19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lookin Up - Single Review: Enough

15 Aug 2018 // A review by hailtree

I want to be / Everything and more… / … But I forget / I was raised by a world that didn’t care

Fast paced, self-aware, yet self-absorbed, but most of all - hella catchy. Lookin Up’s first release in 4 years hit the internet just over a month ago - after taking a hiatus for a few years, the band is back with a whole new sound, and a whole lot of drive to get things done.

Enough was recorded at Ocean Sound Recordings over in Norway, Europe. A remote little studio on the edge of the world – the perfect place for the band to re-invent their sound, away from the distractions and influences of home, back here in Aotearoa. Plus, just for kicks, they threw in a whole lot of small shows all around Europe – eager to get their groove back up on stage.

Taking on a whole new sound from their last release Reborn, Lookin Up have moved away from the heavier, hardcore punk sound they were known for – and into a more punk rock wave. As the first single release, it ticks all the boxes that make one eager to hear the rest of the album – it has the bones of an egocentric catchy anthem song, yet the lyrics take on such a melancholic self-awareness. It’s easy to imagine the song going down an absolute hit when performed live.

Lookin Up say they have a whole lot of things planned for us, so here’s hoping that more new releases come out shortly. I know I’m definitely looking forward to catching these guys back in action at a local show sometime soon.

★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Amanda Hailwood

 

About Lookin Up

Birthed in the Aotearoa Hardcore scene and playing endless shows up and down the country, Lookin Up is a band of high energy and passion. With their debut album Reborn released in March 2014, the band have done nothing but played with all they have, to anyone who is willing to listen. A tight and punchy wall of sound coupled with challenging lyrics encapsulates this positive and powerful live act, leaving you feeling uplifted and exhausted in the best possible way. Having secured support slots for Rise Against, Parkway Drive, Berri Txarrak, The Story So Far, Man Overboard, Gorilla Biscuits, Thy Art Is Murder, The Word Alive, Deez Nuts, Turnstile, Four Year Strong and many more, the future is looking bright for this Auckland based act.

Enduring the departure of their original vocalist in 2016, a brief hiatus and numerous line-up changes, Lookin Up returned in 2017 with their most ambitious plans to date. Enlisting the help of producer Greg Haver and engineer Brendan Davies, the band checked into Ocean Sound Recordings in Norway to record their second full length Gold. The band then looked to mixing legend, Tom Lord Alge to work on three of the tracks and they mixed the rest themselves. The release of Gold on the 5th of October marks the start of over 100 shows around the world and a massive statement of intent for the future of this band. Stay tuned.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lookin Up

Releases

Reborn
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By hailtree

Fables - EP Review: Portraits
11 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.
Read More...
Julia Deans @ Tuning Fork, Auckland
03 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a quiet Saturday evening down in Auckland, and I’m a little worried I’ve come to the wrong venue – as there isn’t a single soul outside. I make my way up to the door and am greeted by a couple of friendly security guards, who quickly usher me in as the show is about to start.
Read More...
The Adults - Album Review: Haja
30 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Okay first up. This album will make you want to dance, and I don’t even like dancing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Galatos, Auckland - 27/07/2018
29 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night and every nook and doorway of Galatos Street is packed with kids hiding away smoking ciggies and drinking wine straight out of the bottle. I wonder how many of them came down with intentions of getting door sales – as Soaked Oats had announced during the day that they would have 20 available on the night – but by the time we get there, just eight minutes after the doors had opened, they’d already sold out.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Āio
27 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Āioʻ - ʻto be at Peaceʻ. Āio is what we strive for in our own minds, Āio is what nature is calling for and Āio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 13/07/2018
16 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night, and as I climb up the dark stairwell to the gig room at Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland, I can hear the first band Downfall of Humanity already playing – honestly since when did bands get this organised? I swear a few years ago a show that opened its doors at 8 wouldn’t ever start until after 9.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: Untitled
13 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Churlington are a band that were formed out of a desire to create a band with as minimal effort as possible. They pride themselves on this and used it proudly in their video to advertise their latest EP - which funnily enough, doesn’t even have a name.
Read More...
New Age Leper - Single Review: The Tragic Tale of a Self Obsessed Man
08 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
New Age Leper's latest single is a little bit of ode to anyone who thinks a little differently. To me, it expresses perfectly that selfish cycle of believing that you've got the answers, and so everyone should believe what you believe...
Read More...
View All Articles By hailtree

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem