19 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oyawa - EP Review: The Mary Anning EP

31 Jul 2018 // A review by Jessie Armstrong
Oyawa is a three-piece indie/alternative band hailing from Auckland, although the members come from all over, and is made up of the collective efforts of Brett Garrity, Miles Gillett and Nikki Ngatai. 


Formed in late 2011, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of Oyawa and after listening to this EP I’ll be keeping an eye out for their upcoming shows - I suggest you do the same.

The first thing that caught my attention was name of this EP, The Mary Anning EP, Mary Anning was a famous English fossil collector, dealer, and palaeontologist (her most famous being in Jurassic marine fossil beds). I absolutely love this nod to history and think it’s a great touch. The album cover also reflects this.

Secondly I want to talk about the overall sound of this EP, I need to mention the respect I have for vocalist Nikki’s melodic tones throughout the entire album, as it adds something that you don’t hear in New Zealand bands all too often, and she definitely adds something unique to the overall feel.

From the moment the first track See You Through started I was instantly reminded of Tool, from the sound of the bass and drums. When the vocals kick in, everything just ties together so beautifully.

Another track I feel the need to talk about is Darkness Has No Name. Lyrically it’s hands down my favourite and musically is reminds me of another New Zealand band I Am Giant. Normally I try to avoid comparing local bands to others, but I can’t help it this time, and trust me when I say that that’s a compliment.

You can tell that a lot of love and time has clearly been put into every aspect of this EP, I sincerely cannot wait to hear more from Oyawa and I imagine that seeing them preform would be quite an experience as well. Do yourself a favour and go pick up The Mary Anning as soon as you can.


Review written by Jessie Armstrong

 

About Oyawa

The short Bio lowdown… Oyawa, the classic line up of two guitars, bass, drums and vocals, however none of the members seem to want to accept the traditional roles that go with that particular setup.

Nikki Ngatai, singer/guitarist, sings like she should be in the Vandellas whilst playing guitar like she should be in Polvo. The other guitarist Cliff Bateman saw the Who in utero but favors the harsh tones of certain touch and go bands. There are no rhythm and lead roles as they push and pull and clash against each other whilst the rhythm section churn away in the foreground. The drummer Miles Gillett was raised by a prog jazzer but fell in love with the simplicity of American Indie and hardcore while Brett Garrity on bass believes that repetition is not a dirty word and also provides counterpoint vocals to the melodic singing up front.
If all this seems a bit noisy…it is…but they also know when to shut up and what it takes to make a song both accessible and also interesting.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oyawa

Releases

The Mary Anning EP
Year: 2018
Type: EP
I Don't Recall Ordering Ordinary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Won't Even Try To Scale It
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jessie Armstrong

Eyreton Hall - Album Review: Spaces
24 Jun 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
I’ve been stuck in a music rut as of late. I’ve been finding myself reviewing the same genre of music for a while now so, I figured I was in drastic need of a change, and boy did I find what I was looking for in folk duo Eyreton Hall.
Read More...
Bittercup - EP Review: Negative Space
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from New Plymouth, Bittercup is made up of one man by the name of Callum Wagstaff - although Callum did originally front a band of the same name. Negative Space is the debut EP from Bittercup and let me tell you, the one word that sprang to my mind once I had finished listening to it simply was; wow.
Read More...
The Gemini Effect - Single Review: Oh Yeah Oh No
16 May 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Hailing from Auckland The Gemini Effect have been involved in the local scene since before the release of their debut album Atomic Blues, during which time the band has gained a very solid backing and it’s very easy to understand why. Their latest single Oh Yeah Oh No is another incredible chapter in their story, and I'm sure it will be very well received.
Read More...
Moonflower - Album Review: Dark Lullabies
17 Apr 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again it seems that a band/artist I’m reviewing hails from Christchurch (the city has some serious talent I’m telling you). Formed only in 2017 Moonflower is made up of singer/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap with accompanying musicians Josh Fairless on guitar, Damon Thurlow on bass and Ethan Bryant on keys.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: One Night Stand
24 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Well, Craig Payne is back at it again with his second album titled One Night Stand. Who would have thought that a young boy born in France, briefly raised in the UK only to end up living in New Zealand (of all places) would have come so far in his music career?
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Single Review: Ragnarok
07 Mar 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Formed in 2002, Christchurch-based The Snake Behaviour are back with a brand-new track titled Ragnarok. While this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of them, this is the first time I’ve heard their music and whilst I’m disappointed that it’s taken me this long I’m actually somewhat pleased that this is my first experience with them.
Read More...
ManaLion - Album Review: Nothing II Lose
22 Feb 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Nothing II Lose is the second full length album from this dynamic duo, hailing from Greytown and Whakatane. ManaLion is made up of Duan Kaka and Craig 'Mondo' Monika and they credit their influences from a wide range of musical styles from soul to funk to rap, even with a little hardcore thrown in for good measure.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Single Review: Nineteen Sixty-Five
26 Jan 2019 // by Jessie Armstrong
Once again I’ve found myself listening to a track by the ever talented Craig Payne and as always I have loved it from the second I heard the opening guitars - I am honestly just a sucker for a good guitar riff. There’s a reason I’m drawn to Craig's music; he’s able to write in such a way that’s so visually stimulating that you find yourself transported into the song itself.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jessie Armstrong

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem