23 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached

07 Jul 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands.

Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.

A striking departure from his band’s previous efforts, the 2012 Waikato Young Singers Award winner’s first track is the RnB styled No Strings Attached, which manages to take the old-world sensibilities of his 90's predecessors and mixes it with the fresh coat of this generation’s production values and aesthetic. The result is something that would feel at home on several of this nation’s often genre specific radio and television stations. Pop enough for The Edge, soulful enough for Mai FM.

Speaking of the age-old problems that come with relationships, the lyrics are relatable enough for those to which words matter. The music is one of those slow jams you put on when you get home in the taxi after successfully navigating the minefield that is dancefloor relationships. Post nightclub sex music as I came to call it, in the context of a previous flatmates after town playlist. It’s a niche market, but Pyper seems to have tapped into it.

While listenable in its current form, this feels like a track begging for a Radio Friendly dance remix. I think that’s what’s going to really make Brendan Pyper a household name, taking his obvious talent and applying it to the music of the masses. Speaking again of the Bedingfield, it was his catchy garage styled Gotta Get Thru This that paved the way for the success of his slower, more romantic If You’re Not The One

While not my genre, biased though I am – it was an upstairs flatmate, and I am not the type for town – I’ll give this a solid 5/5. It’s a strong first effort, and a fine RnB track, especially coming from someone who’s previous work was in a Pop Rock band. It shows Pyper isn’t a one-trick pony, and really shows of his vocal abilities.

You can find No Strings Attached on Spotify and iTunes.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem