27 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julia Deans - Gig Review: Julia Deans @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 23/08/2018

25 Aug 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

The Broken Heartbreakers front woman Rachael Bailey has the half full, yet filling, venue hanging on her every word. Her second song I'm Happy That You're Not Around leaves the listener in no doubt what it is about.  

She follows with a song which is lyrically opposite, titled; Don't Even Think About Leaving. Bailey is a talented guitar player, and during this song her arpeggio guitar technique is as faultless as it appears effortless.

Violinist Flora Knight joins her for a song called Yesterday, which Bailey admits is a song title that has been used before. Knight’s violin playing adds depth, and texture.

Her last song, Somebody, Please begins as acapella. There's a strong Irish lilt in her voice, with vocal gymnastics, as per traditional Irish singing.

It’s just one of her seriously great songs, and her brief set, was the perfect warm up for Julia Deans. You could have heard a pin drop throughout.

Julia and her four-piece band take the stage at 10.04pm, and she straps on her trade mark bright red Fender Coronado.

Gosh, she has a great voice, I suspect she’s been seeing a vocal coach.

Julia's second song has great vocal harmonies, which by the end of the night has become standard operating procedure. Including encores, her set is 1 hour 20 minute long.

Julia is touring her new album We Light Fire, so there’s many new songs. Tunes which are known to the crowd, like The Wish You Wish You Had from Modern Fables, really got the crowd going.

From early on it’s plain to see and hear how tight Julia's band is. Although they’re on a 3-foot-high stage in front of a hundred plus people, the vibe on stage is relaxed and fun. They’re a really polished unit, playing like they’re in a cousin’s lounge, and having a ball.

A few songs in, Julia swaps the Fender for an acoustic guitar, it doesn’t work, everything is tried, but still it's a no go.

Anyone can rock, when it's going well, but to face an issue, bypass it, and nail the next song (in which she swapped to keyboard) takes true professionalism. Very well done Julia.

She played keyboard for a couple of tunes, then returned to “the naughty acoustic guitar,” as she quipped, before speaking in the guitar’s voice with the crowd: “I just needed a little time, Mummy,” she says.

The vocal harmonies between Julia and the two women are world class, just stunning.

She dedicates one of the tunes from We Light Fire entitled The Panic, to ‘anyone who has had anxiety’. It tackles the issue in a light way; what could have been a bit morose, is up-tempo and playful.

The band leaves and Julia is solo with acoustic guitar for the new album’s title track.

“The lighting of fire throughout history from bonfires to candles or incriminating photos, no matter about our differences, we are inherently the same,” she explains.

It's an addictive song with great hooks band return. Julia wishes Nadia Reid a happy birthday they launch into Modern Fables, which lights the crowd up, there’s one last song in the regular set, and then they’re off.

The ‘encore’ chant goes up from the crowd of 100 + and the band returns after a very brief spell.

She thanks the crowd and says, “we're going to send you off with a couple of lullabies," A New Dialogue from Modern Fables is one of the two tunes which sends a happy crowd off home, some via the merch table.

In hindsight I really should have bought the album on orange vinyl.


Review written by Darryl Baser

 

About Julia Deans

Having first come to the fore as the sassy and beguiling front woman for platinum-selling band Fur Patrol at the turn of the century, the past decade has seen Julia Deans transition from iconic rock chick to glorious songbird.

Deans’ first solo album Modern Fables was released to critical acclaim in 2010, earning her a swag of nominations for several coveted musical accolades including the Taite Music Prize, the APRA Silver Scroll (for A New Dialogue) and Best Female Solo Artist and Best Pop Album at the NZ Music Awards.

Though it has been close to eight years between releases, Deans’ collection of songs We Light Fire, released in 2018, saw her return to the song writing fore enriched with experience and full of purpose. Inspired by world events, friends, and family, the new album examines both what it means to be human, and our spectrum of strength and vulnerability.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julia Deans

Releases

We Light Fire
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Modern Fables
Year: 2010
Type: Album
A New Dialogue
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Andrew Masseurs - EP Review: She’s So Nasty
19 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, being either a PC softy or a bit of a feminist, I didn’t warm to the title track She’s So Nasty, but being a professional I opened my ears and had a listen to Andrew Masseurs’ new EP. And I’m glad I did.
Read More...
Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Kama Sutra
03 Sep 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Well, as bloody obvious things to write go, music is in the entertainment industry should be fun and entertaining. With that premise in mind, Bingo Fighter go to the top of the class with their new single Kama Sutra.
Read More...
Stars and the Underground - Single Review: Nosferatu Upon Tyne
22 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Being an OG (old goth or original goth) from the 1980's I love me a bit of goth. Stars and the Underground are a nice bit of goth who have just released a 7" single.
Read More...
Marlin's Dreaming - Album Review: Quotidian
21 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Having been a reviewer of life and recorded music since the late 1980's, it is a rare and wonderful feeling to discover a band from my hometown who I haven’t heard of, until they drop a recording that takes my head clean off. Dunedin band Marlin’s Dreaming have released Quotidian, and are about to (Covid willing) head off on a NZ tour in late September and early October.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Contemplate
07 Aug 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is a well-seasoned singer-songwriter based in Auckland, New Zealand, who’s just released his new 12 song album, Contemplate. The album is available on Duncan’s Bandcamp page as is the modern way of doing things.
Read More...
A Straw Assembly - Album Review: A Little More Life
28 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Right the get go this isn’t an album for the musically faint-hearted. The opening song A Saint Is Divided builds gently and beautifully into a maelstrom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid @ Grainstore Gallery, Oamaru - 24/07/2020
25 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Flora Knight is first up, beginning with saying "Hi, I'm not Nadia". Her solo set on fiddle and singing begins with an Appalachian mountain tune about Bow weevils destroying crops, it’s a classic piece of mountain music, and a great way to open her set.
Read More...
Phil and Lana Doublet - Album Review: Play Nice
12 Jul 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Multi award winning Christchurch based musicians Phil and Lana Doublet have teamed up to write, record, and release the stunning album Play Nice. The pair wrote all but one of the songs on the album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem