19 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hive Mind - Album Review: Hive Mind

07 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story. I automatically had images of Iron Maiden popping into my head and wondered if this was going to be an 80’s glam track with soaring vocals, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I wouldn’t exactly say It’s something you are likely to hear on radio being 6 minutes in length, but what a glorious 6 minutes it was. Energy driven hard drums, vocals that somewhat draw me into a music video from 30 Seconds To Mars, and guitar lines that intertwine in a way you would almost expect to hear on Metropolis by Dream Theater.

Liberation is probably my favourite tune from the album. Dark and moody, think early stuff by Tool or Soundgarden. Open drums with heaps of space, big cymbal hits, nice intricacies up on the bell of the ride which I’ve only ever really heard pulled off in hard rock by Chad Szeliga from Breaking Benjamin
The vocals are smooth and flowing with crafted harmonies, not really gravelly like I expected, but quite fitting and smooth. My closest comparison is something like Scott Weiland meets Maynard Keenan.

All of the songs are really grand rock anthems not like the 3-minute quickfire verse, pre-chorus, chorus structure you normally rip into with rock music, it’s almost progressive rock with a recurring theme. 3 minutes 52 is the shortest song on the album, and man oh man are those guitars are so sweet from start to finish. You can tell this isn’t a bunch of dudes who want to be famous rock-stars, they are actually a group of individually talented musicians who as a solo artist would be absolute stand-out.

I really enjoyed this album. It’s so good to hear fresh rock music coming out of NZ where the industry typically tells us that live instruments are dead, I can assure you after having heard this, that is definitely not the case, and rock is alive and well!

Do yourself a favour, head a long to Hive Mind’s Bandcamp Page and download their album, I promise you will not be sorry for doing so.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About Hive Mind

Hive Mind are a Wellington based rock band going since around 2013, the emphasis so far has been on creating a good sounding Hard Rock album where melody is the most important factor. The process to write and record began in 2013 and finally ended last month with the release of their debut album Hive Mind. Various factors influenced the time it took to piece together the self recorded and produced album but with it finally done they are in rehearsals to bring the songs to the live environment.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hive Mind

Releases

Hive Mind
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem