26 Oct 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Courtney Barnett @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/08/2018

29 Aug 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
I love watching support bands. For some people, they are an excuse to stay in whatever bar, house or car they are preloading in for a little bit longer, but I love the unexpected. I like to be surprised and these guys have a name that conjures up some very specific preconceptions. For the uninitiated (like me) East Brunswick All Girls' Choir are not all girls and they definitely are not a choir. Well, not in the godly sense anyway. Apparently last time they played NZ the bar crapped itself as it thought there would be a huge rider for all the Choir members.

I overheard a pre-gig conversation tonight in Galbraith's where most of the pre-loaders are hanging out tonight, that went something along the lines of “What the fuck is a choir doing supporting Courtney Barnett?” Luckily the response was “don’t worry if she picked them to support it will be good”. Oh, how the masses are confused by txt and words.

Then the EBAGC (sorry it's a long name) settle into the journey. They play country like Jack White plays blues and the vibe gets a little more chilled. We meander for a while then someone hits the dial on the radio and we are back into a drum-led trippy blast of psychedelia that gets the crowd engaged. The tempo stays upbeat until we reach the end. 45 mins from A to B with some highlights and some sleepy moments, where watching the crowd was more interesting than watching the stage.

The perfect openers for Courtney Barnett, but with a little more gas, the EBAGC could go so much further.

It has taken years of hard work for Courtney Barnett to be here tonight. Last time I saw her was at the now-defunct St James Theatre in Auckland. Tonight is the overspill show, as the original gig (Tuesday) sold out, is a testament to her growing popularity, which is well deserved.

Her journey from the guitarist in Melbourne grunge band Rapid Transit back in 2010 to a globe-trotting, critically acclaimed songstress has been achieved via the “old school” route of “bloody hard work”.  Her vocal style is not forced and is as honest and direct as many of her observational lyrics. Not unlike Alex Turner, Courtney can turn the everyday mundanity of life into a chart-topping sing-along.

Tonight, Courtney and her band enter the stage to a huge cheer and without any showy glitz or glamour, they ease into need a little time. It builds along with the crowd. So simple but beautiful.

The rock/grunge influence is woven throughout Courtney's music. She is more Kurt Cobain than Courtney Love and this adds an energy to the poetry of her music as she shakes and twists through the opening songs like an alt-country Joan Jett. There is a laid-back aggression that really shines on small poppies where she really unleashes, and the band are clearly tight from constant gigging. From here on in they have the crowd hooked and what follows is a sublime lesson in songwriting meets performance without any distractions.

It’s heavy and mellow, chilled and angry. Some might say this is dumb rock with smart lyrics but there is more to it. It’s an honesty without the pretentiousness that permeates her performance and ultimately connects.

A laid-back Depreston sees the first sing-along of the night and once again keeps building on what has gone before. It's a perfectly paced set pulling on all the influences including a cover of Neil Young/Elyse Weinberg's Houses which fits perfectly even though it was written 50 years ago.

The encore sees Courtney on her own and showcases her pick less guitar playing style before the rest of the band join her to close off the night with a blistering Pedestrian At Best.

I have to admit I haven’t got around to buying the latest album Tell Me How You Really Feel, but after tonight’s performance, I will and so should you. The effortless mix of humour, intelligence, style and a general “I don’t give a fuck” attitude is infectious tonight and can’t help but make you smile.

Courtney is one of those rare performers who can just let the music do the talking. She connected with the 1500+ people soaking up the vibes and would equally connect with 200 people in a bar or 20,000 people at the many festivals she has played recently. No need for a revolving stage set, costume changes, dancers, pyrotechnics this is all about the music and Courtney knows exactly how to get that across. Let’s hope she just keeps on keeping on.



Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • PUT YOUR RECORDS ON
    Ritt Momney
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem