19 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings

27 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres

“Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett. and co-produced by Kane Bennett and Mecuzine.

I have a review to write, so I need to flesh out the following statement, but in a nutshell I bloody like this album. And here is why.

Having just completed reviewing the band’s debut single Don’t Fire That Gun a little over a month ago, Mecuzine were fresh in my head when the 10-track album landed on my desk, (or rather link in my inbox). It seems I grabbed hold of the reference to them being the Michelin Masters of Music and had a nibble of the sampler. Going with that theme, I have just feasted on their entire album, pigged out on first rate NZ old school rock loaded with intense instrumentals and “subtle arrangements”.  
 

I have mentioned before that there is a wonderful cohesive and clear sound to Mecuzine. Decades of performing and connections to some big named artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child and First Base both in the New Zealand music industry and abroad have given these guys a strong sound. This is a gutsy album which has an 80's rock sound, peppered with dramatic ballad style songs. References around the internet describe the sound from these guys as similar to Third Eye Blind, Hunters And Collectors (the later years) and Greg Johnson.

The piano playing by John Beech throughout Cutting Strings adds another layer to the bass guitar and resounding drumming of Mike Walsh. There is certainly a depth and finesse to this original album which belies the Indie rock tag.

Tony Johns (also lead guitar and singer) is a strong vocalist; a powerful voice which compliments the song writing. Backing vocals from Tony Lumsden (bass and backing vocals) and Jospeh Johns (rhythm guitar and backing vocals) add another level of complexity.
 

This is a good solid album which I had no problem digesting, it gave me a hit of nostalgia and had enough variety to keep me intrigued. The collective experience of each band member makes for an extremely worthwhile Kiwi rock experience.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mecuzine

The Mecuzine Experience

Decades of playing, touring and recording nationally and abroad makes these five musicians a formidable combination. Each with their own story to tell with artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child, First Base and heaps more. Combine that pedigree with brilliant song-writing, subtle arrangements and skilled, dynamic performance and you have a band which deserves the accolades.

Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules. The band is increasingly being recognised in the music industry for their exciting and dynamic mix of musical genres, from classic R&B to indie pop with a sprinkling of reggae. These Michelin Masters of music have whipped up a tantalising and unforgettable musical meal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

George - Single Review: Vacant Cities
18 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Georgia Lines aka George is a bit of a local treasure I wasn’t aware of. Based in Mt Maunganui, George has just released her catchy debut single Vacant Cities, accompanied by a stunning music video which is a visual work of art.
Read More...
Marshmellow - Album Review: The Feels
13 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Once I put the w on the end of Marshmellow, it became clear that the alter-ego of singer-songwriter Marshall Smith based in Auckland definitely was not a DJ/EDM artist masquerading as a soft chewy sugar based confectionery, but a well-established award winning New Zealand based composer and producer, writing music for major international movies, documentaries and commercials. You might know his face from many TV adverts and presenter of Big Wednesday.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Slack Tide
11 Feb 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
After releasing two stunning singles, Satellites and Have To Change, Dan Sharp has finally released his five-track EP Slack Tide. I had the honour of reviewing his two single releases prior to this, and as good fortune would have it, I now get to review the entire EP.
Read More...
Andrew McLennan - Single Review: So Easy
30 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
When I see the name Andrew McLennan (AKA Andrew Snoid), my mind goes straight to 80's NZ New Wave pop music, when the likes of Pop Mechanix, Blam Blam Blam, The Plague and The Swingers became household names, but it is Coconut Rough with the huge hit Sierra Leone that triggered the light bulb to go off in my head. A song instantly recognisable by people of a certain age.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - Single Review: Have To Change
29 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The dust has barely settled from Dan Sharp's release of Satellites, when he goes and drops another stunning track Have To Change. This is the last stand-alone single to be released from Dan's upcoming 5-track EP Slack Tide, which is due for release in early February.
Read More...
The Generation - Single Review: Signs
21 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
The Generation are a relatively new band to emerge from The Waikato; founded by singer/songwriter ZVI and guitarist Grenville Bell (ex-Katchafire), and they are starting to turn some heads with their smooth blend of original Reggae/Soul and progressive music. They certainly turned mine.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Kia ora
15 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Riqi Harawira has been performing solo for many years now, following his time as guitarist for The Dead Flowers, and it is clear he has crafted his music to perfection. Kia ora features on his second album Mauri, which is due to be released mid-January 2019 through Waatea Music.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Upside-Down World
06 Jan 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
David Sutton, originally from Essex in the UK and now based in Wellington has added another album to his impressive range. Upside-Down World is his latest release proving that the man of few words and very little self-promotion is still “writing and recording songs.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem