25 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018

18 Jun 2018 // A review by Paul Goddard
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder. It's a stark contrast to walking into The Powerstation where Arthur Ahbez and the Flaming Ahbez are playing to a handful of people. If you stayed over the road in Galbraiths to watch the All Blacks then you really missed out.

They are the perfect openers for Brian Jonestown Massacre as we are transported back to 60's San Francisco with their tripped-out folk-tinged psychedelic ride. How had I missed this band before now? It was only when I researched this article that I found out they are from New Zealand. Arthur has an amazing voice that doesn't just complement the music it is an integral part, another instrument and he along with the rest of the band have that rare ability to transport you via the music to another time and place. The set was over far too quickly, and I can't wait to see them again.

Anton Newcombe is no stranger to adversity. He thrives on it as anyone who has seen the Doco DIG! will know this is a man who lives and breathes music, often in an uncompromising and at times self-destructive way. He doesn't suffer fools (or band members) and can engage his mouth before his 180 IQ brain.

There is an air of anticipation as The Brian Jonestown Massacre saunter onto the stage looking effortlessly cool with Anton wearing a t-shirt emblazoned with the words Eat Shit. His unpredictable nature means you never know what to expect. If he isn't happy he will let us, and his band, know but tonight he appears happy and relaxed and starts by talking about how good it is to be back in New Zealand and how the music put out by Flying Nun has been a huge influence on him before launching into a sonic onslaught that he says was created by those influences.

The sound is perfect. Anton is a perfectionist, and also a producer. He directs the band and the sound engineers from his position on the left side of the stage and at one point his guitar tech/extra band member is even tuning Anton's guitar while he is playing it! The swirling melee of noise builds track by track and penetrates every part of your mind and soul. It also gets steadily louder as the night progresses.

There is an energy to the sounds created and to label this Psyche Rock or some other genre is kind of oversimplifying things. The songs are pulling on different genres and influences and being put through the unique blender that is Anton's mind. That takes things to a whole other level and a Brian Jonestown Massacre gig is something that everyone with an interest in any type of music should experience. Everything is about being in the moment, you get a real perception that the song could go anywhere. If it isn't working they will stop. If Anton wants to change direction or add something new mid-song he will do it. For any other band this would appear unprofessional or sloppy and although sometimes the breaks between songs where Anton is constantly tuning and tweaking instruments and amps can get a little tedious, watching the connection between the 8-10 people on the stage as songs finally emerge is amazing.

The two-hour show doesn't drag and passes by without incident. The finale is a pummelling drone of noise and as the band members walk off to an ear-shattering pulse of feedback we are left with just Anton on-stage tweaking the amps and keeping things rolling until he calls it quits thanks the crowd and heads off into the night. It's an evening I will never forget and one you should experience if and when The Brian Jonestown Massacre head back to New Zealand.


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem