fate was a particular highlight, beautiful and poignant and featuring a touch of harmonica from Dylan. Trying To Get To Heaven also packed a punch with plenty of pathos behind the delivery of lines such as “when you think you’ve lost everything and you find out you can always lose a little more.” Make You Feel My Love was stunning and delivered with great heart, but in a second Dylan could take the audience from a moment of such poignancy into a number such as Love Sick with no trace of irony.

Bob Dylan seemed to be enjoying himself, particularly during numbers such as How Does It Feel, smiling at the audience and taking a spot behind a microphone mid-stage on occasion to allow himself the occasional moment, hand on hip, to accept the audience’s applause.

It didn’t matter that Dylan didn’t speak between songs, the entire performance was a conversation and an invitation to explore the familiar and the new with arguably the most influential singer-songwriter of our time.

At the end of the encore the audience was on their feet to applaud an absolute masterclass of a live performance. If you came with expectations it probably confounded them. Nevertheless, this was a fascinating, entertaining and endlessly surprising evening. This was a Bob Dylan concert to remember for all the right reasons.


Review written by Jacquie Walters

 

Other Reviews By Jacquie Walters

Gig Review: Don McGlashan & Marlon Williams @ Neudorf Vineyard, Nelson - 12/02/2019
13 Feb 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
A susurration of dust motes in the air in front of the stage at Neudorf Vineyard, heralded the beginning of tonight’s magical and highly-anticipated Marlon Williams concert - an appropriate beginning for an event postponed because of a large fire sparked last week in tinder dry conditions. Tonight’s event was the perfect balm for the soul for rattled Nelson Tasman residents.
Read More...
Graeme James - Album Review: The Long Way Home
05 Feb 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
The Long Way Home is everything existing Graeme James’ fans and newcomers to his music could hope for. Thoughtful lyrics, beautiful and carefully nuanced production, and enough catchy, foot tapping tracks to satisfy any radio programmer.
Read More...
Gig Review: Phil Collins at Christchurch Stadium, Christchurch - 4/02/2019
04 Feb 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
Bow down Christchurch, for we have been in the presence of the master. From start to finish this was a concert featuring consummate musicianship and a rich back catalogue of songs to satisfy listeners of all ages.
Read More...
Gig Review: Toto and Jefferson Starship with Dragon @ Hagley Park, Christchurch - 13/01/2019
14 Jan 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
The sound of deck chairs being put out, the rustle of picnic baskets, and the popping of corks were good signs that Christchurch was ready for a relaxing summer afternoon of music in North Hagley Park. Rain was forecast (and some did eventuate) but this didn't dampen spirits.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Frank Burkitt Band at The Boathouse, Nelson - 11/01/2019
11 Jan 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
The Boathouse welcomed The Frank Burkitt Band with a chocolate box Nelson summer’s evening, complete with a beautiful peach-toned sunset and an audience that had been enjoying an early evening meal on the deck prior to the gig. The general mood was possibly at odds with Frank Burkitt and his partner Kara Filbey’s choice of opening number, a somewhat sombre cover of a Randy Newman song about a hurricane called Louisiana 1927.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Neudorf Vineyard, Nelson - 09/01/2019
10 Jan 2019 // by Jacquie Walters
If any band epitomises the joy of a summer evening it has to be Fat Freddy's Drop. Neudorf Vineyard near Nelson provided the perfect natural setting for the luscious, relaxed sounds of this seven-member musical institution.
Read More...
The Jordan Luck Band - Gig Review: Jordan Luck Band @ The Playhouse, Nelson - 28/12/2018
29 Dec 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
An amiable capacity crowd gathered at The Playhouse in Mapua for a post-Christmas trip down memory lane with The Jordan Luck Band. The band delivered all that was expected and more in a tight, accomplished, and high-energy set.
Read More...
Al Fraser - Album Review: Toitu Te Puoro
18 Nov 2018 // by Jacquie Walters
Toitu Te Puoro by Al Fraser is a beautiful creation from beginning to end. It’s exquisitely presented in a well-designed CD case with accompanying booklet, which is important given the narrative it contains about Fraser’s journey with taonga puoro and its photographs and descriptions of the instruments made and played by him.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jacquie Walters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem