21 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha

28 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all. Tumbled head first into the gritty, hard out world of Super Heavy Rap Shit. And I loved every verse of it.

Before I move on, Super Heavy Rap Shit is a collaboration between rapper, song writer and producer JCK (James Castady–Kristament), Pakkz The General and Alpha. All three artists worked on the song writing for this track. The visuals are clever graphics and imagery featuring all three men and the New York City skyline with a gangsta vibe and King Kong references. It's an animation with smart editing.

I won’t sugar coat it, the lyrics are R18, so if you are easily offended… look away. But if you are open to the meaning behind the lyrics and respect the writing and rhyme then read on. There ain't no pink fluffy unicorns here.

As a writer I found this to be clever and concise, I am under no illusion that writing a decent rap song is easy. These guys nailed it with each line and verse flowing effortlessly with the big bass beat. I know JCK can write, his track record has proved that and lucky for me a majority of his YouTube videos have accompanying lyrics, a blessing for nosey reviewers that need to know the ins and out of everything.

This is clean with a dramatic blend of drum and bass also incorporating the sound of what may be a Pungi (instrument used by snake charmers). I may be wrong, but to my ears that is what is sounded like. The three artists complement each other well. It is an honest, raw intelligently mixed fast rap which pulls no punches and if you close your eyes you may be forgiven thinking there is a touch of Eminem in there.

This combined my addiction to bass with an interesting writing style and original alternative Kiwi music into one mean track. I can't wait for the release of JCK's new album Input/Output, it will be an album I can really sink my teeth into.

“These rappers and their tactics we hold it down by putting words into action cause we on that shit”.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About JCK

New Zealand Hip-Hop artist JCK is all about creativity and originality. Gothic imagery, catchy well crafted songs and captivating music videos set JCK apart from the legions of look alike, sound alike Hip-Hop artists currently flooding the market.

"Most Hip-Hop artists seem to want to take you on the same journey with their music. That's usually a trip through the hood they grew up in. It's like the hoods getting over crowded with rapper tour guides. I might take you to the hood for a quick look around, but only on route to the carnival"

JCK is a multi instrumentalist as well as a rapper and singer. He produces his own music and even films, directs and edits his own music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JCK

Releases

Glass
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Input/Output
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Land of the Wrong White Crowd
Year: 2015
Type: Album
The Bees
Year: 2011
Type: Album
5 Year Anniversary
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Glow Becky - Single/Video Review: Stand Up
06 Mar 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A five-piece alternative rock band from Auckland originally named after an archaeological find in Turkey (with suspected evidence of extra-terrestrial interaction), have released their new single and music video Stand Up. The now more pronounceable Glow Becky, previously Gobekli Tepe formed in late 2016 and are relative new comers to the NZ rock scene.
Read More...
Sam Loveridge - Single/Video Review: Better Days
27 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based multi-instrumentalist Sam Loveridge has released his debut single Better Days, prior to his album Clarity which is due to follow at the end of March. Sam's solo debut is also accompanied by a humorous video written/directed by Loren Black and edited by Jamie Crerar.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review - Mono
25 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Independent Christchurch based multi-instrumentalist Li’l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine, has just released his third album Mono. David Thorpe (aka Li’l Chuck) shines on this album, fourteen tracks of pure nostalgic blues, early jazz and ragtime recorded at Sugar Ray’s Vintage Recording Studio, in Essex, UK.
Read More...
George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem