22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018

29 Aug 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected. I like to be surprised and these guys have a name that conjures up some very specific preconceptions. For the uninitiated (like me) East Brunswick All Girls' Choir are not all girls and they definitely are not a choir. Well, not in the godly sense anyway. Apparently last time they played NZ the bar crapped itself as it thought there would be a huge rider for all the Choir members.

I overheard a pre-gig conversation tonight in Galbraith's where most of the pre-loaders are hanging out tonight, that went something along the lines of “What the fuck is a choir doing supporting Courtney Barnett?” Luckily the response was “don’t worry if she picked them to support it will be good”. Oh, how the masses are confused by txt and words.

Then the EBAGC (sorry it's a long name) settle into the journey. They play country like Jack White plays blues and the vibe gets a little more chilled. We meander for a while then someone hits the dial on the radio and we are back into a drum-led trippy blast of psychedelia that gets the crowd engaged. The tempo stays upbeat until we reach the end. 45 mins from A to B with some highlights and some sleepy moments, where watching the crowd was more interesting than watching the stage.

The perfect openers for Courtney Barnett, but with a little more gas, the EBAGC could go so much further.

It has taken years of hard work for Courtney Barnett to be here tonight. Last time I saw her was at the now-defunct St James Theatre in Auckland. Tonight is the overspill show, as the original gig (Tuesday) sold out, is a testament to her growing popularity, which is well deserved.

Her journey from the guitarist in Melbourne grunge band Rapid Transit back in 2010 to a globe-trotting, critically acclaimed songstress has been achieved via the “old school” route of “bloody hard work”.  Her vocal style is not forced and is as honest and direct as many of her observational lyrics. Not unlike Alex Turner, Courtney can turn the everyday mundanity of life into a chart-topping sing-along.

Tonight, Courtney and her band enter the stage to a huge cheer and without any showy glitz or glamour, they ease into need a little time. It builds along with the crowd. So simple but beautiful.

The rock/grunge influence is woven throughout Courtney's music. She is more Kurt Cobain than Courtney Love and this adds an energy to the poetry of her music as she shakes and twists through the opening songs like an alt-country Joan Jett. There is a laid-back aggression that really shines on small poppies where she really unleashes, and the band are clearly tight from constant gigging. From here on in they have the crowd hooked and what follows is a sublime lesson in songwriting meets performance without any distractions.

It’s heavy and mellow, chilled and angry. Some might say this is dumb rock with smart lyrics but there is more to it. It’s an honesty without the pretentiousness that permeates her performance and ultimately connects.

A laid-back Depreston sees the first sing-along of the night and once again keeps building on what has gone before. It's a perfectly paced set pulling on all the influences including a cover of Neil Young/Elyse Weinberg's Houses which fits perfectly even though it was written 50 years ago.

The encore sees Courtney on her own and showcases her pick less guitar playing style before the rest of the band join her to close off the night with a blistering Pedestrian At Best.

I have to admit I haven’t got around to buying the latest album Tell Me How You Really Feel, but after tonight’s performance, I will and so should you. The effortless mix of humour, intelligence, style and a general “I don’t give a fuck” attitude is infectious tonight and can’t help but make you smile.

Courtney is one of those rare performers who can just let the music do the talking. She connected with the 1500+ people soaking up the vibes and would equally connect with 200 people in a bar or 20,000 people at the many festivals she has played recently. No need for a revolving stage set, costume changes, dancers, pyrotechnics this is all about the music and Courtney knows exactly how to get that across. Let’s hope she just keeps on keeping on.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem