15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Die! Die! Die! - Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ The Captain Cook Tavern, Dunedin - 24/08/2018

Die! Die! Die! - Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ The Captain Cook Tavern, Dunedin - 24/08/2018

26 Aug 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

The first band on for the night was Wet Specimen, starting at 9:45pm. Wet Specimen are a three-piece band born from the remnants of Opposite Sex, featuring Lucy on bass and vocals, Reggie on guitar and Chris Schmelz on drums.

Their style is kind of a trashy Rock and Roll, think Dead Moon with a bit of Sonic Youth. Odious comparisons (only for your reference of course dear reader) aside, Wet Specimen totally have their own style, and when singing, Lucy has a great Kim Deal (Breeders, Pixies) overblown yell which cracks at full volume.

Early on it was bloody good to look across the gathering crowd and see Die! Die! Die!'s Andrew, getting on down, and grinning as much as I was.

Wet Specimen have a bunch of charm. Their third song called Heaven's Gate, is as Lucy tells us "named after my favourite cult". A song called Boyfriends is next, which Lucy dedicates to Tom Bell, their sound engineer. Overall, this was a great set. 

Death and the Maiden began moodily, then when the bass and sub bass dropped it could have been used for restructuring buildings; seriously low frequencies, just fantastic.

This band is Danny Brady (synths, programming), Hope Robertson (guitar, drums, vocals) and Lucinda King (vocals, bass). Their album Wisteria is blowing up, and the band is on fine form tonight. Danny has a great array of samples, including some charming 808 samples.

Death and the Maiden's second song has danceable grooves, encouraging the booties up the front to shake and the Cook's band bar appears to be pretty close to capacity.

They plays electronic pop with guitars, and their great song writing is a great update of the amorphous collective noun 'Dunedin Sound'. What's not to like? All’s going well, apart from the smelly drunk 6-foot anorak wearer that just stood in front of me.

Looking around the anorak I glimpse Hope Robertson. When many people play guitar, they sometimes have odd facial expressions. Hope is not among them, she just looks cool, very cool, with a slight smile which may be saying; "yup, I think I'm doing well."

I love how Lucinda King stares out in to the defiantly as she plays and sings, she is such a strong and confident front woman.

Death and the Maiden finish up just after 11pm, with sound engineer extraordinaire and Chicks Recording Studio chief Tom Bell and Die! Die! Die! setting their stage at a leisurely pace, taking ten minutes. I filmed them setting up in time-lapse, and for the most part the crowd wasn’t going anywhere.

The band opens up with Ashtray! Ashtray! from their debut self-titled release from 2005. It could have been a bold move to lead with a song that once was an encore. But it’s Die! Die! Die! and they rocked it. By the first chorus, Andrew Wilson was singing in the crowd and Lachlan Anderson was standing in Michael Prain’s kick drum.

Hell of a way to get everyone’s attention.

It seems the anorak wearer was more of a Death and The Maiden fan than Die! Die! Die!, as he’s nowhere to be seen. There has been an audience shift. In my original notes I wrote “Death and The Maiden fans with sensitive hearing have migrated to the back of the room while the deaf old fucks like me have our arthritis pounded into submission by a Die! Die! Die! onslaught” - I stand by that.

Tom has the PA tuned to perfection for Die! Die! Die!’s sound as 1970's punk dance style 'the pogo' returns to The Cook.

To the untrained eye, with both Andrew and Lachie going into the crowd at different times, and with the angular post punk Die! Die! Die! make, it could seem like complete chaos. But on closer inspection, it’s very well organised chaos.

I wouldn’t say every move is a planned stunt, but there’s a certain degree of discipline, and intention in their familiar disorder. The band knows what each other is doing like parts of a well-oiled machine, and the non-verbal communication between members really works.

Just after midnight, and returning from another sojourn into the crowd, Andrew wishes long-time friend of the band Leila George a happy birthday and Lachie sings her happy birthday, leading the 'hip hip hurrays', with the crowd of around 200 backing him up. Cool way to turn 40.

Shortly after Mikey’s snare drum breaks, a call for a replacement goes out, and Chris Schmelz offers his.

The songs People Talk and I Wanna had people singing along.

After chants of encore, encore Lachie returns first and plays a bass line until Mikey finds the 'in' point, the first beat in the bar, you know, the bit where he should start, when he does as if by magic Andrew comes in at the same point and then it's all on again for one blistering encore, just one.

And younger more agile fans beat me to the set lists, hence the distinct lack of song titles. Bloody youngun’s.


Review written by Darryl Baser

 

About Die! Die! Die!

Die! Die! Die! is a three-piece band from Auckland that was formed out of the ashes of Xanadu, Carriage H and Rawer. They play songs that are abrasive and catchy, fast and loud and like people who dance at their shows.

In the year since their first show together they played over 100 shows including three tours (each) of New Zealand and Australia, and one small one of USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Die! Die! Die!

Releases

What Did You Expect?
Year: 2015
Type: EP
SWIM
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Harmony (Special Edition)
Year: 2013
Type: LP
Harmony
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Form
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Promises Promises
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Locust Weeks
Year: 2006
Type: EP
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: EP
Die! Die! Die!
Year: 2005
Type: LP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Bartells - Single/Video Review: Extraordinary Girl
06 Dec 2018 // by Darryl Baser
There’s something pretty cool about the whole DIY ethic, from the early Flying Nun years, and now with many artists producing their own material. Sam Bartells, who creates music under his last name, has just released the single Extraordinary Girl with an accompanying self-filmed video.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Album Review: Time Flies
27 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
Up until this month 4-piece Northland band Tempist Fujit had released the No More Time EP and a single titled Midnight Train. This month the team of Lisa Walters (vocals, guitar), Douglas Gordon (guitar, backing vocals), Harlen Keepa (bass) and Chris Butler (drums) have finally released their first full length album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tom Cunliffe & Emily Fairlight @ The Cook, Dunedin - 10/11/2018
23 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
The Cook is home to a few music fans, with a few still standing or swaying from the city's craft beer festival, which had people imbibing from mid-morning. Tom Cunliffe opens up the evening's performance with the fantastic song Came My Way.
Read More...
VTMNK - Single Review: Red Wine
20 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
VTMNK ('Vitamin K') are a Dunedin duo, Latham Hunt on guitars and Veronika Bell (VK) on vocals. The pair came together spontaneously at one of Dunedin’s many open mic nights and have been performing regularly in Dunedin with a foray to Christchurch earlier in 2018.
Read More...
Superette - Single Review: Pretty Picture
16 Nov 2018 // by Darryl Baser
It’s been a long time between drinks for fans of Superette and Dave Mulcahy’s exceptional songwriting. However, a thirst quencher is being poured in the form of the release of the song Pretty Picture.
Read More...
Jaggers x Lines - Album Review: Burn Cycle
05 Oct 2018 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin EDM (Electric Dance Music) duo Jaggers X Lines have been putting in the mahi (work) over a few years; headlining their own shows and playing support slots to some credible touring acts including looping wunderkind Tash Sultana. The pairing of Eliana Gray and Morgan Smilie describe themselves as ‘alt-pop weirdos’, and it’s a fitting description.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Single Review: Voices of One
27 Sep 2018 // by Darryl Baser
The new single from Auckland indie cult band Hallelujah Picassos, Voices of One, seemed to come from out of the blue. The flip side is a Picassos' tune that anyone who listened to the student radio network in the mid to late 1990's will know that Black Spade Picasso Core was a favourite for many - possibly due to the profanity in the chorus…or maybe that was just me.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Chills @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 21/09/2018
22 Sep 2018 // by Darryl Baser
As I sit here listening to Snow Bound, re-writing this from notes in bed the morning after the gig, while I sip black coffee and eat chocolate and ginger biscuits, I feel life is good. And more importantly, this LP and tour really could be perfect for relaunching The Chills globally.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem