25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lexxa - Single Review: I Got Better Friends Now

01 Jul 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

Lexxa is Maude and Julia Morris, twin sisters - maybe identical, maybe not. Their press says they make "dreamy pop bangers that tear shreds from your heart but still make you smile".

This is a pretty accurate description.

Their debut single is an unashamedly electronic-based pop tune, that lyrically tells a classic relationship story of someone burnt, flipping the bird, and moving to have ‘better friends now’. I love the lyric, “I never really liked you, I just liked the way you made me feel”.

The sisterly harmonies are as great as the interplay between the twins. I Got Better Friends Now was released mid-June on Tone Tonic and I can totally see this song helping them to start a solid career.

At 3:13 the structure is cleverly constructed pop; intro, pre-chorus, verse, etcetera. Pop music academics say a pop song should reach the first hooks of the chorus by the minute mark, while Lexxa’s I Got Better Friends Now arrives at its first climax at the 38 second mark.

Lexxa have been playing a bunch of live shows in NZ and Australia whilst gathering a large following along the way. This is a clear indication that their popularity is set to rise, and they could well be the next big act to come out of NZ.

Lexxa are in very capable and experienced hands with Lani Purkis (Elemeno P, Foamy Ed), and we'll be looking forward to seeing more from them.


Review written by Darryl Baser

 

About Lexxa

Lexxa is a newly formed dreamy synth-pop duo made up of twin sisters Maude and Julia Morris.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lexxa

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lexxa.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

ErnieJ White - Album Review: I Know (You Don’t Know Me)
15 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
If modern soulful electric blues is your thing, this is your album. Right from the first track, it’s different – but it’s still the blues.
Read More...
B.A.D.S - Single Review: How Deep the River Runs
12 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington’s B.A.
Read More...
Hallelujah Picassos - Album Review: Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds
01 Jun 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Hailing from the late 1980's, Hallelujah Picassos have a bunch of history, having released a mini album on cassette in 1989. Fast forward to 2019 the band’s 5th album Voices of Exuberant Hellhounds follows reissues in 2011/2012, which saw Hallelujah Picassos returned to the live scene, playing a handful of shows with the likes of The Drab Doo Riffs and Labretta Suede and the Motel Six.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - EP Review: Waves
14 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Waves is a brand new 4-song EP from Emily Riordan. Waves was mastered beautifully by Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studio.
Read More...
Escape - Album Review: Take Me To The Field
11 May 2019 // by Darryl Baser
This album is excellently engineered and produced very well, with each instrument captured and tweaked to perfection. Ben Ruegg has done an incredible job, and it's a job he should be praised for.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Radiant Sublime
16 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Grant Duncan is an ex-pat kiwi living and working in Japan. He recorded Radiant Sublime at Momura Studio, in Tokyo.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tally Ho 3 @ Town Hall, Dunedin - 13/04/2019
14 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The idea of an orchestral concert featuring some of the best known songs from the often debated ‘Dunedin sound’ began with two main drivers: Verlaines founder and music lecturer Graeme Downes, and ‘godfather’ of Dunedin music, Roy (Roi) Colbert, having its first installment in 2015. While Downes again led the evening from the stage, the spirit of Roy who passed away in 2017 was also in the room.
Read More...
Alae - Single Review: Help You Now
10 Apr 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alae have released their new single Help You Now. It’s the first track to be issued since the release of the Henry St album last year.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem