19 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached

07 Jul 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands.

Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.

A striking departure from his band’s previous efforts, the 2012 Waikato Young Singers Award winner’s first track is the RnB styled No Strings Attached, which manages to take the old-world sensibilities of his 90's predecessors and mixes it with the fresh coat of this generation’s production values and aesthetic. The result is something that would feel at home on several of this nation’s often genre specific radio and television stations. Pop enough for The Edge, soulful enough for Mai FM.

Speaking of the age-old problems that come with relationships, the lyrics are relatable enough for those to which words matter. The music is one of those slow jams you put on when you get home in the taxi after successfully navigating the minefield that is dancefloor relationships. Post nightclub sex music as I came to call it, in the context of a previous flatmates after town playlist. It’s a niche market, but Pyper seems to have tapped into it.

While listenable in its current form, this feels like a track begging for a Radio Friendly dance remix. I think that’s what’s going to really make Brendan Pyper a household name, taking his obvious talent and applying it to the music of the masses. Speaking again of the Bedingfield, it was his catchy garage styled Gotta Get Thru This that paved the way for the success of his slower, more romantic If You’re Not The One

While not my genre, biased though I am – it was an upstairs flatmate, and I am not the type for town – I’ll give this a solid 5/5. It’s a strong first effort, and a fine RnB track, especially coming from someone who’s previous work was in a Pop Rock band. It shows Pyper isn’t a one-trick pony, and really shows of his vocal abilities.

You can find No Strings Attached on Spotify and iTunes.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
Manzo - Album Review: Attachment
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
The modern music industry has embraced the practice of style over substance for a while now. We could blame streaming, the Netflix generation, or the entitled psychopaths we’ve bred through inattentive parenting, as required by dual income house-holding.
Read More...
Manzo - EP Review: Beatniks on Toast
01 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like every independent musician, I’ve felt the pain of checking my artist pages to find the first track is still the one with the most plays. I should be reassured that someone has put the effort in to try and listen to something I’ve spend months making.
Read More...
River - EP Review: Endless Winter
03 Jun 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m really glad music like this is still getting made. As a former bedroom rock star, borderline agoraphobic, and closet Goth, I appreciate the art form.
Read More...
Second Prize - Album Review: The Heel Turn
30 Apr 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
My next review may seem ill-placed, in that Second Prize are a Melbourne-based band, and this is a New Zealand Music site.  But what is Wellington if not a waiting area for emigration to the land of more money and better weather.
Read More...
Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem