19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining

27 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining.

I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.

Firstly, I have to say the recording quality is stunning. I am unsure which studio she recorded in, but it’s incredibly well mixed and layered. It definitely sounds to be of an international quality to the untrained ear.


It’s Raining
 is a beautiful flowing melodic piece of work. LA Thompson’s voice is very graceful and soothing. I would place her voice in the ranks of some of the very well-established female singers back in the 60’s 70’s and 80’s maybe somebody like Linda Ronstadt or Olivia Newton John, well before autotune became a thing, or in more recent years Bic Runga. Her voice hits every single note perfectly and accurately without wavering.

I know she has titled the song It’s Raining and the lyrics tie in very well with that, but the song to me feels like a sun-shower on a sunny day. It’s very easy listening and you virtually feel the sun’s rays beaming down on your face while you listen whilst laying on a golden sand surf beach in the absence of any other people.

This song really is a soul soother, the sort of song that makes you reflect on all of the positive's in your life, and for those 3 minutes and 27 seconds, you are free from any negative emotion.

Awesome work from LA Thompson on her brand-new single It’s Raining. I’m 100% sure this song is going to do great things for her. I definitely recommend getting along to see her at one of her shows if you haven't already. Who knows .. I might see you there!


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About LA Thompson

LA has an extensive career in the music industry. Performing and writing her own music from the age of 9. LA has enjoyed a colorful life as a musician and promoter of Indie artists throughout New Zealand.

LA’s new song Don’t Take Me Back is her personal focus along with music video production. LA also known as Shirley to friends and family is the Founder and Manager of our nationwide project Local Musicians Music promoting NZ Music along with her more recently formed Nationwide music club “The LMM Club”.

Learning to navigate the ever changing internet and commercial radio station’s criteria has been a huge undertaking that has been met with interest from a number of songwriters, producers and music directors throughout New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for LA Thompson

Releases

New Sun Rising
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
Bic Runga - Album Review: Close Your Eyes
05 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
There isn’t many people in New Zealand that have had have stood out as solo artists with such finesse or success as our very own Bic Runga. After many years of waiting and reminiscing about her earlier singles such as Sway and Good Morning Baby from her massively successful debut album Drive Bic has finally delivered an exceptional new album on the year of her 40th birthday titled Close Your Eyes.
Read More...
Dark Water - Album Review: You're Only As Addicted As You're Willing To Be
21 Nov 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Only a few days ago, my band Poison Skies shared a stage in New Plymouth with a band that I have never heard of before called Dark Water. The next night, I heard that they have a brand new album out titled You’re Only As Addicted As You’re Willing To Be so I promptly stuck up my hand and asked if I could be the guy to write a review it.
Read More...
Gig Review: 28th Annual Gemini Party @ Altitude, Hamilton - 5/06/16
28 Jun 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Like many Aucklander's looking to get ahead in life, I made the move down to Hamilton approx. 1 year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem