20 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha

28 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all. Tumbled head first into the gritty, hard out world of Super Heavy Rap Shit. And I loved every verse of it.

Before I move on, Super Heavy Rap Shit is a collaboration between rapper, song writer and producer JCK (James Castady–Kristament), Pakkz The General and Alpha. All three artists worked on the song writing for this track. The visuals are clever graphics and imagery featuring all three men and the New York City skyline with a gangsta vibe and King Kong references. It's an animation with smart editing.

I won’t sugar coat it, the lyrics are R18, so if you are easily offended… look away. But if you are open to the meaning behind the lyrics and respect the writing and rhyme then read on. There ain't no pink fluffy unicorns here.

As a writer I found this to be clever and concise, I am under no illusion that writing a decent rap song is easy. These guys nailed it with each line and verse flowing effortlessly with the big bass beat. I know JCK can write, his track record has proved that and lucky for me a majority of his YouTube videos have accompanying lyrics, a blessing for nosey reviewers that need to know the ins and out of everything.

This is clean with a dramatic blend of drum and bass also incorporating the sound of what may be a Pungi (instrument used by snake charmers). I may be wrong, but to my ears that is what is sounded like. The three artists complement each other well. It is an honest, raw intelligently mixed fast rap which pulls no punches and if you close your eyes you may be forgiven thinking there is a touch of Eminem in there.

This combined my addiction to bass with an interesting writing style and original alternative Kiwi music into one mean track. I can't wait for the release of JCK's new album Input/Output, it will be an album I can really sink my teeth into.

“These rappers and their tactics we hold it down by putting words into action cause we on that shit”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About JCK

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is all about creativity and originality. Gothic imagery, catchy well crafted songs and captivating music videos set JCK apart from the legions of look alike, sound alike Hip-Hop artists currently flooding the market.

"Most Hip-Hop artists seem to want to take you on the same journey with their music. That's usually a trip through the hood they grew up in. It's like the hoods getting over crowded with rapper tour guides. I might take you to the hood for a quick look around, but only on route to the carnival"

JCK is a multi instrumentalist as well as a rapper and singer. He produces his own music and even films, directs and edits his own music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JCK

Releases

Glass
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Input/Output
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Land of the Wrong White Crowd
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Bees
Year: 2011
Type: Album
5 Year Anniversary
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019
16 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem