15 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hive Mind - Album Review: Hive Mind

07 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story. I automatically had images of Iron Maiden popping into my head and wondered if this was going to be an 80’s glam track with soaring vocals, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I wouldn’t exactly say It’s something you are likely to hear on radio being 6 minutes in length, but what a glorious 6 minutes it was. Energy driven hard drums, vocals that somewhat draw me into a music video from 30 Seconds To Mars, and guitar lines that intertwine in a way you would almost expect to hear on Metropolis by Dream Theater.

Liberation is probably my favourite tune from the album. Dark and moody, think early stuff by Tool or Soundgarden. Open drums with heaps of space, big cymbal hits, nice intricacies up on the bell of the ride which I’ve only ever really heard pulled off in hard rock by Chad Szeliga from Breaking Benjamin
The vocals are smooth and flowing with crafted harmonies, not really gravelly like I expected, but quite fitting and smooth. My closest comparison is something like Scott Weiland meets Maynard Keenan.

All of the songs are really grand rock anthems not like the 3-minute quickfire verse, pre-chorus, chorus structure you normally rip into with rock music, it’s almost progressive rock with a recurring theme. 3 minutes 52 is the shortest song on the album, and man oh man are those guitars are so sweet from start to finish. You can tell this isn’t a bunch of dudes who want to be famous rock-stars, they are actually a group of individually talented musicians who as a solo artist would be absolute stand-out.

I really enjoyed this album. It’s so good to hear fresh rock music coming out of NZ where the industry typically tells us that live instruments are dead, I can assure you after having heard this, that is definitely not the case, and rock is alive and well!

Do yourself a favour, head a long to Hive Mind’s Bandcamp Page and download their album, I promise you will not be sorry for doing so.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About Hive Mind

Hive Mind are a Wellington based rock band going since around 2013, the emphasis so far has been on creating a good sounding Hard Rock album where melody is the most important factor. The process to write and record began in 2013 and finally ended last month with the release of their debut album Hive Mind. Various factors influenced the time it took to piece together the self recorded and produced album but with it finally done they are in rehearsals to bring the songs to the live environment.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hive Mind

Releases

Hive Mind
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
Bic Runga - Album Review: Close Your Eyes
05 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
There isn’t many people in New Zealand that have had have stood out as solo artists with such finesse or success as our very own Bic Runga. After many years of waiting and reminiscing about her earlier singles such as Sway and Good Morning Baby from her massively successful debut album Drive Bic has finally delivered an exceptional new album on the year of her 40th birthday titled Close Your Eyes.
Read More...
Dark Water - Album Review: You're Only As Addicted As You're Willing To Be
21 Nov 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Only a few days ago, my band Poison Skies shared a stage in New Plymouth with a band that I have never heard of before called Dark Water. The next night, I heard that they have a brand new album out titled You’re Only As Addicted As You’re Willing To Be so I promptly stuck up my hand and asked if I could be the guy to write a review it.
Read More...
Gig Review: 28th Annual Gemini Party @ Altitude, Hamilton - 5/06/16
28 Jun 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Like many Aucklander's looking to get ahead in life, I made the move down to Hamilton approx. 1 year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem