22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Darryl Baser - Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018

19 Aug 2018 // A review by Tony McDonald

Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.

However to his credit, Darryl Baser got up and tried to rock the few people present amidst the remnants of the garlic smell from the pizza oven that stopped serving 20 minutes earlier. Yes, I had missed my dinner.

The pinball machines in the corner provided a welcome distraction when the artists weren't playing and the beer was flowing throughout Moon.

The whole event sounded more like an open mic night as the venue was virtually empty, which was unfortunate for the musicians.

Then Darryl arrived on stage closely followed by the bar man with an espresso. Very touching. He seemed to wait quite nervously for the bar music to be turned down, so he could perform. When this didn’t happen, Darryl read messages on his phone. Come on Moon pay attention.

The black guitar was gleaming, not even a finger print in sight as Darryl waited for the 60’s pop music to die down in the background.

The bottle of water on stage is only one third full. Maybe it's gin?? The smoke machine on the shelf looks like it's on standby for another band, maybe they should have switched it on to add some more atmosphere.

Darryl had come all the way from Dunedin and his plane was delayed. It's been a long day. The first song called Pretty was very intense and had a somewhat morbid feel.

Most of Darryl's songs seemed to start in a minor key which didn’t lift the mood, but they lightened up to a major in the chorus. The music certainly sounded more like poetry than songs and some of the words were touching.

Strumming to the beat of his voice, instead of a drummer means you can't tap your foot and join in. It felt up and down rather than consistent.

A strange gig and not to my taste, but it's always good to have diversity.

You can view Pretty here.


Review written by Tony McDonald

 

About Darryl Baser

He was made in England, born in Wellington, and grew up in Turanganui-a-kiwa (Gisborne).

Recent history - working on a follow up LP to 2016’s #RawSelfie which was recorded in 2013 on an LG Optima cell phone in a series of live takes in a St Kilda flat.
So far #SecondSelfie is being tracked on a lap top using audacity, where baser is recording layers of guitar, bass, percussion, voices, and in some cases found sound.
Right, here’s the older history.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Darryl Baser

Releases

#Secondselfie
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem