3 Dec 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hive Mind - Album Review: Hive Mind

07 Aug 2018 // A review by Carl Hayman

Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story. I automatically had images of Iron Maiden popping into my head and wondered if this was going to be an 80’s glam track with soaring vocals, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I wouldn’t exactly say It’s something you are likely to hear on radio being 6 minutes in length, but what a glorious 6 minutes it was. Energy driven hard drums, vocals that somewhat draw me into a music video from 30 Seconds To Mars, and guitar lines that intertwine in a way you would almost expect to hear on Metropolis by Dream Theater.

Liberation is probably my favourite tune from the album. Dark and moody, think early stuff by Tool or Soundgarden. Open drums with heaps of space, big cymbal hits, nice intricacies up on the bell of the ride which I’ve only ever really heard pulled off in hard rock by Chad Szeliga from Breaking Benjamin
The vocals are smooth and flowing with crafted harmonies, not really gravelly like I expected, but quite fitting and smooth. My closest comparison is something like Scott Weiland meets Maynard Keenan.

All of the songs are really grand rock anthems not like the 3-minute quickfire verse, pre-chorus, chorus structure you normally rip into with rock music, it’s almost progressive rock with a recurring theme. 3 minutes 52 is the shortest song on the album, and man oh man are those guitars are so sweet from start to finish. You can tell this isn’t a bunch of dudes who want to be famous rock-stars, they are actually a group of individually talented musicians who as a solo artist would be absolute stand-out.

I really enjoyed this album. It’s so good to hear fresh rock music coming out of NZ where the industry typically tells us that live instruments are dead, I can assure you after having heard this, that is definitely not the case, and rock is alive and well!

Do yourself a favour, head a long to Hive Mind’s Bandcamp Page and download their album, I promise you will not be sorry for doing so.


Review written by Carl Hayman

 

About Hive Mind

Hive Mind are a Wellington based rock band going since around 2013, the emphasis so far has been on creating a good sounding Hard Rock album where melody is the most important factor. The process to write and record began in 2013 and finally ended last month with the release of their debut album Hive Mind. Various factors influenced the time it took to piece together the self recorded and produced album but with it finally done they are in rehearsals to bring the songs to the live environment.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hive Mind

Releases

Hive Mind
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem