23 Feb 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lexxa - Single Review: I Got Better Friends Now

01 Jul 2018 // A review by Darryl Baser

Lexxa is Maude and Julia Morris, twin sisters - maybe identical, maybe not. Their press says they make "dreamy pop bangers that tear shreds from your heart but still make you smile".

This is a pretty accurate description.

Their debut single is an unashamedly electronic-based pop tune, that lyrically tells a classic relationship story of someone burnt, flipping the bird, and moving to have ‘better friends now’. I love the lyric, “I never really liked you, I just liked the way you made me feel”.

The sisterly harmonies are as great as the interplay between the twins. I Got Better Friends Now was released mid-June on Tone Tonic and I can totally see this song helping them to start a solid career.

At 3:13 the structure is cleverly constructed pop; intro, pre-chorus, verse, etcetera. Pop music academics say a pop song should reach the first hooks of the chorus by the minute mark, while Lexxa’s I Got Better Friends Now arrives at its first climax at the 38 second mark.

Lexxa have been playing a bunch of live shows in NZ and Australia whilst gathering a large following along the way. This is a clear indication that their popularity is set to rise, and they could well be the next big act to come out of NZ.

Lexxa are in very capable and experienced hands with Lani Purkis (Elemeno P, Foamy Ed), and we'll be looking forward to seeing more from them.


Review written by Darryl Baser

 

About Lexxa

Lexxa is a newly formed dreamy synth-pop duo made up of twin sisters Maude and Julia Morris.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lexxa

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lexxa.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Gig Review: Ciaran McMeeken & Dan Sharp @ 50 Gorillas, Dunedin - 16/02/2019
17 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a disclaimer, I knew absolutely nothing about neither Ciaran McMeeken nor Dan Sharp prior to the gig, so I arranged my +1 to be Dunedin songwriter Bronwyn Halley. She’s in the same generational band as Ciaran, and as it turned out, was a very knowledgeable accomplice.
Read More...
Furniss Brothers - Album Review: Cloudwatcher’s Soul
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The debut album from brothers Matthew & Ben Furniss, is a concept album with a single loosely themed narrative of the kidnapping of the muse 'Cloudwatcher' and the eventual reuniting with the central character. The melody and lyrics manage to tie the theme together quite well.
Read More...
Little Dove - EP Review Buried in the Backyard
16 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Not particularly loquacious, and certainly not overly verbose, are probably the best ways to describe the web pages of an Auckland 17-year-old woman who’s recording music as Little Dove. Her Bandcamp page says “This EP is a collection of music made, entirely and messily in my little sleep out, by myself.
Read More...
Tiny Ruins - Album Review: Olympic Girls
15 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
As a proud owner of the Tiny Ruins mini LP Hurtling Through, which was recorded with Hamish Kilgour (The Clean, The Great Unwashed etc) my anticipation levels for this LP were high. Not quite Johnny Cash eating cake in a bush high, but pretty up there.
Read More...
Album Review: Electric Universe
11 Feb 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Tauranga based band Electric Universe says 2019 is a year of completion for them, with their self-titled album being one of a few projects being completed during the course of the year. The band’s name should give a little away; the first four songs, from City Boy through to Acid Train, all having influence from Hendrix to Santana but with the subtlety and restraint of Hendrix, and not the album length solos of prog rock.
Read More...
Mike Puke - Album Review: The Sound of Puke
25 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
The Sound of Puke is possibly the best, and most fitting, title for an album ever. The album begins with the title track, The Sound of Puke which starts with a sample of The Sound Of Music straight from Julie Andrews' mouth, but don’t worry she’s vocally run over before she can say ‘music’, as Mike sings "Puke" over her singing the word ‘music’…If you’re unsure what I mean, give it a listen.
Read More...
Alanna Eileen - Single Review: Faded Image
21 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
Alanna Eileen’s new single Faded Image marks a stylistic departure from much of her other work. It wavers between chocolate box and alt country.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Ginger In The Summer
17 Jan 2019 // by Darryl Baser
“Our love burned-up like a Ginger in the Summer, halfway down Dominion Road...” Now if this up-tempo fun and friendly song with the above lyric, amongst many clever turns of phrase, doesn’t become a huge hit, I’ll buy a hat just to eat it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • BURY A FRIEND
    Billie Eilish
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem