20 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection

21 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.

The first tune License To Thrill has the most intense guitar lines I’ve heard this decade (sorry to all my great guitarist mates). They are layered with amazing precision that you don’t really need the vocal line; however, they have been carefully shaped to integrate a vocal line that really makes this tune something else. If I would describe it in a one liner, I’d say is ‘fuelled by awesome’.

License to Thrill flows on nicely into the second tune Rock You Like A Hurricane. Now here’s a big call .. I’ve heard this tune before on The Rock, I seem to recall Bryce Casey singing it while supporting The Hurricane’s rugby team. It’s mammoth! So well written and mixed that I genuinely thought this was an American band. Most people don’t think this means much, but to a Kiwi musician who has heard a recorded tune or 50, NZ music generally has its own sound, and to be compared against a population 65 times the size of ours at the elite end, that’s definitely something.

Track three Illusion is instrumental. It’s a definitely a tune to pour yourself a nice single malt whiskey to and shut your eyes to. It’s not a whole bunch of shred, it’s careful, precise, and melodic, but placed so nicely over a simple yet effective rhythm line underneath. It’s not too long either – 2 minutes 24 is all it needs to be.

The last song off the EP is The Lone Wolf, which is exactly what Michael Signal is. I don’t want to compare him to Dave Grohl, but that’s who most of you will picture when I say that he wrote and played every instrument on the album. The drum lines have been written to compliment the rhythm of the guitar nicely, you can hear the kicks actively working hard underneath to keep the groove flowing. The Lone Wolf has a nice breakdown around the 3 minutes 40 mark, down to just a couple of guitars working together into a solo that is quite mismatched from the rest of the song but in a clever way, leading into a nice key change to see the tune out.

All in all, This album sounds like what I feel like after 4 Jagerbombs. Pure awesome, with a big shot of adrenaline. Add together some nitromethane, some burning rubber, 4000 horsepower, and some ignition, and that’s pretty much this EP summed up. Great work Michael (and I won't leave out Julian Angel who mixed most of it and played additional gats on License To Thrill and Rock You Like A Hurricane).


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About Michael Signal

Michael Signal is a New Zealand hard rock guitarist & songwriter influenced by LA metal & classic rock.

Having been in numerous original bands & cover projects throughout his music career, Michael has just released a digital EP to promote his upcoming debut solo album Direct Injection due out by the end of 2018.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michael Signal

Releases

Direct Injection
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem