19 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues

06 Aug 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.

I must admit as a song title, Walking Talking Blues seemed a little cliched and had me expecting a very middle of the road Bluesy yawn fest but it is actually a soulful track that comes into its own during the moments where the passion can be heard in Sam's vocals. It has all the ingredients you would expect, and the mix is spot on, as is the musicianship. The structure is a little formulaic but a chorus refrain that stands out adds a bit of spice and gives the song its own identity.

There is an undercurrent to the music created here that slowly seeps in and makes you want to move. The connection is made but not in an overtly in your face kind of way. On multiple listens I had a different experience, the lead break became a stronger focal point. I forgot about the song title and when the preconceptions that gave me faded away, I discovered a band that has huge potential. They have enough going on to take the music in any direction they choose and if they choose to stray a little further away from their comfort zones and get a bit more experimental then things could get very exciting.

Ultimately, this song makes me want to go and see Ghost Who Walks play live as this is where I think their music will really shine.

★★★ (3 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

About Ghost Who Walks

“I make music to move the body and touch the soul” – Sam Fowles.

Ghost Who Walks is a project started by Sam Fowles, backed by his band that is homegrown in Wellington. Formed from the vibrant jam scene of Wellington open mic nights. Combining elements of Blues, Funk, Rock and Reggae, sprinkled with psychedelic overtones. Ghost Who Walks has rocked many a venue in the Wellington live scene with funky originals that Sam writes from the perspective of someone who has seen struggles, overcome and risen above them. This is a lyrical style the listener can relate to. “With relatable lyrics of creating your own destiny, a listener can resonate more with that kind of lyrical sensibility. This is music that makes you feel.” - Muzic.net.nz

Straight after their inception they cut their teeth into the Battle of the Bands progressing to the national final before spending the next year honing their sound ready to record with the Dr Lee Prebble at Surgery Studios Wellington. Producing an EP that showcases their raw energy and gives you a glimpse into the power of their live show. “Ultimately an energetic offering, 'Vertigo' soars this Wellington group to new heights and offers an exciting glimpse into the impending Ghost Who Walks EP in 2018 - fun grooves ahead!" - Tiana Speter, thesoundcheck.org.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ghost Who Walks

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ghost Who Walks.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand? Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem