21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Undercut - Single Review: Blue Nurse

10 Jul 2018 // A review by Alex Moulton

Undercut’s latest release Blue Nurse is a grungy little number, that has an early 2000’s vibe; encapsulating the energy of albums of the era, such as Hoobastank’s 2004 The Reason, Taking Back Sunday’s 2006 Louder Now, while maintaining that kiwi sound (that track brings back fond memories of when Goodshirt’s Green was released).

A simple track, that maintains a good pace during the verses and is reminiscent of Sommerset’s Streets Don’t Close, with hints of the punchy power chords of Villainy’s Ammunition throughout the outro. While the vocal style and effects give the track a “British rock” feel, it remains without a doubt, a kiwi rock song with a brilliant natural rhythm that just makes you want to jump up and down.

Those opening chords are the real hook, as it reminds me so much of the starting riff from It's Not a Fashion Statement, It's a Fucking Deathwish, off My Chemical Romance’s Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge album, a staple of my music collection as a teenager. Not just the similarity in chords, but the tight, clean nature in which it is played. It is clear that Undercut have many years of experience under their belt and have a masterful control of song composition and layering, ebbing and flowing naturally.

With so much variety in guitar effects, the song survives through many plays as there are so many little changes between riffs and layers that are revealed with each listen. With so many kiwi rock acts in New Zealand preferring to aim toward the heavier end of the spectrum, it’s refreshing to see Undercut pushing the lighter more indie range.


Review written by Alex Moulton

 

About Undercut

Undercut is newly formed from experienced Auckland music scene musicians, Mike Crowhen, John Hancock and Dave Crowhen who have between them performed with 12 bands. Reforming after a twenty year hiatus, this experience shines through in their live performances and on their recently released E.P.

Undercut builds on their 90's collaboration - an industrial band called Seat Bee Sate, with a new sound harking back to their grunge, indie, rock and metal roots. Undercut's style as a band is raw, punchy and lyrical, tackling real-life dilemmas.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Undercut

Releases

Blue Nurse
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Take The Wheel
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Alex Moulton

Gig Review: Devilskin @ Altitude, Hamilton
14 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Two hours before the doors officially opened, fans were lining up outside of Hamilton’s Altitude Bar. Some already waiting for the 8pm doors opening, but most there for the VIP experience; getting into the venue early and receiving VIP lanyards, posters and a meet and greet with the band.
Read More...
Pacific Heights - Album Review: A Lost Light
13 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
A Lost Light is the Pacific Heights album I have been intrigued about ever since I reviewing The Greystone; a single that I described as having “a relaxing, tranquil tone that makes the body want to move gracefully and simultaneously sink into a mass of blankets”. As such, The Greystone is the opening track, which leaves the remainder of the album as exciting, unknown territory.
Read More...
Same Name Confusion - Single Review: My Plastic Baby
13 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
My Plastic Baby is an incredibly preppy track from Same Name Confusion. An incredibly upbeat song, with an 80’s pop-rock vibe.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Just For The Night
13 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Just For The Night is the first single to be released in the lead up to the release of Kong Fooey’s second album Feel The Love. Well and truly moving away from the soul and hip-hop specific themes of his debut album, Final Destination, producer Jason Peters has maintained a level of funk while exploring a more pop-infused electronic style of music.
Read More...
Tommie - Single Review: Better
12 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Better is first single from electronic pop artist Tommie, a teaser of what to expect from the forthcoming debut EP Bleach. Providing a simple beat and repeated instrumental riffs, Better places all focus on the vocals on Tommie.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fables @ The Wine Cellar, Auckland
11 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Stepping through the door of Auckland’s Wine Cellar, I was caught off-guard. Gone was the empty floor space and in its place were several rows of seats, already nearly full with what looks like a number of friends and family.
Read More...
Gearloose - Single Review: Tomorrow At My Fingertips
06 Sep 2018 // by Alex Moulton
While having previously released music digitally over the last decade on Bandcamp, Tomorrow At My Fingertips is the first official single release from New Zealand’s own Steven King AKA Gearloose ahead of an intended full album release. Instrumentally, Tomorrow At My Fingertips is a very simple track; upbeat but still contemplative, the song is driven by a simple snare/hi-hat combination.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jessy & the Volunteers @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 24/08/2018
30 Aug 2018 // by Alex Moulton
Anthology Lounge is one of the newest kids on the block in regards to gig venues in Auckland City, and the vibe inside is relaxed. Set up with a series of circular booths and tables, the scene is set up more for seated affairs, than jamming people together in the standing area in front of the stage.
Read More...
View All Articles By Alex Moulton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem