17 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

New Age Leper - Single Review: The Tragic Tale of a Self Obsessed Man

08 Jul 2018 // A review by hailtree
New Age Leper's latest single is a little bit of ode to anyone who thinks a little differently. To me, it expresses perfectly that selfish cycle of believing that you've got the answers, and so everyone should believe what you believe... except that this is a commonly shared thought process, among many different people with very different beliefs (I've got opinions that you don't want to hear).

It's a song that's full of thick smoky Rock riffs, laced with quick lyrics that plant themselves deep into your mind.

My only criticism is that it leaves me wanting more. Luckily New Age Leper are busy burrowing away, working on some more material for us to consume.

Listen (and download) on Bandcamp


Review written by Amanda Hailwood
 

About New Age Leper

Formed in early 2015, New Age Leper is the brain child of creative duo, Bjørn Christianson and Pauly Lowe. Having a long history of writing together, it was time to join forces again and create a new venture. Out of this experiment came the band New Age Leper.

Joining Bjørn and Pauly late 2015 was Felix Faisandier on bass guitar. The duo became a trio and live shows became a reality. With a focus on driving, robot riffs, the band have chosen to focus on catchy hooks while at the same time maintaining an element of melancholy. Vintage guitar sounds are at the core of their rock integrity.

Joining the lepers early 2017, was their fourth and final member, Callum Worsley on keys and lead guitars.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for New Age Leper

Releases

The Day The Stranger Came
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Nuclear Family
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By hailtree

Fables - EP Review: Portraits
11 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
Fables latest release Portraits is absolutely stunning – for a release that was originally meant to be a 4 song EP recorded at Wine Cellar, adding the extra 3 songs may have been a risk in quantity over quality. However, this release definitely doesn’t disappoint.
Read More...
Julia Deans @ Tuning Fork, Auckland
03 Sep 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a quiet Saturday evening down in Auckland, and I’m a little worried I’ve come to the wrong venue – as there isn’t a single soul outside. I make my way up to the door and am greeted by a couple of friendly security guards, who quickly usher me in as the show is about to start.
Read More...
Lookin Up - Single Review: Enough
15 Aug 2018 // by hailtree
I want to be / Everything and more… / … But I forget / I was raised by a world that didn’t care Fast paced, self-aware, yet self-absorbed, but most of all - hella catchy. Lookin Up’s first release in 4 years hit the internet just over a month ago - after taking a hiatus for a few years, the band is back with a whole new sound, and a whole lot of drive to get things done.
Read More...
The Adults - Album Review: Haja
30 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Okay first up. This album will make you want to dance, and I don’t even like dancing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Soaked Oats @ Galatos, Auckland - 27/07/2018
29 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night and every nook and doorway of Galatos Street is packed with kids hiding away smoking ciggies and drinking wine straight out of the bottle. I wonder how many of them came down with intentions of getting door sales – as Soaked Oats had announced during the day that they would have 20 available on the night – but by the time we get there, just eight minutes after the doors had opened, they’d already sold out.
Read More...
Huia - EP Review: Āio
27 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Āioʻ - ʻto be at Peaceʻ. Āio is what we strive for in our own minds, Āio is what nature is calling for and Āio is what the world needs Alright first, I'll admit my Te Reo is pretty rough for someone who calls themselves a born and bred Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Crooked Royals @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 13/07/2018
16 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
It’s a Friday night, and as I climb up the dark stairwell to the gig room at Ding Dong Lounge in Auckland, I can hear the first band Downfall of Humanity already playing – honestly since when did bands get this organised? I swear a few years ago a show that opened its doors at 8 wouldn’t ever start until after 9.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: Untitled
13 Jul 2018 // by hailtree
Churlington are a band that were formed out of a desire to create a band with as minimal effort as possible. They pride themselves on this and used it proudly in their video to advertise their latest EP - which funnily enough, doesn’t even have a name.
Read More...
View All Articles By hailtree

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem