18 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work

25 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard

My heart is racing. Not sure if that’s a good sign? Too much caffeine? Possibly, heart attack? Hopefully not and I am smiling so I don’t think so. Must be the instant high I am getting from blasting this latest release from Auckland’s aptly named Racing.

Devil's Work is their latest single (for Lucifer's sake, give us an album!) is another genre-defying trip via calypso beats and gender-defying falsetto vocals. Like their other releases, this is party music with an edge.

This time though rather than partying at the coolest dive bars on earth the Devil's Work is being done in some funky downtown subtly lit soul bar with a very cool upbeat vibe, it’s sexy dark and damn exciting.

Every song these guys release is different, and Devil's Work adds yet another dimension to their psychedelic alt-dance vibe. Their debut album is set to be a classic. 

Are Racing, New Zealand's most exciting new band? Will they challenge the likes of Foals on the global stage? They have what it takes to appeal to everyone if they keep this up and with this devil-may-care attitude they could go all the way.

For now, they have my heart racing every time I hear anything they create.

Get yours racing too.

★★★★★ (5 stars)


Review written by Paul Goddard

 

About Racing

Racing is a Rock and Roll band from Auckland. Hypnotic groove-based rock and roll with touches of English big beat.

Described as "the thoughts of a crocodile in flood season," Auckland based Racing is a Hypno Rock band, featuring Edward Knowles, Sven Pettersen, Izaak Houston and Daniel Barrett. Their first, self titled, self produced EP was released in June 2015 and was met with immediate critical acclaim, showcasing a sound that is mesmeric and ominous.

Known for their ferocious live show, Racing made their festival debut at Rhythm and Vines in 2016.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Racing

Releases

Real Dancing
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Bass
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Racing
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem