22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings

27 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres

“Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett. and co-produced by Kane Bennett and Mecuzine.

I have a review to write, so I need to flesh out the following statement, but in a nutshell I bloody like this album. And here is why.

Having just completed reviewing the band’s debut single Don’t Fire That Gun a little over a month ago, Mecuzine were fresh in my head when the 10-track album landed on my desk, (or rather link in my inbox). It seems I grabbed hold of the reference to them being the Michelin Masters of Music and had a nibble of the sampler. Going with that theme, I have just feasted on their entire album, pigged out on first rate NZ old school rock loaded with intense instrumentals and “subtle arrangements”.  
 

I have mentioned before that there is a wonderful cohesive and clear sound to Mecuzine. Decades of performing and connections to some big named artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child and First Base both in the New Zealand music industry and abroad have given these guys a strong sound. This is a gutsy album which has an 80's rock sound, peppered with dramatic ballad style songs. References around the internet describe the sound from these guys as similar to Third Eye Blind, Hunters And Collectors (the later years) and Greg Johnson.

The piano playing by John Beech throughout Cutting Strings adds another layer to the bass guitar and resounding drumming of Mike Walsh. There is certainly a depth and finesse to this original album which belies the Indie rock tag.

Tony Johns (also lead guitar and singer) is a strong vocalist; a powerful voice which compliments the song writing. Backing vocals from Tony Lumsden (bass and backing vocals) and Jospeh Johns (rhythm guitar and backing vocals) add another level of complexity.
 

This is a good solid album which I had no problem digesting, it gave me a hit of nostalgia and had enough variety to keep me intrigued. The collective experience of each band member makes for an extremely worthwhile Kiwi rock experience.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mecuzine

The Mecuzine Experience

Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules. The band is increasingly being recognized in the music industry for their exciting and dynamic mix of musical genres, from classic R&B to indie pop with a sprinkling of reggae. These Michelin Masters of music have whipped up a tantalising and unforgettable musical meal.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem