21 Sep 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached

07 Jul 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I think we have this decade’s Daniel Bedingfield on our hands.

Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Fallout’s Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.

A striking departure from his band’s previous efforts, the 2012 Waikato Young Singers Award winner’s first track is the RnB styled No Strings Attached, which manages to take the old-world sensibilities of his 90's predecessors and mixes it with the fresh coat of this generation’s production values and aesthetic. The result is something that would feel at home on several of this nation’s often genre specific radio and television stations. Pop enough for The Edge, soulful enough for Mai FM.

Speaking of the age-old problems that come with relationships, the lyrics are relatable enough for those to which words matter. The music is one of those slow jams you put on when you get home in the taxi after successfully navigating the minefield that is dancefloor relationships. Post nightclub sex music as I came to call it, in the context of a previous flatmates after town playlist. It’s a niche market, but Pyper seems to have tapped into it.

While listenable in its current form, this feels like a track begging for a Radio Friendly dance remix. I think that’s what’s going to really make Brendan Pyper a household name, taking his obvious talent and applying it to the music of the masses. Speaking again of the Bedingfield, it was his catchy garage styled Gotta Get Thru This that paved the way for the success of his slower, more romantic If You’re Not The One

While not my genre, biased though I am – it was an upstairs flatmate, and I am not the type for town – I’ll give this a solid 5/5. It’s a strong first effort, and a fine RnB track, especially coming from someone who’s previous work was in a Pop Rock band. It shows Pyper isn’t a one-trick pony, and really shows of his vocal abilities.

You can find No Strings Attached on Spotify and iTunes.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Aaron Carpenter and The Revelators - EP Review: Roll with the Punches
20 Aug 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
The last bastions of real music in a world that celebrates mediocrity are the minnows swimming against the current of the mainstream.   What is the mainstream nowadays?
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northland’s Tempist Fujit. On one side it’s jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohen’s Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelity’s take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. It’s the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the song’s fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • LUCKY YOU
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • THE RINGER
    Eminem
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Eminem
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem