19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining

27 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining.

I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.

Firstly, I have to say the recording quality is stunning. I am unsure which studio she recorded in, but it’s incredibly well mixed and layered. It definitely sounds to be of an international quality to the untrained ear.


It’s Raining
 is a beautiful flowing melodic piece of work. LA Thompson’s voice is very graceful and soothing. I would place her voice in the ranks of some of the very well-established female singers back in the 60’s 70’s and 80’s maybe somebody like Linda Ronstadt or Olivia Newton John, well before autotune became a thing, or in more recent years Bic Runga. Her voice hits every single note perfectly and accurately without wavering.

I know she has titled the song It’s Raining and the lyrics tie in very well with that, but the song to me feels like a sun-shower on a sunny day. It’s very easy listening and you virtually feel the sun’s rays beaming down on your face while you listen whilst laying on a golden sand surf beach in the absence of any other people.

This song really is a soul soother, the sort of song that makes you reflect on all of the positive's in your life, and for those 3 minutes and 27 seconds, you are free from any negative emotion.

Awesome work from LA Thompson on her brand-new single It’s Raining. I’m 100% sure this song is going to do great things for her. I definitely recommend getting along to see her at one of her shows if you haven't already. Who knows .. I might see you there!


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About LA Thompson

LA has an extensive career in the music industry. Performing and writing her own music from the age of 9. LA has enjoyed a colorful life as a musician and promoter of Indie artists throughout New Zealand.

LA’s new song Don’t Take Me Back is her personal focus along with music video production. LA also known as Shirley to friends and family is the Founder and Manager of our nationwide project Local Musicians Music promoting NZ Music along with her more recently formed Nationwide music club “The LMM Network”.

Learning to navigate the ever changing internet and commercial radio station’s criteria has been a huge undertaking that has been met with interest from a number of songwriters, producers and music directors throughout New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LA Thompson

Releases

New Sun Rising
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem