14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha

28 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all. Tumbled head first into the gritty, hard out world of Super Heavy Rap Shit. And I loved every verse of it.

Before I move on, Super Heavy Rap Shit is a collaboration between rapper, song writer and producer JCK (James Castady–Kristament), Pakkz The General and Alpha. All three artists worked on the song writing for this track. The visuals are clever graphics and imagery featuring all three men and the New York City skyline with a gangsta vibe and King Kong references. It's an animation with smart editing.

I won’t sugar coat it, the lyrics are R18, so if you are easily offended… look away. But if you are open to the meaning behind the lyrics and respect the writing and rhyme then read on. There ain't no pink fluffy unicorns here.

As a writer I found this to be clever and concise, I am under no illusion that writing a decent rap song is easy. These guys nailed it with each line and verse flowing effortlessly with the big bass beat. I know JCK can write, his track record has proved that and lucky for me a majority of his YouTube videos have accompanying lyrics, a blessing for nosey reviewers that need to know the ins and out of everything.

This is clean with a dramatic blend of drum and bass also incorporating the sound of what may be a Pungi (instrument used by snake charmers). I may be wrong, but to my ears that is what is sounded like. The three artists complement each other well. It is an honest, raw intelligently mixed fast rap which pulls no punches and if you close your eyes you may be forgiven thinking there is a touch of Eminem in there.

This combined my addiction to bass with an interesting writing style and original alternative Kiwi music into one mean track. I can't wait for the release of JCK's new album Input/Output, it will be an album I can really sink my teeth into.

“These rappers and their tactics we hold it down by putting words into action cause we on that shit”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About JCK

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is all about creativity and originality. Gothic imagery, catchy well crafted songs and captivating music videos set JCK apart from the legions of look alike, sound alike Hip-Hop artists currently flooding the market.

"Most Hip-Hop artists seem to want to take you on the same journey with their music. That's usually a trip through the hood they grew up in. It's like the hoods getting over crowded with rapper tour guides. I might take you to the hood for a quick look around, but only on route to the carnival"

JCK is a multi instrumentalist as well as a rapper and singer. He produces his own music and even films, directs and edits his own music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JCK

Releases

Glass
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Input/Output
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Land of the Wrong White Crowd
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Bees
Year: 2011
Type: Album
5 Year Anniversary
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

JCK - Single/Video Review: Headbutt A Spike
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is ending the year with a shocking bang as he releases an animated music video for Headbutt A Spike, this is the third track on his recently released double album Input/Output. No point in beating around the bush or whitewashing the obvious, this is Itchy and Scratchy on acid, it is R18 rated and people will be offended by it “I am not going to lie.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Unknown Talent
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga rock band Apollo SteamTrain has released another infectious new single, just in time to see out the end of 2018. Unknown Talent was written by front man Brendan McCarthy and is described as a “sonic Pop Rock ditty” and is the result of a scrambled mass of thoughts needing to get out and be heard.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Satellites
05 Dec 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Taupo-based songwriter Dan Sharp has just released a stunning new single called Satellites. This track was an absolute pleasure to my auditory senses, a gorgeous soulful song which “reflects on the trials of being away from loved ones in pursuit of a dream”.
Read More...
Aro - Album Review: Manu
29 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Aro; the husband and wife team made up of Charles and Emily Looker, will be releasing their debut album titled Manu (bird) in February 2019. This ten-track album is a bilingual Te Reo Maori and English native bird inspired project.
Read More...
Cheshire Grimm - Single Review: So Much For The Summer
16 Nov 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Cheshire Grimm has been through several incarnations since they started out in the beautiful garden city of Hamilton back in 2012. Kat Waswo (vocals/bass) and Lora Thompson (guitar/vocals) now joined by Craig Gilliver on drums have released their latest grungy, gloom rock track So Much For The Summer.
Read More...
Coridian - Single/Video Review: Better Off
23 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Coridian are back again with a “crushing” new single Better Off . The four-piece Auckland based rock group with impressive energy and a powerful sound are continuing their pursuit for radio domination with yet another stunner of a release.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Don’t Know You No More
12 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Not long after his successful single Fingerprints was released and received airplay on actual radio stations, comes Auckland based Geoff Ong’s “banger” of a tune Don’t Know You No More, coinciding with a fun, frolicsome somewhat tongue-in-cheek video directed by Lochana Wijesundera, busting moves reminiscent of the “Carlton” (youngins may have to Google that) and cementing his self-proclaimed status of “pop star for dorks”. He has a wicked sense of humour which has given me a few giggles whilst stalking him for research.
Read More...
Sky Canvas - Single Review: Fossil
09 Oct 2018 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative Soul/hip hop 5 piece band Sky Canvas from Wellington, have released a funky new single Fossil - a rich bluesy beat infused with synth and accompanied by the strong soulful vocals of Katelin Little. Fossil is a jazzy number with a futuristic sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem