18 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings

27 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres

“Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett. and co-produced by Kane Bennett and Mecuzine.

I have a review to write, so I need to flesh out the following statement, but in a nutshell I bloody like this album. And here is why.

Having just completed reviewing the band’s debut single Don’t Fire That Gun a little over a month ago, Mecuzine were fresh in my head when the 10-track album landed on my desk, (or rather link in my inbox). It seems I grabbed hold of the reference to them being the Michelin Masters of Music and had a nibble of the sampler. Going with that theme, I have just feasted on their entire album, pigged out on first rate NZ old school rock loaded with intense instrumentals and “subtle arrangements”.  
 

I have mentioned before that there is a wonderful cohesive and clear sound to Mecuzine. Decades of performing and connections to some big named artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child and First Base both in the New Zealand music industry and abroad have given these guys a strong sound. This is a gutsy album which has an 80's rock sound, peppered with dramatic ballad style songs. References around the internet describe the sound from these guys as similar to Third Eye Blind, Hunters And Collectors (the later years) and Greg Johnson.

The piano playing by John Beech throughout Cutting Strings adds another layer to the bass guitar and resounding drumming of Mike Walsh. There is certainly a depth and finesse to this original album which belies the Indie rock tag.

Tony Johns (also lead guitar and singer) is a strong vocalist; a powerful voice which compliments the song writing. Backing vocals from Tony Lumsden (bass and backing vocals) and Jospeh Johns (rhythm guitar and backing vocals) add another level of complexity.
 

This is a good solid album which I had no problem digesting, it gave me a hit of nostalgia and had enough variety to keep me intrigued. The collective experience of each band member makes for an extremely worthwhile Kiwi rock experience.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mecuzine

The Mecuzine Experience

Decades of playing, touring and recording nationally and abroad makes these five musicians a formidable combination. Each with their own story to tell with artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child, First Base and heaps more. Combine that pedigree with brilliant song-writing, subtle arrangements and skilled, dynamic performance and you have a band which deserves the accolades.

Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules. The band is increasingly being recognised in the music industry for their exciting and dynamic mix of musical genres, from classic R&B to indie pop with a sprinkling of reggae. These Michelin Masters of music have whipped up a tantalising and unforgettable musical meal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!
30 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Album Review: Feel The Love
24 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based group Kong Fooey have just dropped Feel The Love, an epic new eleven track album jammed full of sweet electro beats and cracking Funky House. How many bands can say their first gig was playing for 12,000 people before Supergroove  hit the stage?
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Release: Not Another Ballad
22 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian-born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released a brand new single Not Another Ballad - an energetic and cheery number, guaranteed to get you moving your booty across the dance floor. Conceived from the willingness to placate her band with the promise of “not another ballad”, the song of the same name was born.
Read More...
Bailey Wiley - Single Review: Between The Lines
15 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based RnB sensation with the breath-taking soulful voice; Bailey Wiley has just released her latest single Between The Lines. This track gives fans a glimpse inside Bailey's mind as she falls in love.
Read More...
Jan Hellriegel - Album Review: Sportsman Of The Year
06 May 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Jan Hellriegel is somewhat of an NZ musical icon, Songwriter, performer, producer, music publisher, copyright expert, mother and now author she has a name many of us of a certain age would have heard of. Her latest body of work Sportsman Of The Year appears to be a defining moment in not only her musical life, but also her personal one.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters and James Wilkinson - Single Review: Spaces Between Words
25 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Nelson based singer songwriter Jacquie Walters is about to release an alluring new single Spaces Between Words, featuring James Wilkinson on bass and Jacquie on guitar and vocals. Jacquie and James have shared many musical memories spanning over 25 years.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - EP Review: Lucifer
17 Apr 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Two-piece NZ Rock sensation Skinny Hobos are back again with another epic offering in the form of a 6 track EP titled Lucifer. I am not sure if these guys ever sleep, consistently releasing top quality recordings of the most excellent kind.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • THE LONDON
    Young Thug feat. J. Cole And Travis Scott
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem