26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha

28 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all. Tumbled head first into the gritty, hard out world of Super Heavy Rap Shit. And I loved every verse of it.

Before I move on, Super Heavy Rap Shit is a collaboration between rapper, song writer and producer JCK (James Castady–Kristament), Pakkz The General and Alpha. All three artists worked on the song writing for this track. The visuals are clever graphics and imagery featuring all three men and the New York City skyline with a gangsta vibe and King Kong references. It's an animation with smart editing.

I won’t sugar coat it, the lyrics are R18, so if you are easily offended… look away. But if you are open to the meaning behind the lyrics and respect the writing and rhyme then read on. There ain't no pink fluffy unicorns here.

As a writer I found this to be clever and concise, I am under no illusion that writing a decent rap song is easy. These guys nailed it with each line and verse flowing effortlessly with the big bass beat. I know JCK can write, his track record has proved that and lucky for me a majority of his YouTube videos have accompanying lyrics, a blessing for nosey reviewers that need to know the ins and out of everything.

This is clean with a dramatic blend of drum and bass also incorporating the sound of what may be a Pungi (instrument used by snake charmers). I may be wrong, but to my ears that is what is sounded like. The three artists complement each other well. It is an honest, raw intelligently mixed fast rap which pulls no punches and if you close your eyes you may be forgiven thinking there is a touch of Eminem in there.

This combined my addiction to bass with an interesting writing style and original alternative Kiwi music into one mean track. I can't wait for the release of JCK's new album Input/Output, it will be an album I can really sink my teeth into.

“These rappers and their tactics we hold it down by putting words into action cause we on that shit”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About JCK

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is all about creativity and originality. Gothic imagery, catchy well crafted songs and captivating music videos set JCK apart from the legions of look alike, sound alike Hip-Hop artists currently flooding the market.

"Most Hip-Hop artists seem to want to take you on the same journey with their music. That's usually a trip through the hood they grew up in. It's like the hoods getting over crowded with rapper tour guides. I might take you to the hood for a quick look around, but only on route to the carnival"

JCK is a multi instrumentalist as well as a rapper and singer. He produces his own music and even films, directs and edits his own music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JCK

Releases

Glass
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Input/Output
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Land of the Wrong White Crowd
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Bees
Year: 2011
Type: Album
5 Year Anniversary
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
ZÖ - EP Review: War
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
ZO (Zoe Jennings) is a musical artist from Whangarei but she is currently based in Wellington. She has just released her first EP War.
Read More...
Louis Baker - Single/Video Review: The People
15 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based independent singer/songwriter Louis Baker has just released a gorgeous heart-felt single The People. His smooth soulful voice delighting us yet again with a taste of what’s to come from his long-awaited debut album, due to be released later this year.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Album Review: Clarity
11 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of his single release Better Days, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Sam Loveridge  has revealed to the world his 11 track debut album Clarity. Sam has been around for a while now, on the Auckland folk circuit.
Read More...
Gig Review: Aro @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga – 30/03/2019
31 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a glorious evening in Tauranga last night, the sun set in a stunning blaze of glory casting an orange glow over the village. As people started to arrive to see Aro, we all gathered on the deck to watch the beautiful sunset accompanied by Canadian geese in perfect formation flying above us.
Read More...
The Settlers - EP Review: Speech
29 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Settlers are a thriving hip-hop crew from Lyttleton Harbour in Christchurch. This is the band’s latest body of work, an EP called Speech.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Single/Video Review: Eye To Eye
27 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lou’ana of Auckland’s popular funk-fusion band the Hipstamatics, has ventured out on her own with a stunning debut solo single Eye To Eye. The result is a mesmerising soulful sound accompanied by a mystical, highly polished music video.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem