17 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings

27 Jul 2018 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres

“Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett. and co-produced by Kane Bennett and Mecuzine.

I have a review to write, so I need to flesh out the following statement, but in a nutshell I bloody like this album. And here is why.

Having just completed reviewing the band’s debut single Don’t Fire That Gun a little over a month ago, Mecuzine were fresh in my head when the 10-track album landed on my desk, (or rather link in my inbox). It seems I grabbed hold of the reference to them being the Michelin Masters of Music and had a nibble of the sampler. Going with that theme, I have just feasted on their entire album, pigged out on first rate NZ old school rock loaded with intense instrumentals and “subtle arrangements”.  
 

I have mentioned before that there is a wonderful cohesive and clear sound to Mecuzine. Decades of performing and connections to some big named artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child and First Base both in the New Zealand music industry and abroad have given these guys a strong sound. This is a gutsy album which has an 80's rock sound, peppered with dramatic ballad style songs. References around the internet describe the sound from these guys as similar to Third Eye Blind, Hunters And Collectors (the later years) and Greg Johnson.

The piano playing by John Beech throughout Cutting Strings adds another layer to the bass guitar and resounding drumming of Mike Walsh. There is certainly a depth and finesse to this original album which belies the Indie rock tag.

Tony Johns (also lead guitar and singer) is a strong vocalist; a powerful voice which compliments the song writing. Backing vocals from Tony Lumsden (bass and backing vocals) and Jospeh Johns (rhythm guitar and backing vocals) add another level of complexity.
 

This is a good solid album which I had no problem digesting, it gave me a hit of nostalgia and had enough variety to keep me intrigued. The collective experience of each band member makes for an extremely worthwhile Kiwi rock experience.

★★★★ (4 stars)


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About Mecuzine

Mecuzine – The Band

Mecuzine delivers a high-intensity performance, that keeps their audience engaged throughout each well-polished set. Combined, the two pieces bring with them years of experience from both a live performance perspective, as well as from in the studio.
Originally a 5-piece rock band, with their new minimized line-up, Joseph and Tony had to reinvent not just how they performed their music on stage but also how they conveyed their musical ideas. Going back to their beginnings, the duo first recalled the music throughout their lives that inspired them. Next, they looked at what defines popular music in the modern world. With that in mind, they have re-imagined their own music to bridge old and new and create their own sonic sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

Cutting Strings
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) – Acoustic Version
11 May 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Alternative rock band from Dunedin, Saurian (meaning “lizard-like”), have recently re-released a new single of an old favourite, Tyre Tracks (In The Sky) as an acoustic version. Removing the loud distorted guitars, drums and big vocals, resulting in a restrained sound consisting of acoustic guitar, strings, percussion and softer vocals.
Read More...
Metrosideros - EP Review: Var.
30 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
From the south coast of Wellington, Metrosideros' Matt Dalzell and Ellie Rose have created somewhat of a cool and funky trip hop sound with swirling’s of dub and journeys into backbeats. Their latest EP, Var.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Album Review: The Fuchsia & The Grey
07 Apr 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
LA based New Zealand musical artist Eden Iris has just released her debut album The Fuchsia &The Grey; an evocative eleven track album of beautifully crafted indie-folk songs, which "showcases the evolution of an artist who is highly dedicated to her craft". Eden has been growing her fanbase with a steady release of singles in between major projects, ever since moving to Los Angeles when she was nineteen.
Read More...
wells* - EP Review: Tape 3
24 Mar 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based singer, song writer and producer Wells* (Josh Naley) has just released the latest and final instalment in a three part series of mini EPs. Tape 3 concludes his unique personal project.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: Alchemy Feat. Rei
26 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch singer-songwriter SHAYNA has teamed up with Wellingtonian hip-hop artist Rei to create a slick new single Alchemy. Described as "Pop & RnB hooks over a progressive bass line & glittery high-level production", this is a track which flows seamlessly.
Read More...
Grace Duncan - EP Review: Ruminations
25 Feb 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally from Hawkes Bay and currently residing in Wellington is composer and singer-songwriter Grace Duncan who has just released her eight track EP, Ruminations. Offering delicate layers of sound and graceful vocals, making this a haunting yet serenely beautiful collection of previously released singles.
Read More...
JANG - EP Review: COPS
31 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based, energetic three piece punk outfit JANG have just released their debut EP COPS. The band’s sound described as "Surf Punk Slam" is summed up in this catchy tumultuous wave of five tracks, which took almost two years to complete.
Read More...
Anthony Coulter - Album Review: Memories
18 Jan 2021 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tauranga based singer, song writer and musician Anthony Coulter has just released his debut album Memories. Twelve tracks resplendent in smooth melodic vocal style and theatrical wonder.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem