17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sins of Eve - Demo Review: Sins of Eve

24 Aug 2018 // A review by Rupa Kelly

Sins of Eve's demo showcases, overall, their potential and vision for their music to come. A chunky riff-based Rock group hailing from Christchurch, Sins of Eve combines the very unique and honestly thrilling voice of their vocalist, Joy Bantayan with some thoroughly groovy and catchy riffs effortlessly.

Departed opens up with a haunting guitar intro before cracking straight into the main body of the song. This piece is a solid chunk of music. It's movement from verse to chorus is flows neatly and captures the listener into the melody of the song. Though the general stream of the track doesn't alter too much, this isn't much of an issue as the song clocks in at an easy 3:30. There's nothing crazy innovative or particularly fresh about the track but ultimately there's no reason, Departed is exactly what it needs to be, a head bangin' cracker of a tune. Bantayan is the carrying force of the song, her vibrant vocal flavour is refreshing enough to keep the listener interested.

Murder of Crows is up next, again opening with a hauntingly toned guitar, crashing into an even heavier riff than Departed, then breaking down into the simple guitar melody again. The first movement of the song is very strong, the change in tone between chorus and verse engages the hypothetical audience much better. However, the breakdown into outro detracts from the song, the beat feels a little off time, the drums seeming to be detached from the otherwise powerful guitar. It feels like it builds and builds to something, but just kind of simmers off, leaving the listener a little confused.

So Glad is the final track of the demo, spending no time with things like intros, it gets straight to the meat and bone. This is probably my favourite song from the release, the main riff is something fresh from the dominant power chords featuring in the rest of the demo and the song has a fantastic vibe to it, my head can't help but move along with this devastatingly funky tune. So Glad is truly one for the live experience, my mind conjures images of mosh pits and belted out lyrics and is I truly something I hope I get to see.

Sins of Eve comes out strong, though the first two songs don't push too many boundaries, So Glad presents a strong image of potential from this fresh project.


Review written by Rupa Kelly

 

About Sins of Eve

Sins of Eve are an all original four-piece Christchurch-based hard rock originals band fronted by a female vocalist.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sins of Eve

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sins of Eve.

Other Reviews By Rupa Kelly

Lexxa - Single Review: Get Out
20 Nov 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
Lexxa returns with Get Out, a follow up to their synth pop jam I Got Better Friends Now. After a good year of touring and opening for both local and international heavyweights, Get Out is an excellent second studio release.
Read More...
Alae - Album Review: Henry St
27 Oct 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
Henry St is the debut LP from NZ indie-folk band Alae. After the success of their first self-titled EP Alae and the subsequent tour they undertook coupled with the release of their singles Too Strung Up and Stone Cold, Alae entered the studio to work on their first full length album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Strangely Arousing @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 19/10/2018
24 Oct 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
Strangely Arousing, hot off their strangely unconventional 7-date tour of South Korea and China crashed into the Tuning Fork In a hot beat and fantastic fashion. Bringing with them Joe's Van and their own DJ Straw Hat providing enjoyable jams between sets, the night was bursting with potential.
Read More...
Gig Review: Steve Gunn & Arthur Ahbez @ Southern Fork Americana Festival, Auckland - 06/10/2018
10 Oct 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
The Southern Fork Americana Festival returns again to New Zealand, bringing with it a tantalising and exciting selection of artists from a range of genres held under the umbrella of Americana. Expect folk, plaid and all things good and wholesome to vibe out to steel guitars from a who's who of some of the premier artists kicking it in the scene today.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Counter Productive
05 Oct 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
Biobird is a one-man Dubstep project, with the main man Caleb Bird hailing from Hamilton. This is his third release, and his second EP, titled Counter Productive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Daffodils @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 27/09/2018
01 Oct 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
I spent the best times of my formative years adventuring into a multitude of venues, gigs, and shows. These gave me many fond memories of meeting up with friends, going out and enjoying our mutual interest: music.
Read More...
Mitch James - Single Review: Old News
10 Sep 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
Coming out of the already fantastically robust music scene of Dunedin, Mitch James has released yet another single ahead of his debut album. Titled Old News the song is a heartfelt statement to one you care for, but one you have wronged and one that is leaving; a sentiment that many can relate to.
Read More...
Gig Review: Depths @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland 28/07/2018
30 Jul 2018 // by Rupa Kelly
It's been awhile since I found myself at a metal gig, long gone are the days of black clad, sweaty moshing where everything ended in the word ‘core’, deathcore, hardcore, grindcore. Funnelling into the small room that formed Ding Dong Lounge's upstairs gig room, smelling the sweat of closely pressed flannel donner bodies revelling in the burning of energy and joy at the expression of art categorised as metal brought back fond memories of 16-year-old me, Saturday nights spent at my local venue with close friends.
Read More...
View All Articles By Rupa Kelly

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem