26 Apr 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace

07 Jul 2018 // A review by Peter-James Dries

In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musician’s whole discography. We don’t know how to deal with longing now, or how to wait.

I felt longing after listening to Grace, the new single from Tess Goodwin.

An independent artist, without the resources of more commercial bands, Goodwin only has two singles readily available. When the last note of Grace rings out, after a slow pensive build up from piano to full band, you want more. Longing. Now what do I do?

Independent though she may be, this isn’t a bedroom one take, as the label has frequently come to imply. There’s an incredible presence in the recording. The instruments sound live, which makes it feel like you’re right there watching a band play. Tess’s voice clear and emotional. The song speaks in reverence of the freedom in someone unleashing their inner creativity, if even for themselves, which from the outside seems to be talking about Goodwin herself. Unleashing her own creativity if only for herself.  

From the two tracks I’ve found, I can hear that Tess Goodwin is more of an artist than a musician, in the modern sense of the word. She’s painting pictures with music and imparting inspirational messages with her lyrics.

The interpretive dance in the accompanying music video for the track, which is relevant to the lyrics of the song, shows that Grace is more of an exploration of creativity than a vehicle to launch Goodwin to stardom.

Were this a world where artistic integrity was valued more than the dollars an artist can bring a label, then Goodwin would be ten fully-funded records in and known internationally for her voice and song writing.

Unfortunately, this is the world where you’re given the option to throw a dollar at Tess, as if she were some common street performer, for a track that would have cost a darn sight more of her own money to produce, just to be buried under the sea of copy and pasted electronic and poorly executed bedroom covers. But that shouldn’t take anything away from the song. It’s still a short and sweet, and listenable track, which I’m sure she’s proud of.

It may not fit the mould of what’s considered radio friendly or television worthy in these times, which doesn’t win Goodwin any favours in the quest to stardom, but I think that’s what makes Grace stand out for me.  Not that I imagine stardom so much matters to her. It sounds more like music done with a passion and love for performing.

Thankfully, there is still an underground faction to whom this music will appeal, and I hope Tess can find some listenership among them. Even if the goal is to produce something you yourself would listen to and enjoy, and the pleasure in the production of the song itself, there is always some pay off to appreciation from others. Well, Tess Goodwin has my appreciation. I hope she continues enjoying the process, so we see more of her in future. Even if it is so I know what to do with this longing.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Peter-James Dries

 

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Gold Medal Famous - EP Review: Five Track
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
There once was a band called Gold Medal Famous. This isn't a limerick.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: White Polka Dot Dress
27 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Cruddy by name, not by nature.  Cruddy’s White Polka Dot Dress is a smoothly progressive, well-mixed electronic soundscape.
Read More...
Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: Polaroids of Polarbears
13 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
In my middle years, those between the dawn of my consciousness and now, I spent a lot of time equal parts obsessed and jealous of and with Palmerston North’s prodigious Dan Ashcroft (Crackpot Theory, The Rock Shop), even before I knew him as a human. Back when he was just a faint drumming noise across my friend’s paddock on rare windless Oroua Downs nights, and I wondered why my mum hadn't bought me a drumkit.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Class War: Fight Back!
01 Mar 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Not many people outside of Taranaki think about the New Plymouth Hard Core scene. Actually, I don’t think New Plymouth itself is thought about by many people outside of Taranaki… It’s a shame really.
Read More...
The Stungrenades - Album Review: Front Toward Enemy
28 Feb 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Times have changed. In a world where we can say the F word on television, and if used appropriately you can say shit whenever you want, punk doesn’t have the same shock value.
Read More...
EP Review: Feildings Best Dancers
12 Dec 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
In the words of your mum, Feildings Best Dancers is short, hard, and over far too soon. But she also said Thistle Highland Dancers were the best dancers in Feilding, so what does she know.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: Good News
05 Nov 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
Come one, come all. Roll up and step inside the time machine of Payne.
Read More...
Otium - EP Review: You
03 Oct 2018 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m usually reluctant to go too deep into music that on the surface seems shallow, or popular. Reading that this was reggae/funk hybrid band that sung on love initially made me shrivel.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • SATURDAY NIGHTS
    Khalid
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem